Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.730775
Write A Review
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have been a member of MaleSurvivor since 1995. As a woman, a Weekend of Recovery facilitator, and a survivor, i believe that this organization is most committed, conscious and heart full . It is a privilege to work with the men --and the women --at MaleSurvivor, to watch men form community that is vibrant and lasting, and to see that recovery is absolutely possible.
Mikele Rauch
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

MaleSurvivor is the prime example of an organization that truly provides a meaningful and useful service to all its members. As a professional, I have worked with the Executive Director in an advocacy capacity and benefitted from membership through conferences and the general education and services MaleSurvivor provides to men who have experienced sexual violence. I always talk about this organization to each client I work with and recommend that they at least visit the website to make sure they know about the organization. I highly recommend MaleSurvivor to both professionals and survivors alike.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I am a male survivor and Co-Chair for the MaleSurvivor Weekends of Recovery program. This program and the overall organizations is providing unprecedented services for male survivors. The lives of thousands of survivor have been changed by the incredible work of this organization. The volunteers who work with the multiple projects sponsored by MaleSurvivor offer the highest quality clinical services and integrity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I am a survivor who has been fortunate enough to work with MS now for the last 3 yrs. I have found the people to be wonderful. The service that MS provided to me and my wife prior to me coming on the board was invaluable and allowed me to feel comfortable telling my story as a survivor knowing that I would be heard and respected. A great resource for survivors, their friends and family or anyone else who is in this space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I am a male survivor, a psychologist and addictions counselor, and the Co-Chairperson of the MaleSurvivor Weekends of Recovery. I attribute MaleSurvivor as being one of the major keys of my own recovery, and it is a resource I suggest to every male survivor I work with as a psychologist. Healing occurs best when a survivor is connected to a community of support, and that is what MaleSurvivor does best, whether it is through the Weekends of Recovery program, the moderated chat rooms, the bulletin boards where men can learn they are not alone, the therapist referral lists, or the international conference. The organization and its powerful website has important resources for professionals from many disciplines, for survivors, their partners, allies and advocates. I give the MaleSurvivor conference credit for providing me the most well-rounded, professional training in trauma treatment from the world's most competent and effective psychotherapists. The organization is well-run and administrative costs are well managed as well to convert most donations into active support for the men who need help to learn not only to survive, but also how to thrive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am hopeful that sometime in the near future, MaleSurvivor will be able to expand its professional training program as there are still way too few professionals in the field who are well-educated to provide for the immense needs of survivors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have worked for many years with the healing process of men who have experienced abuse. MaleSurvivor is an invaluable, sometimes life-saving resource and support in this area. I am impressed with the depth of their compassion, commitment, and clinical expertise in the services they offer. I highly recommend their supportive online community, and the wealth of resources and services. They change lives for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

double their funding

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

As a survivor of clergy sexual abuse and someone who lived for years with shame, guilt and isolation I want other survivors to know that this non-profit is a tremendous benefit to the male survivor community. I really don't know where to begin, the extensive book store has many books well worth reading, I have read several on their listing and I found them extremely helpful. The ability to log on to the discussion boards (at first anonymously) made it easy for me to learn what other male survivors were also experiencing, it certainly helped me understand I was no longer alone. The Weekends of Recovery, I attended 2, truly changed my life and helped me release much of the shame and guilt I carried in silence for so many years. Being with men who had the courage and strength to share their own stories of the victimization perpetrated upon them, helped me move forward. The staff was incredibly professional and most caring. I strongly recommend survivors attending some of these weekends. By the way if you talk to their administration staff...Trisha is amazingly helpful and kind.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a psychotherapist who has been working with survivors of childhood sexual abuse for 35 years. MaleSurvivor is an amazing resource for my male clients. The online information and discussion boards help them to move out of their isolation. The Weekends of Recovery offer professionally led retreats for men, providing a safe environment for healing and connecting with other survivors.
Every client I have sent to an MS weekend has returned with renewed energy, hope, and determination. And many of them have received a scholarship from MS in order to attend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The change I wish for MS is to get a lot more funding so that they can pay their hardworking volunteers and so that they can offer more Weekends of Recovery.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

At 70 and finally recognizing and acknowledging my abuse has been difficult. This past WoR was priceless for me, providing meaning, definition, clarity and most importantly, community support as I continue on my healing an understanding of this insideous invasion of my body and of my soul.

I am a richer man.

Bob from Bellefonte, PA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

......feel sad and a bit arrogant that I felt the need to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a survivor of childhood molestation and was raped by an older man when I was seventeen. I can not tell you how much this site has helped me overcome the feelings of guilt, shame, and anger from what happened to me. I joined it five years ago. Talking to other members about what has happened to us has really been a great help. I have worked with teen boys and young adults for over ten years now who have been molested and I always reccomend this site.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers