Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

Making Headway was there for us when we needed them 14 years ago. Their help and support through a very difficult time is immeasurable. Their devotion to their clients is truly inspirational. They ... more

July 8, 2013

Making Headway is a loving caring group of folks who always remember that our ids are just kids. Maybe extraordinary kids, but they need the same love, care and fun that all kids should get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

Making Headway was there for us when we needed them 14 years ago. Their help and support through a very difficult time is immeasurable. Their devotion to their clients is truly inspirational. They support children and their families in many ways. Additionally, they are dedicated to helping fund research to improve the treatment of and find a cure for brain and spinal chord tumors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

The Making Headway Foundation changes lives every day. The volunteers and professionals involved with this non-profit are caring, committed, and tops in their respective fields - seeking constantly to improve the quality of life for children with brain tumors and their families and caregivers. From the research they support to the hugs they offer a parent in a waiting room and from the vast knowledge they put at parents' fingertips to the fun social activities they offer for the kids, the people at Making Headway are on mission to improve lives, one minute and one day at a time. This great organization provided such incredible comfort and support during the very difficult years for our son and family - just knowing there was a team of very qualified people to answer our questions and there was a friendly place where our then five-year-old son could comfortably wait for appointments. And even as our 19-year-old son becomes an adult, we know that Making Headway is still "there" for us and more importantly, for him!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

My then 16 year old daughter was diasgnosed with an hermangioma on her brain. Dr. Fred Epstein performed the successful operation. Maya and Ed Manley, co-creators of the Making Headway foundation were there every step of the way, prior to and after the operation as well as yeas later inviting us to the picnic that Making Headway has every year at the Manley residence.
Maya and Ed are extremely warm, caring and affectionate to all who come in contact with them. Be it , the patirent, doctor, parents, etc. All of them are given extreme care, understanding, and love by the Manleys' and the rest of this wonderful organization. I can't imagine what that time of our lives would have been like if it wasn't for the Making Headway Foundation.
My daughter is now 32 years old, I have a wonderful 21/2 year old grandaughter, and every year we don't forget the Making Headway Foundation. Especially Ed and Maya Manley whose slow , low manners lulls you into their submission and generosity, love, caring and affection.
Thank God for the Making Headway Foundation

Patrick and Linda Imbriale

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

My daugter was diagnosed in 1998. Her DR hooked us up with Making Headway and they have been part of our lives ever since. They do a wonderful job making the kids feel comfortable while waiting for treatment and helping parents get the support they need. We look forward to seeing them at their wonderful events for the kids and reconnecting with parents who have similar stories. It breaks me up when I see all of these wonderful kids together who have thrived despite horrendous odds. Thank God for Ed and Maya.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

Making Headway was wonderful to my son and my family when he was hospitalized for a brain tumor. They also gave us support after we went home. They still continue to provide great activities for our... more

June 7, 2013

Making Headway is a wonderful Nonprofit organization that helps children and their families deal with brain and spinal tumors. They also support cancer research and fun activities. My son was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor in July 2001. Maya Manley and Making Headway Foundation helped make the long hospital stays bearable. To this day, my son still looks forward to the Making Headway activities! One time, I was able to get a massage in the doctor's waiting area after my son got a MRI scan! The volunteers work tirelessly and are truly caring. Making Headway is GREAT!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

Making Headway was wonderful to my son and my family when he was hospitalized for a brain tumor. They also gave us support after we went home. They still continue to provide great activities for our son - 11 years later! They also donate money for cancer research.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As one of the original beneficiaries of this amazing organization (when I was diagnosed with brain cancer in 1996 at the age of 21), Making Headway was there for me. The support they offered by way of free psychotherapy and peer support were invaluable to helping me back on my feet and ready to address the "what's next" and how to get busy living. I will forever be indebted to their services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

their help for 60 weeks while my daughter was getting chemotherapy was incredible. that was in 1996. my daughter has been cancer free now for over 10 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This organization provided amazing support and resources for myself ( the caregiver) and my husband ( the patient). When Chris was diagnosed with medulloblastoma at age 26 we both needed support and guidance on how to handle this challenge. Making headway stepped right in and provided us with exactly what we needed. We will be forever gracious. Thank you from the Ravanellos!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My family goes way back with Making Headway,my daughter Bari is now 30 years old . She has gone through 5 spinal surguries and Making Headway was there for us through each one. Living in the hospital for periods of time really takes a toll on the family but Making Headway was always there to provide activities, therapy and just unbelievable kindness to help make it bearable. At one point my daughter needed surgery in another hospital the biggest surprise was Making Headway sending her therapist there my daughter was so happy to see a familiar face and did wonders for her attitude and the will to go on. I don't know any other organization that would got that far to make sure their clients were doing OK. In college my daughter did an internship with Making Headway, she is now a licensed master of social worker and licensed child life specialist due to their influence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My daughter was diagnosed with a JPA tumor in 2001. As this was 3 days after Sept. 11 in the heart of NYC, as terrified parents we were escorted through the police and military barricades to get her to Beth Israel (North) Hospital for brain surgery. We were given the opportunity to 'move in' to her room with her pre and post surgery. The first person who welcomed us in was Maya Manley, a true angel on earth who came into our room with a stuffed toy for my daughter to play with (she also trekked in during the post-9.11 hysteria, just to care for the kids). From that moment on she introduced us to the Making Headway Foundation, the organization whom she and her husband Ed founded to provide support to the children and families of Brain and Spinal cord tumor patients. Since that time, as Beth Israel Closed and the foundations 'play center' moved along with Dr. Allen to NYU, most of the surviving patients of Dr. Allen and his team moved along with them (us being one of them). The foundation has provided us with tremendous support (emotionally and information-wise) over the past 11 years (yep, Julia is 11 years Cancer Free :)) ), each and every time we visit the hospital for our checkups and MRI's we are always welcome by the Making Headway team, always full of smiles and cheerful positive thoughts...I cannot express enough how incredible this foundation is and the thanks I have for what they do. Any and all donations made to this organization directly support the children, many of which are in dire need, far from home and scared to pieces.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;