Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

NYU is awesome and Making Headway is there to assist in the long term follow up care for the children and their families when returning to normal life! Our daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor at 18 months. She had surgery at NYU and we were lucky enough to get into Mass General for proton radiation. Our surgeon was top notch and kind and our oncologist at NYU is brilliant with a huge heart as well! He was willing to recommend that we go to Mass General for treatment even though NYU would miss out on the fees for treatment. He did what was best for our daughter NOT for NYU and the hospital's financial gains. The care did NOT end here!!! As our daughter got older she started to suffer from SEVERE separation anxiety! The word severe is an understatement!!! Kindergarten was a nightmare as our teacher did NOT have a heart and could not understand that our daughter needed just a little extra hand holding because of her anxiety. I had to drive her to school every day and a different teacher outside the school (on bus duty) had to take her out of my arms and bring her into school! As the years went by her anxiety did not go away and finally in her second grade school year my sister had to drive us to school. I had to carry her into school. I was beside myself! Finally I remembered that Making Headway had a psychologist and social worker on staff available for the families without a charge. I had already tried other doctors that did NOT help us and were very expensive. Well, the psychologist SAVED us!!!! She has counseled me for the past three years and I have to say that I could NOT have supported my daughter and made her as strong, self sufficient and independent as she is today (she is 10 years old) if I did not have this help!! The doctor always answers my emails and is available to set up a phone conference when I need a little help! She is a professional with fantastic experience and allows me to figure out what I think my daughter needs...She has helped me to be a SUPER STRONG mother! She has taught me how to listen to my daughter AND hear what she is saying.. I have become so strong so in turn I have been able to help my daughter! Her anxiety is in check (and because of the doctors guidance, we did not have to put her on ANY medication). I like to say, to date, she is doing great!!! The directors of Making Headway are super kind people and they have put together a team that is PRICELESS!!! I am SO thankful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I have worked with several non profit organizations over the years and I was introduced to Making Headway a couple years ago after a friend passed away. The work that they do is priceless. Their enthusiasm and sincerity for what they are doing is evident. Its wonderful to see an organization put so much time and energy into making the children comfortable and providing resources to their parents, but to know that they are also working diligently to find a cure shows the dedication that they have their cause. I hope to have the opportunity to work with Making Headway Foundation for many, many more years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

My family has been involved for 10'years donating all proceeds from the annual Nicky Docu Memorial Golf outing to this wonderful organization that serves so many and supports research to help conquer this horrible disease

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Making Headway is a top notch organization run by truly caring professionals. What they are able to provide to families with children with brain tumors and related cancers is remarkable. It is a unique model of care and support for families and patients. The funding they provide for research goes to the top doctors in the field that are making incredible strides. Hopefully in the near future, this organization will be more widely recognized and supported by corporations who value their charitable donations going to a worthy cause and a respectable foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Emphasize the need to secure more corporation donations to expand on research capacities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Making Headway is an inspirational organization! They're non-stop efforts to help children (and their families) afflicted with brain and spinal cord tumors have filled with me such admiration. I have never seen such a wonderful group of caring and committed people. They have inspired me to serve as a volunteer and have opened my eyes to how much a we can do to help others.

Edward and Maya Manley have been instrumental in Making Headway's success. I am in awe of their selfless service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I worked at NYU for several years with Making Headway. I have volunteered for several of their events and have seen first hand what they do for patients and families at NYU. Besides giving financial suppot they give emotional support in ways I have never seen with other organizations. Maya one of the founders, volunteers at NYU with patients and I have seen patients cry when they come in and realize Maya is not there that day. She is loving and caring and makes everyone feel like they are the most important person in the world. We call her the Mother Theresa of Hassenfeld. The foundation pays for any needs patients have from funerals to food to psychological counseling and beareavement support just to name a few. I have volunteered for an annual event Maya and Edward have at their house for 400 patients and families with tons of food, activities, petting zoos, pony rides and everything a child and adult would love. It is truly amazing and the familes love it! Not many people would open up their own home for something like this. They are the most selfless giving people I have ever met and I strive to be like them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Hi,my name is Dariusz Uczkowski. I interviewed Ed and Maya a couple years ago in order to tell the story about the beginning of making headway. They are real people filled with warmth, heart and a true deep understanding for others. If you are interested here is the link. http://vimeo.com/12217396

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This organization is near and dear to my heart as my own sister had a brain tumor over 30 years ago. They provide the services and support that were so clearly lacking when my own family went through this experience. Making Headway takes care of the entire family--patient, parents and siblings--providing help at every stage. They replace fear and isolation with education and support from the moment of diagnosis, through treatment and beyond.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Making Headway helped us through the most difficult time in our life, when our daughter Elizabeth was sick with a brain tumor. They helped make her happy and comfortable in the hospital where she already was getting the best medical care. They had parties and clowns, and wonderful Maya to share candy with everyone in the hopital. They worked together with us trying to make everything easier for the family and patient. Since Elizabeth went to heaven in 1997 they have continued to help us. They had counseling groups and family days at their beautiful house. To help others we began the Little Bit of a Walk in memory of our Elizabeth. All of the money raised from the walk are put towards research because it is so important to us. This year will be our 15th annual walk. Making Headway organization is always helping us with our walk before, the day of, and after. We could not do it without them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;