Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

My brother was diagnosed with brain cancer 11 years ago and The Making Headway Foundation has been there to support us through the good times and bad. Since his passing my family and I have been running a golf outing where all the proceeds go to Making Headway. The Making Headway Foundation does a great job lifting the spirits of those families going through such difficult times. Pediatric cancer does not only affect the child suffering, but affects the entire family, and The Making Headway Foundation helped me personally through my brothers loss. I am forever grateful for the impact this foundation has in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

My concern is for all the siblings of our patients at Making Headway. By giving them equal love, respect and attention, they are growing up with far less anger, depression, and despair. Making Headway is the only dedicated foundation that treats the WHOLE FAMILY so that each survives and thrives to their highest potential. The medical research and care for kids with brain tumors at NYU is recognized around the world, but it takes a village like MH to recover the patient and family together. It's true that whatever happens, life will never be the same, but it's also true that the staff and volunteers at MH are happily determined to make life meaningful and beautiful again. As a bereavement counselor, I have never seen a team of professionals like these anywhere else.
10,000 stars for Maya and Edward Manley, and 10'000 more for our kids at Making Headway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Making Headway funds the most wonderful programs at the Hassenfeld Center, making my son's visits to his oncologist a treat to look forward to rather a chore to endure. Making Headway, the people who run it and the programs it funds are very warm, friendly and supportive in a time of great need for pediatric cancer patients and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

I can't say enough about this extraordinary couple Maya & Edward who started Making Headway Foundation through there own person issues with there daughter who had a Brain Tumor was inspired to help others with the same illness .They have been a great source of Inspiration and strength to my Family. In 2004 when my son was diagnosed with a Cancer Brain Tumor it changed my life forever. What also changed my life was when Dr Allen walked into the Hospital room and said I want you to meet someone .10 years later Making Headway is in my Heart & an Inspiration my Friend a shoulder to lean on Therapeutic for you and your child .The resources they offer are wonderful when you have trouble elsewhere. As they try to strive to eliminate this terrible decease I Thank God for them and support Them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make at this point there doing everything they can possibly do to do away with this Decease

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I cannot say enough about Making Headway. They far exceed all expectations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, this is a fantastic charity who truly aids those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I found this charity after having neurosurgery this past August, I was looking for a way to give back to kids just like me. When I reached out to making headway they helped me figure out an easy way to fundraise and feel like everything I went through was for a reason! I ended up doing a spinning fundraiser raising over 15,000 dollars, and everyone that helped me, especially Catherine Lepone, were beyond kind and supportive! It's an amazing charity doing very important work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything! It is amazing and helps so many people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

NYU is awesome and Making Headway is there to assist in the long term follow up care for the children and their families when returning to normal life! Our daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor at 18 months. She had surgery at NYU and we were lucky enough to get into Mass General for proton radiation. Our surgeon was top notch and kind and our oncologist at NYU is brilliant with a huge heart as well! He was willing to recommend that we go to Mass General for treatment even though NYU would miss out on the fees for treatment. He did what was best for our daughter NOT for NYU and the hospital's financial gains. The care did NOT end here!!! As our daughter got older she started to suffer from SEVERE separation anxiety! The word severe is an understatement!!! Kindergarten was a nightmare as our teacher did NOT have a heart and could not understand that our daughter needed just a little extra hand holding because of her anxiety. I had to drive her to school every day and a different teacher outside the school (on bus duty) had to take her out of my arms and bring her into school! As the years went by her anxiety did not go away and finally in her second grade school year my sister had to drive us to school. I had to carry her into school. I was beside myself! Finally I remembered that Making Headway had a psychologist and social worker on staff available for the families without a charge. I had already tried other doctors that did NOT help us and were very expensive. Well, the psychologist SAVED us!!!! She has counseled me for the past three years and I have to say that I could NOT have supported my daughter and made her as strong, self sufficient and independent as she is today (she is 10 years old) if I did not have this help!! The doctor always answers my emails and is available to set up a phone conference when I need a little help! She is a professional with fantastic experience and allows me to figure out what I think my daughter needs...She has helped me to be a SUPER STRONG mother! She has taught me how to listen to my daughter AND hear what she is saying.. I have become so strong so in turn I have been able to help my daughter! Her anxiety is in check (and because of the doctors guidance, we did not have to put her on ANY medication). I like to say, to date, she is doing great!!! The directors of Making Headway are super kind people and they have put together a team that is PRICELESS!!! I am SO thankful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I have worked with several non profit organizations over the years and I was introduced to Making Headway a couple years ago after a friend passed away. The work that they do is priceless. Their enthusiasm and sincerity for what they are doing is evident. Its wonderful to see an organization put so much time and energy into making the children comfortable and providing resources to their parents, but to know that they are also working diligently to find a cure shows the dedication that they have their cause. I hope to have the opportunity to work with Making Headway Foundation for many, many more years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

My family has been involved for 10'years donating all proceeds from the annual Nicky Docu Memorial Golf outing to this wonderful organization that serves so many and supports research to help conquer this horrible disease

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Making Headway is a top notch organization run by truly caring professionals. What they are able to provide to families with children with brain tumors and related cancers is remarkable. It is a unique model of care and support for families and patients. The funding they provide for research goes to the top doctors in the field that are making incredible strides. Hopefully in the near future, this organization will be more widely recognized and supported by corporations who value their charitable donations going to a worthy cause and a respectable foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Emphasize the need to secure more corporation donations to expand on research capacities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;