Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This organization is near and dear to my heart as my own sister had a brain tumor over 30 years ago. They provide the services and support that were so clearly lacking when my own family went through this experience. Making Headway takes care of the entire family--patient, parents and siblings--providing help at every stage. They replace fear and isolation with education and support from the moment of diagnosis, through treatment and beyond.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became affiliated with Making Headway through my dear friend, Holly Kensicki Lind. When she passed away after a long, brave battle with cancer, we approached the foundation in an effort to create an event to honor Holly. Making Headway was not only helpful in coordinating the Day in the Park; they were so grateful and enthusiastic in planning. We spent months working with the foundation on finding exactly the right place and ways to make the day special. When the big day arrived, Making Headyway was there to direct us and the Manley's were there to talk about the foundation and how they use the funds raised. They do such wonderful things for children and families with children suffering with cancer. We also got to speak in honor of our friend Holly and help to keep her bright spirit alive. We wouldn't have been able to pull this amazing day together so beautifully without the assistance of Making Headway. Knowing what great folks they are and how much they are able to help with the money raised, we are so excited to work on our Day in the Park for 2013.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This organization provided amazing support and resources for myself ( the caregiver) and my husband ( the patient). When Chris was diagnosed with medulloblastoma at age 26 we both needed support and guidance on how to handle this challenge. Making headway stepped right in and provided us with exactly what we needed. We will be forever gracious. Thank you from the Ravanellos!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My family goes way back with Making Headway,my daughter Bari is now 30 years old . She has gone through 5 spinal surguries and Making Headway was there for us through each one. Living in the hospital for periods of time really takes a toll on the family but Making Headway was always there to provide activities, therapy and just unbelievable kindness to help make it bearable. At one point my daughter needed surgery in another hospital the biggest surprise was Making Headway sending her therapist there my daughter was so happy to see a familiar face and did wonders for her attitude and the will to go on. I don't know any other organization that would got that far to make sure their clients were doing OK. In college my daughter did an internship with Making Headway, she is now a licensed master of social worker and licensed child life specialist due to their influence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My daughter was diagnosed with a JPA tumor in 2001. As this was 3 days after Sept. 11 in the heart of NYC, as terrified parents we were escorted through the police and military barricades to get her to Beth Israel (North) Hospital for brain surgery. We were given the opportunity to 'move in' to her room with her pre and post surgery. The first person who welcomed us in was Maya Manley, a true angel on earth who came into our room with a stuffed toy for my daughter to play with (she also trekked in during the post-9.11 hysteria, just to care for the kids). From that moment on she introduced us to the Making Headway Foundation, the organization whom she and her husband Ed founded to provide support to the children and families of Brain and Spinal cord tumor patients. Since that time, as Beth Israel Closed and the foundations 'play center' moved along with Dr. Allen to NYU, most of the surviving patients of Dr. Allen and his team moved along with them (us being one of them). The foundation has provided us with tremendous support (emotionally and information-wise) over the past 11 years (yep, Julia is 11 years Cancer Free :)) ), each and every time we visit the hospital for our checkups and MRI's we are always welcome by the Making Headway team, always full of smiles and cheerful positive thoughts...I cannot express enough how incredible this foundation is and the thanks I have for what they do. Any and all donations made to this organization directly support the children, many of which are in dire need, far from home and scared to pieces.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Making Headway helped us through the most difficult time in our life, when our daughter Elizabeth was sick with a brain tumor. They helped make her happy and comfortable in the hospital where she already was getting the best medical care. They had parties and clowns, and wonderful Maya to share candy with everyone in the hopital. They worked together with us trying to make everything easier for the family and patient. Since Elizabeth went to heaven in 1997 they have continued to help us. They had counseling groups and family days at their beautiful house. To help others we began the Little Bit of a Walk in memory of our Elizabeth. All of the money raised from the walk are put towards research because it is so important to us. This year will be our 15th annual walk. Making Headway organization is always helping us with our walk before, the day of, and after. We could not do it without them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been invovled with Making Headway through fundraising efforts over the last 14 years. The people from the foundation who have participated in our annual Walk A Thon are all wonderful, giving people who have made a difference in the lives of the family members and friends of our angel, Elizabeth, who fought a tough fight before going to heaven in 1997. Making Headway is an inspirational, supportive community of people that will always be part of my life in memory of Elizabeth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is not a charity - it's a family. Going through the worst time of my life, my son's tumor treatment, would have been unbearable without Making Headway. Healthy kid-friendly snacks, art, parties, massages for the adults, and a shoulder always available. Have you ever heard a child say "I can't wait to go to chemo!"? I did. And so much is going out behind this. The fundraising for research and treatment is phenomenal. Created by and run by a beautiful and humble couple, who has gone through this with their own daughter, they have pour their lives into this very needed cause. Thank you Maya and Edward. Thank you Making Headway!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;