Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I found this charity after having neurosurgery this past August, I was looking for a way to give back to kids just like me. When I reached out to making headway they helped me figure out an easy way to fundraise and feel like everything I went through was for a reason! I ended up doing a spinning fundraiser raising over 15,000 dollars, and everyone that helped me, especially Catherine Lepone, were beyond kind and supportive! It's an amazing charity doing very important work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything! It is amazing and helps so many people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

Our daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor 7 years ago, at ten years of age. The Making Headway Foundation has stood by us every step of the way since then, providing our daughter and our whole family with an amazing array of supportive services. Their kindness, compassion, empathic understanding of the stresses we live with and their generous and thoughtful determination to ease our burden is beyond measure. They consistently and creatively find ways to help children and families cope with the impact of this serious medical diagnosis, providing help during treatment as well as continuing their assistance, addressing the child's ongoing educational and emotinal needs. There is no organization I hold in higher esteem.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

This foundation has worked tirelessly to advocate and fund research for children with bran tumors. As a parent of such a child who was diagnosed over 20 years ago , it is remarkable and quite selfless to me how the members and health professionals work together to help those afflicted as well as their families. It would be even more of a challenge to face the stress of a child facing surgery and treatments and Making Headway brings a wealth of information and support for the victims of brain and spinal diseases.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

Our daughter Allison was diagnosed with a PNET. THEY WERE THERE FOR A FAMILY FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE END. They offered so many services and helpful information it was amazing!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More pastors involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 8, 2013

Making Headway is a loving caring group of folks who always remember that our ids are just kids. Maybe extraordinary kids, but they need the same love, care and fun that all kids should get. more

June 12, 2014

It seems impossible to believe, my family was introduced to Making Headway almost 15 years ago. This was when our then 7 year old daughter was diagnosed with a life threatening brain tumor. The combination of the medical expertise of the specialists at NYU/Langone and the kindness and caring of all the wonderful Making Headway people made a frightening journey a journey of growth and compassion. Making Headways was there from the beginning making sure our daughter could still be a kid in the midst of all our worry. The various services Making Headway provides families, sustained us through all the difficult days with the compassion and humanity they provide. Making Headway more than fills the gap that sometimes exists because hospitals and doctors just do not engage in. We are so grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

Making Headway is a loving caring group of folks who always remember that our ids are just kids. Maybe extraordinary kids, but they need the same love, care and fun that all kids should get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

Making Headway was there for us when we needed them 14 years ago. Their help and support through a very difficult time is immeasurable. Their devotion to their clients is truly inspirational. They support children and their families in many ways. Additionally, they are dedicated to helping fund research to improve the treatment of and find a cure for brain and spinal chord tumors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

NYU is awesome and Making Headway is there to assist in the long term follow up care for the children and their families when returning to normal life! Our daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor at 18 months. She had surgery at NYU and we were lucky enough to get into Mass General for proton radiation. Our surgeon was top notch and kind and our oncologist at NYU is brilliant with a huge heart as well! He was willing to recommend that we go to Mass General for treatment even though NYU would miss out on the fees for treatment. He did what was best for our daughter NOT for NYU and the hospital's financial gains. The care did NOT end here!!! As our daughter got older she started to suffer from SEVERE separation anxiety! The word severe is an understatement!!! Kindergarten was a nightmare as our teacher did NOT have a heart and could not understand that our daughter needed just a little extra hand holding because of her anxiety. I had to drive her to school every day and a different teacher outside the school (on bus duty) had to take her out of my arms and bring her into school! As the years went by her anxiety did not go away and finally in her second grade school year my sister had to drive us to school. I had to carry her into school. I was beside myself! Finally I remembered that Making Headway had a psychologist and social worker on staff available for the families without a charge. I had already tried other doctors that did NOT help us and were very expensive. Well, the psychologist SAVED us!!!! She has counseled me for the past three years and I have to say that I could NOT have supported my daughter and made her as strong, self sufficient and independent as she is today (she is 10 years old) if I did not have this help!! The doctor always answers my emails and is available to set up a phone conference when I need a little help! She is a professional with fantastic experience and allows me to figure out what I think my daughter needs...She has helped me to be a SUPER STRONG mother! She has taught me how to listen to my daughter AND hear what she is saying.. I have become so strong so in turn I have been able to help my daughter! Her anxiety is in check (and because of the doctors guidance, we did not have to put her on ANY medication). I like to say, to date, she is doing great!!! The directors of Making Headway are super kind people and they have put together a team that is PRICELESS!!! I am SO thankful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

The Making Headway Foundation changes lives every day. The volunteers and professionals involved with this non-profit are caring, committed, and tops in their respective fields - seeking constantly to improve the quality of life for children with brain tumors and their families and caregivers. From the research they support to the hugs they offer a parent in a waiting room and from the vast knowledge they put at parents' fingertips to the fun social activities they offer for the kids, the people at Making Headway are on mission to improve lives, one minute and one day at a time. This great organization provided such incredible comfort and support during the very difficult years for our son and family - just knowing there was a team of very qualified people to answer our questions and there was a friendly place where our then five-year-old son could comfortably wait for appointments. And even as our 19-year-old son becomes an adult, we know that Making Headway is still "there" for us and more importantly, for him!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

I have worked with several non profit organizations over the years and I was introduced to Making Headway a couple years ago after a friend passed away. The work that they do is priceless. Their enthusiasm and sincerity for what they are doing is evident. Its wonderful to see an organization put so much time and energy into making the children comfortable and providing resources to their parents, but to know that they are also working diligently to find a cure shows the dedication that they have their cause. I hope to have the opportunity to work with Making Headway Foundation for many, many more years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

My family has been involved for 10'years donating all proceeds from the annual Nicky Docu Memorial Golf outing to this wonderful organization that serves so many and supports research to help conquer this horrible disease

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

My then 16 year old daughter was diasgnosed with an hermangioma on her brain. Dr. Fred Epstein performed the successful operation. Maya and Ed Manley, co-creators of the Making Headway foundation were there every step of the way, prior to and after the operation as well as yeas later inviting us to the picnic that Making Headway has every year at the Manley residence.
Maya and Ed are extremely warm, caring and affectionate to all who come in contact with them. Be it , the patirent, doctor, parents, etc. All of them are given extreme care, understanding, and love by the Manleys' and the rest of this wonderful organization. I can't imagine what that time of our lives would have been like if it wasn't for the Making Headway Foundation.
My daughter is now 32 years old, I have a wonderful 21/2 year old grandaughter, and every year we don't forget the Making Headway Foundation. Especially Ed and Maya Manley whose slow , low manners lulls you into their submission and generosity, love, caring and affection.
Thank God for the Making Headway Foundation

Patrick and Linda Imbriale

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;