Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Inspiring work. Way to go and keep it up! It certainly is life changing.
June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014



I have always been impressed by The Making Headway Foundation. They provide support in many areas to children with brain and spinal cord tumors during their hospitalization(s) and to their families. In addition the foundation also provides on-going care services for the children and
and their families when they are discharged from the hospital.

THIS ASPECT OF THE MAKING HEADWAY FOUNDATION IS UNIQUE AND VERY NEEDED. THEY PROVIDE EDUCATIONAL CONSULTATION AND PSYCHO-SOCIAL SERVICES FOR THE CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES. I WISH THAT THIS WAS DONE MORE FREQUENTLY BY OTHER NOT-FOR-PROFITS. IN ADDITON THEY ALSO PROVIDE RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH TO FIND A CURE.

THE ENTIRE MAKING HEADWAY TEAM IS HARD WORKING, DEDICATED, EXPERTS IN THE FIELD AND CARING. IT IS A PLEASURE TO WORK HARD AND HELP THE FAMILIES NAVIGATE THE COMPLEX SCHOOL SYSTEM AND MAKE SURE THAT THEIR CHILDREN RECEIVE THE SERVICES THEY NEED.

Patty Weiner
Educational Consultant, The Making Headway On-Going Care Team

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

My brother was diagnosed with brain cancer 11 years ago and The Making Headway Foundation has been there to support us through the good times and bad. Since his passing my family and I have been running a golf outing where all the proceeds go to Making Headway. The Making Headway Foundation does a great job lifting the spirits of those families going through such difficult times. Pediatric cancer does not only affect the child suffering, but affects the entire family, and The Making Headway Foundation helped me personally through my brothers loss. I am forever grateful for the impact this foundation has in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

When my 8 week old daughter, Minty, began her battle with brain cancer, we were drowning in a sea of help. But it wasn't always good help. 2 organizations stood out in this din of misguided inefficiency: "Friends Of Karen", and MAKING HEADWAY. It is not enough to simply "want" to help. If the help is un-researched, un-thought out, badly managed, ignorant - the help will make no impact. In fact, quite the opposite. It is no easy feat to really truly help people, when they need it most. Making Headway truly enriched my daughter's life and for this I will forever be indebted. Thank you Maya and Ed. Mei Lai.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

My concern is for all the siblings of our patients at Making Headway. By giving them equal love, respect and attention, they are growing up with far less anger, depression, and despair. Making Headway is the only dedicated foundation that treats the WHOLE FAMILY so that each survives and thrives to their highest potential. The medical research and care for kids with brain tumors at NYU is recognized around the world, but it takes a village like MH to recover the patient and family together. It's true that whatever happens, life will never be the same, but it's also true that the staff and volunteers at MH are happily determined to make life meaningful and beautiful again. As a bereavement counselor, I have never seen a team of professionals like these anywhere else.
10,000 stars for Maya and Edward Manley, and 10'000 more for our kids at Making Headway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Making Headway funds the most wonderful programs at the Hassenfeld Center, making my son's visits to his oncologist a treat to look forward to rather a chore to endure. Making Headway, the people who run it and the programs it funds are very warm, friendly and supportive in a time of great need for pediatric cancer patients and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

I can't say enough about this extraordinary couple Maya & Edward who started Making Headway Foundation through there own person issues with there daughter who had a Brain Tumor was inspired to help others with the same illness .They have been a great source of Inspiration and strength to my Family. In 2004 when my son was diagnosed with a Cancer Brain Tumor it changed my life forever. What also changed my life was when Dr Allen walked into the Hospital room and said I want you to meet someone .10 years later Making Headway is in my Heart & an Inspiration my Friend a shoulder to lean on Therapeutic for you and your child .The resources they offer are wonderful when you have trouble elsewhere. As they try to strive to eliminate this terrible decease I Thank God for them and support Them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make at this point there doing everything they can possibly do to do away with this Decease

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I cannot say enough about Making Headway. They far exceed all expectations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, this is a fantastic charity who truly aids those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

The Making Headway Foundation has been an incredible source of inspiration and strength for me over the past ten years as a cancer survivor. With an amazing staff, and vast amounts of programming, they have given my life meaning and value - something I thought I had lost after being diagnosed in 2003. I can't thank them enough for all they have done, and wouldn't know where I'd be today without them... Thank you!
-Steven Hazlett

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement more young adult programming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

Making Headway continues to assist our son
& us after he was diagnosed & treated for brain
cancer 10 years ago. They are an amazing
organization. They take care of the WHOLE
patient & family prior to, during & after treatment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Re-post our tweets; recruit for Making Headway at Causes.com; read our blog; Share our Facebook posts;