Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc.

Rating: 4.97 stars   32 reviews

Issues: Health, Philanthropy

Location: PO Box 9210 Morristown NJ 07932-9210 USA

Mission: The Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation was established by a child with cancer with one purpose in mind: to fund pediatric cancer research. To that end, the foundation serves as a vehicle to secure private funding to distribute to research facilities and promote awareness through its fund raising activities. The designation of funds to various research facilities is cancer specific and based on the foundation's annual evaluation of the latest research.
Results: Through the generosity of donors like you, we have funded research at several of the 120 different research facilities for childhood cancer around the country, including: Baylor/Texas Children’s Cancer Canter, (Baylor/TCCC) Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, (CHOP) Children’s Medical Center Dallas Colorado Children's Cornell-Weill Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Georgetown/Lombardi Seattle Children’s Some Media Links: The Quilter Magazine, Feature Article, June/July 2013: http://www.thequiltermag.com/issues/2013/161/makesomenoise_article.pdf Chicago – Aug 2014: ABC7: http://abc7chicago.com/society/national-angel-quilt-visits-chicago-area/228269/ Harrisburg July 2014: FOX 43: http://fox43.com/2014/07/10/national-angel-quilt-for-childhood-cancer/#axzz374UBaYKG Denver - March 2012: ABC 7 Denver: http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/30708778/detail.html NBC 9 Denver: http://www.9news.com/news/article/256496/222/Make-some-noise-and-cure-cancer Seattle – April 2012: King 5 Seattle: “New Day NW” talk show in Seattle, April 2012: http://www.king5.com/new-day-northwest/Make-Some-Noise-Cure-Kids-Cancer-147796085.html NBC/King 5 “Making a Difference” interview: http://www.king5.com/video/featured-videos/Teenage-boy-travels-148188495.html Rochester NY - Aug 2012: YNN News: http://rochester.twcnews.com/content/search/594815/national-angel-quilt-begins-coast-to-coast-tour/ Troy Times, July 16, 2013: http://www.candgnews.com/news/quilt-honoring-kids-lost-cancer-stops-oakland-mall Charlotte, NC: ABC WSOC, Aug 2013: http://m.wsoctv.com/news/news/local/national-angel-quilt-honors-charlotte-area-who-die/nZPBK/ Tulsa: NBC Channel 2 Live, July 2013 http://www.kjrh.com/dpp/news/local_news/15-year-old-begins-national-angel-quilt-raises-awareness-and-money-for-kids-cancer-research Kansas City: NBC KSHB Channel 41: Action News with reporter, Fernando Ochoa July 2013 http://www.kshb.com/dpp/news/local_news/angel-quilt-makes-stop-at-union-station-raises-money-for-pediatric-cancer-research
Target demographics: fund vital cure research for childhood cancers.
Direct beneficiaries per year: Research Investigators in the field of Pediatric Oncology.
Geographic areas served: Nation wide
Programs: The National Angel Quilt features images, names and ages of children who have lost their battles with cancer; These beautiful children may have lost the cancer battle, but all are the most inspiring heroes and have earned their angel wings. The National Angel Quilt honors these angles of pediatric cancer, and we are very excited to bring Pediatric Cancer Awareness to the country in such a beautiful and meaningful way; The National tour began during pediatric cancer awareness month in September 2011, and will continue to grow and tour until the cures are found and there are no more angels to add to the quilt.
2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit
Write a Review

See How $25 Can Help

See How 3Hrs Can Help

More Info

EIN 27-0996732
973-656-1111
Invite people to share their experience with this nonprofit!

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Community Reviews

Rating: 5 stars  

My family and I have known the Sutherland-Foggio Family since 2003. My daughter and Malcolm were classmates Kindergarten to 8th grade. We have seen Malcolm's courageous battle with his cancer and his tireless efforts with his foundation to raise awareness of childhood cancers. It has become part of their family's life and I applaud all the good that they are distributing to other families in need.

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise was founded by a Malcolm Sutherland from my town while fighting his own battle against an aggressive bone cancer, Ewing's Sarcoma. Upon learning how little funding goes towards pediatric cancer this amazing young man embarked on a mission to raise awareness and funds for pediatric cancer research to find a cure!

I had the privilege of presenting a donation on behalf of the Corporate Brokers NJ office and was extremely impressed by the dedication and passion exhibited by Malcolm and his mom, Julie. This foundation helps cancer families, sponsors many fundraising opportunities and a very high percentage of the donations go directly to critical research as Malcolm and his volunteers work extremely hard to keep overhead costs at a minimum.

In addition, one cannot help but be strongly impacted by the National Angel Quilt which regularly tours the country to raise awareness and make some noise! The panels, lovingly personalized by families and friends, feature the names and pictures of children of all ages who have lost their battles with cancer. This ever-growing quilt is heartbreaking and inspiring all at once.

This is a top-notch non-profit organization and I highly recommend supporting them!

Barb Amabile

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise is a a result of a very driven young man -- Malcolm --who wants to not only make some noise -- but, make a difference! His energy and enthusiasm for this project is inspirational to everyone he touches. How could you not get involved?? Maclolm -- We love your leadership!! Gary and Barbara Ames

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

I am an artist and have donated proceeds from some art pieces to Make Some Noise. This is the one non profit organization I feel very connected with since kids are our future. Malcom Sutherland-Foggio touched my heart. He's a wonderful spokesman for this Cure Kids Cancer Foundation. My heart goes out to all those kids who want to grow up and live. Let's help them to have that chance. I also think that this foundation is run properly and the proceeds do go to research. That's fundamental to me. I vote for Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc. Fatima Young

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

A truly compelling story - a young boy enduring the terrifying, painful and seemingly endless journey of battling aggresive cancer, and yet through all of this his conclusion and driven focus is that others need more help. Prior to my exposure to Malcolm's organization I was as unaware of the miniscule funding of children's cancer research as most. Make Noise has highlighted the huge discrepancy between the incidence of childhood cancer and the reseach effort to eliminate it - incidence high and funding very low. Malcolm's personal involvement in gettng Make Some Noise started, and his personal involvement in the organization's growth, coupled with his personal story are all powerful elements on their own. His impact is magnified by the fact that this worthwhile organization was started by a 9 year old, and continues to be driven by someone who is still too young to drive. He is truly making a difference.

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization created by Malcolm who is battling cancer as a teen. He has decided that there are not enough organizations funding childhood cancer so despite his own battle with the disease, he has formed this organization to help correct the lack of such funding. Great guy and great organization, I am a very willing donor. Kim Bottles - Bainbridge Island, WA

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

My son was diagnosed with cancer at 8 months of age. He died just 13 months later at 21 months old. His name and face will forever be remembered because of the Angel Quilt that was created by the Make Some Noise for Kids Foundation. I do not not want my son to be forgotten by the world, especially since he died so young. Because of the quilt that will happen. The money that has been raised by this group is going to make a huge difference in the world of pediatric cancer. My hope is that because of this group, no other parent will ever have to say the they are a "parent to an Angel"

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Was this review helpful?