Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was exposed to the battle of pediatric cancer while in high school when my best friend's sister, who was 5 at the time, began her battle. After having her kidney removed and going through treatment for a year I was moved as to the strength and determination by both her and her family. The desire to do more stuck with me and after learning about Malcolm and his story I found the organization that ignited that passion once again. Malcolm has motivated so many to come together and raise money and awareness about pediatric cancer research. His desire to improve the treatment and results for other children battling this disease is remarkable. This truly is one of the best organizations that I am so happy to give my time to.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was inspired to get involved wth Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundatio, Inc. when the son of a collegue of mine (Malcolm) was diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma. Seeing Malcolm struggle through treatments and surgery really brought home to me how discruptive pedicatric cancer is, certainly for the families of the children taken by the disease, but also for the suvivors and their families. When Malcolm then created the foundation, I just knew that I had to get involved. Starting first as a volunteer, then a board member, then the head of the Colorado chapter I have seen Malcolm and the foundation inspire an army of people who have done amazing things to promote the awareness of pediatric cancer as well as raising money to fund the research which is necessary to develop cures. As the foundation's principl awareness vehicle, the Angle Quilt makes a tremendously moving statement about human cost of lives cut short as a result of pediatric cancer. Noise Night, a co-ordinated multi-city fund raising event, along wih numberous grass roots fund raising events, have allowed the foundation to contribute funds for research that will really make a differece. I most enthusiastically endorse the non-proft Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer, Inc to be named a 2012 Top-Rated Great Non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Make Some Noise 4 Kids (MSN) is a cutting edge non-profit organization which has brought concrete dollars, awareness and hope to the lives of children, families and friends struck with the horrors of childhood cancer. Our family has been impressed with MSN’s whole mission: increasing the miniscule fraction of research monies allotted to Pediatric Cancer Research so badly needed to find a cure for childhood cancer. Several years ago when our son’s 13 year old soccer star buddy was struck with a rare form of bone cancer, we learned through MSN just how lacking Pediatric research funding is in this country. We were inspired to get involved with MSN especially as it was founded and lead by a young man (Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio) a victim of acute cancer, who has seen his own misfortune as an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent others from suffering as he has. Through MSN we’ve learned that new research is on the very cusp of finding break-through cures for childhood cancer, such as utilizing the body’s own immune system- rather than relying on chemo and radiation treatments – to destroy and reverse cancerous cell growth. MSN has built a strong reputation including: great identity packaging; ongoing annual campaign events; Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; and working to create awareness from the most grassroots levels at the local schools and businesses to television coverage to the creation of a national organization with local chapters. Particularly impressive is MSN’s unique efficiency, ie: 97 to 99% of all donations go to curing cancer cause related activity. MSN has created a path and lead the way for others to become integral parts of an effective foundation making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Nomination for 2012 Top-Rated Great Non-profits:
Nominee: Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc.
The inspirational founder, Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio, has battled aggressive Pelvic Ewing’s Sarcoma since diagnosis on December 7, 2008. Despite his personal challenges, he decided
the compelling needs to raise both awareness and critical research funding was to be his primary mission.
Only 3% of U.S. cancer research dollars go to childhood cancers. Protocols are dated, and for those who survive, cause life-long health issues. Vastly improved approaches to treatment have been discovered, but to move from laboratory mice to young human patients requires huge financial resources.
Malcolm founded the 501C3 Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer at age eleven. Today, at 14, he has raised nearly one million dollars and seen to spreading the word around the country. He has toured numerous states, appeared on radio and television, and in print media. His foundation designed the National Angel Quilt, a memorial quilt consisting of images of children lost to cancer, which has been displayed in NJ, NY, MA, MD, PA, CO, WA and continues to draw attention to this terrible disease.
Make Some Noise was a top-three finalist in the Classy Award recognition of new charities in San Diego in September of 2011. Malcolm was named “New Jersey Hero” in January 2012.
Realizing the need to grow the effort and benefits nationally, Make Some Noise has founded chapters in Colorado and Washington states. Non-profit incorporation and 501c3 filings are being prepared in the Rochester, New York area and Boston at this writing. In each location a Junior Board is formed, in addition to the official Board of Directors, to provide a bridge to educational institutions and family networks.
In Seattle, Washington as an example, the Northwest Junior Board members have toured the new, state-of-the-art research facility at Seattle Children’s Hospital Research Institute, and had meaningful dialogue with its Director about the promises of immunotherapy and recently FDA approved T-cell modification clinical trials. These “kids’ cancer ambassadors” help to carry the news and understanding of this exciting new research approach to their schools and community.
Television and Radio personalities and audiences uniformly describe founder Malcolm as inspirational and the Make Some Organization as high energy and one making a difference.
I most enthusiastically nominate founder Malcolm Sutherland Foggio and the non-profit Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer, Foundation, Inc. to be named 2012 Top-Rated Great Non-Profit.
Jack Sutherland, President & CEO
Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer – Northwest Chapter
Email: jack@makenoise4kids.org
www.makenoise4kids.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers