Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a HS student and volunteer, serving on the Junior Board of the Make Some Noise NW Chapter. I’ve had the privilege of being involved with this super organization for the past two years. Pediatric cancer is a sorely underfunded area and I knew little about the subject, as do most people, until a close friend was diagnosed with bone cancer. He underwent an unbelievable barrage of treatments including chemo and radiation therapy. During that period I felt powerless to help and tried not to think of the trauma and pain he withstood. A neighbor of ours Jack Sutherland approached my brother and I and told us about his grandson Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio, who, just two years prior, had the same diagnosis of acute bone cancer as my friend. Malcolm has spent an incredible amount of time and effort turning his own misfortune into an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent other kids from suffering as he has. He is the founder of Make Some Noise. Mr. Sutherland taught me that children’s cancer is unique and requires quite different treatments than the more pervasive adult cancers. He explained that the foundation was going to start a Northwest chapter and he invited me to be on the junior board. I was excited to be a part of Make Some Noise which has built a strong reputation including: ongoing annual campaign events; an Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; awareness events from the most grassroots levels in local schools and businesses; to television coverage; and in particular: a uniquely impressive 97 to 99% of all donations go to the mission. I’ve also learned about new ground-breaking pediatric cancer research.
Just three years old, Make Some Noise is really making a difference, raising upwards of $900,000 nationwide. And at our new Bainbridge local chapter, we’ve been involved in over 6 different fundraising and awareness events this past year, which are starting to show real promise. I’ve personally thoroughly enjoyed working with the other board members and have made connections and friends that will outlast my high school attendance. I am proud to be involved with an organization that has helped create a path, leading the way towards making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.
-Max

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The founder, Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio is a remarkable young man who through his own trial with cancer and seeing the trials of other children and their families, has turned his own misfortune into something positive and valuable.

Through his leadership and with the help of his
extraordinary family and friends, Make some Noise, the non-profit organization he founded has raised about a million dollars to benefit pediatric cancer research.

Through wise management and the efforts of Malcolm, his foundation and a dedicated group of volunteers and donors, costs are held to a minimum and well over 95 percent of every dollar received actually goes to highly regarded scientists at established pediatric cancer research centers.

The “Angel Quilt” which accompanies Malcolm on his awareness and fundraising events is breathtaking and reminds us all of the terrible consequences of childhood cancer on children and on their families.

Among the charities that we support, this one is at the top of our list and we highly recommend it to any and all who have even a remote interest in increasing the amount of results-oriented research directed toward treatment and cures for childhood cancers.

Ken & Pat Harrington

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This remarkable foundation was started by 9 year old Malcolm who is now a miraculous survivor of a highly malignant sarcoma (a form of "cancer"). This experience taught Malcolm how to fight and survive, but he also learned how shockingly little money in cancer research and therapy is devoted to children-. With children's short lives before, every effort should be made to extend them and Malcolm's foundation is doing just that. Malcolm, with his shy but positive demeanor, is a true inspiration and his foundation deserves much recognition and support! Henry Kuharic M.D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I got involved with Make Some Noise for Kids Cancer when a friend of my, then 13 year old, daughter was diagnosed with Ewings Sarcoma and we learned about the dearth of research dollars for cancers specific to children. MSN's mission is simple - raise and awareness and money. The founder and his family work tirelessly for a cause near to their hearts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers