Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc.

Rating: 4.97 stars   32 reviews

Issues: Health, Philanthropy

Location: PO Box 9210 Morristown NJ 07932-9210 USA

Mission: The Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation was established by a child with cancer with one purpose in mind: to fund pediatric cancer research. To that end, the foundation serves as a vehicle to secure private funding to distribute to research facilities and promote awareness through its fund raising activities. The designation of funds to various research facilities is cancer specific and based on the foundation's annual evaluation of the latest research.
Results: Through the generosity of donors like you, we have funded research at several of the 120 different research facilities for childhood cancer around the country, including: Baylor/Texas Children’s Cancer Canter, (Baylor/TCCC) Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, (CHOP) Children’s Medical Center Dallas Colorado Children's Cornell-Weill Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Georgetown/Lombardi Seattle Children’s Some Media Links: The Quilter Magazine, Feature Article, June/July 2013: http://www.thequiltermag.com/issues/2013/161/makesomenoise_article.pdf Chicago – Aug 2014: ABC7: http://abc7chicago.com/society/national-angel-quilt-visits-chicago-area/228269/ Harrisburg July 2014: FOX 43: http://fox43.com/2014/07/10/national-angel-quilt-for-childhood-cancer/#axzz374UBaYKG Denver - March 2012: ABC 7 Denver: http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/30708778/detail.html NBC 9 Denver: http://www.9news.com/news/article/256496/222/Make-some-noise-and-cure-cancer Seattle – April 2012: King 5 Seattle: “New Day NW” talk show in Seattle, April 2012: http://www.king5.com/new-day-northwest/Make-Some-Noise-Cure-Kids-Cancer-147796085.html NBC/King 5 “Making a Difference” interview: http://www.king5.com/video/featured-videos/Teenage-boy-travels-148188495.html Rochester NY - Aug 2012: YNN News: http://rochester.twcnews.com/content/search/594815/national-angel-quilt-begins-coast-to-coast-tour/ Troy Times, July 16, 2013: http://www.candgnews.com/news/quilt-honoring-kids-lost-cancer-stops-oakland-mall Charlotte, NC: ABC WSOC, Aug 2013: http://m.wsoctv.com/news/news/local/national-angel-quilt-honors-charlotte-area-who-die/nZPBK/ Tulsa: NBC Channel 2 Live, July 2013 http://www.kjrh.com/dpp/news/local_news/15-year-old-begins-national-angel-quilt-raises-awareness-and-money-for-kids-cancer-research Kansas City: NBC KSHB Channel 41: Action News with reporter, Fernando Ochoa July 2013 http://www.kshb.com/dpp/news/local_news/angel-quilt-makes-stop-at-union-station-raises-money-for-pediatric-cancer-research
Target demographics: fund vital cure research for childhood cancers.
Direct beneficiaries per year: Research Investigators in the field of Pediatric Oncology.
Geographic areas served: Nation wide
Programs: The National Angel Quilt features images, names and ages of children who have lost their battles with cancer; These beautiful children may have lost the cancer battle, but all are the most inspiring heroes and have earned their angel wings. The National Angel Quilt honors these angles of pediatric cancer, and we are very excited to bring Pediatric Cancer Awareness to the country in such a beautiful and meaningful way; The National tour began during pediatric cancer awareness month in September 2011, and will continue to grow and tour until the cures are found and there are no more angels to add to the quilt.
2014 Top-Rated Nonprofit
Write a Review

See How $25 Can Help

See How 3Hrs Can Help

More Info

EIN 27-0996732
973-656-1111
Invite people to share their experience with this nonprofit!

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Community Reviews

Rating: 5 stars  

A founder who himself, Malcolm, and his team (other cancer patients) take time out of his/their teenage life knowing only too well that a cure is needed is the force behind this Foundation. Watching the children fighting their fight looking up to Malcolm because he/his team shows them they will be alright but we have to find the cure for the ones who are not.

Children supporting each other to find their own cure to their diseases touches hearts. The Angel Quilt is beautiful and sadly growing. Volunteer, give, spread awareness to a difficult subject, this Foundation somehow makes it positive when the odds, facts, reality is far from positive.

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

My daughter Grace and I have known the Sutherland-Foggio family for several years.....ever since Grace was invited to a swim clinic the Make Some Noise Foundation was holding for pediatric cancer patients and survivors. Over the years, we have had the privilege of working with this organization as volunteers, donors and recipients of services. Last year we had the great honor of helping to deliver a large check for research and meeting some of the scientists working to find new and better treatments for our children. Malcolm and Julie are passionate about the causes of raising awareness and research funds. The organization is run honorably and with great respect for the intent of its donors.

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

I am a HS student and volunteer, serving on the Junior Board of the Make Some Noise NW Chapter. I’ve had the privilege of being involved with this super organization for the past two years. Pediatric cancer is a sorely underfunded area and I knew little about the subject, as do most people, until a close friend was diagnosed with bone cancer. He underwent an unbelievable barrage of treatments including chemo and radiation therapy. During that period I felt powerless to help and tried not to think of the trauma and pain he withstood. A neighbor of ours Jack Sutherland approached my brother and I and told us about his grandson Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio, who, just two years prior, had the same diagnosis of acute bone cancer as my friend. Malcolm has spent an incredible amount of time and effort turning his own misfortune into an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent other kids from suffering as he has. He is the founder of Make Some Noise. Mr. Sutherland taught me that children’s cancer is unique and requires quite different treatments than the more pervasive adult cancers. He explained that the foundation was going to start a Northwest chapter and he invited me to be on the junior board. I was excited to be a part of Make Some Noise which has built a strong reputation including: ongoing annual campaign events; an Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; awareness events from the most grassroots levels in local schools and businesses; to television coverage; and in particular: a uniquely impressive 97 to 99% of all donations go to the mission. I’ve also learned about new ground-breaking pediatric cancer research.
Just three years old, Make Some Noise is really making a difference, raising upwards of $900,000 nationwide. And at our new Bainbridge local chapter, we’ve been involved in over 6 different fundraising and awareness events this past year, which are starting to show real promise. I’ve personally thoroughly enjoyed working with the other board members and have made connections and friends that will outlast my high school attendance. I am proud to be involved with an organization that has helped create a path, leading the way towards making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.
-Max

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

The founder, Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio is a remarkable young man who through his own trial with cancer and seeing the trials of other children and their families, has turned his own misfortune into something positive and valuable.

Through his leadership and with the help of his extraordinary family and friends, Make some Noise, the non-profit organization he founded has raised about a million dollars to benefit pediatric cancer research.

Through wise management and the efforts of Malcolm, his foundation and a dedicated group of volunteers and donors, costs are held to a minimum and well over 95 percent of every dollar received actually goes to highly regarded scientists at established pediatric cancer research centers.

The “Angel Quilt” which accompanies Malcolm on his awareness and fundraising events is breathtaking and reminds us all of the terrible consequences of childhood cancer on children and on their families.

Among the charities that we support, this one is at the top of our list and we highly recommend it to any and all who have even a remote interest in increasing the amount of results-oriented research directed toward treatment and cures for childhood cancers.

Ken & Pat Harrington

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

This remarkable foundation was started by 9 year old Malcolm who is now a miraculous survivor of a highly malignant sarcoma (a form of "cancer"). This experience taught Malcolm how to fight and survive, but he also learned how shockingly little money in cancer research and therapy is devoted to children-. With children's short lives before, every effort should be made to extend them and Malcolm's foundation is doing just that. Malcolm, with his shy but positive demeanor, is a true inspiration and his foundation deserves much recognition and support! Henry Kuharic M.D.

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 4 stars  

I got involved with Make Some Noise for Kids Cancer when a friend of my, then 13 year old, daughter was diagnosed with Ewings Sarcoma and we learned about the dearth of research dollars for cancers specific to children. MSN's mission is simple - raise and awareness and money. The founder and his family work tirelessly for a cause near to their hearts.

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful?