Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation is very dear to my heart. I met Julie and Malcolm when my daughter was diagnosed with Leukemia. Malcolm the found who at the time was a young boy was fighting his own battle with cancer and still had it in his heart to start this organization with his mom Julie to make awareness and to raise money to find a cure for children's cancer. I know they have it hard like all of us but they find the time and energy to travel all over the United States to make awareness. They also have a quilt called the angel quilt which is a quilt that has all the pictures of children who have lost their battle and are now angels. This quilt is here to let people know how many beautiful children and teenagers are losing their lives everyday to this monster called cancer. When my daughter Bethany was sick Julie and Malcolm gave her support they let her and my family know their is hope and they included her in ways to help spread the word. There should be more people like Julie and Malcolm in the world who give so much of themselves. I know in my heart they are making a difference and when I see all the money they raise and they hand that awesome check over to research I know they are making a difference in the world of cancer.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc. is an amazing organization. I found out about this organization after losing my 4 year old daughter and 15 year old son to cancer. I saw the National Angel Quilt online and was pleased to see that there was an organization bringing awareness to childhood cancer. Needless to say this cause is dear to our hearts. My wife and I established a nonprofit called Have Faith Be Strong to continue the work that our son Jalen started shortly after being diagnosed with cancer at age 13. We contacted Julie and she informed us that our daughter Breanna and our son Jalen could be added to the quilt. We were thrilled and honored. We have since seen their pictures on the quilt online, but not in person. We look forward to their scheduled West Coast tour next summer. They provide this all free of charge. God bless all of the Angels, families, and this wonderful organization.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came to know of the Make Some Noise Foundation when I submitted my son Colin's photo to be added to the National Angel Quilt after he passed away from cancer last year. Since then, I have come to learn more about this wonderful foundation and its founders, a fine young man named Malcolm (who is also a childhood cancer survivor) and his mother, Julie Sutherland. I am in awe of their tireless effort to raise awareness and desperately needed funding for childhood cancer research so that maybe one day, NO child will have to face this terrible disease, cancer. While The National Angel Quilt is just one of the many fund raising projects that they organize toward the goal of raising awareness and funding for childhood cancer research, it is one which has really touched my heart. As the founders travel around the US displaying the National Angel Quilt, sharing statistics and information on childhood cancer, the quilt continues to grow as precious young lives are lost to cancer, clearly illustrating the importance of the Make Some Noise Foundations efforts. I am moved by Malcolm and Julie's selfless effort to raise awareness in a way that honors our children in such a beautiful, meaningful manner.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have participated in many of the Make Some Noise events. They do an awesome job creating awareness and raising money for a much needed cause.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise is a fantastic organization! Their "National Angel Quilt" has brought much needed attention to the lack of funding that pediatric cancer research receives each year. All of their programs, from the "Angel Quilt" to the "Heroes For Kids Cancer" charity walk have far exceeded my expectations for what a growing nonprofit organization can accomplish. I am glad that they are taking initiatives to inform the public about this important issue and raise money for kids cancer research!
September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Chandler was diagnosed with a Brain tumor at the age of 2! A BEAUTIFUL child full of life! Talk about hitting a wall! There are no words that can describe the feeling that you have. He underwent brain surgery where most of the tumor was removed. The tumor was in the central nervous system, so he learned to walk, talk and use his right side all over again. He then was hospitalized for a week during each round of chemo. In the middle of the 6 months his stem cells were harvested, sent to be frozen and saved for high dose treatment with stem cell recovery. That included 31 days of hospitalization, Chemotherapy at that point was horrible, we bathed him every 4 hours, as the drug was excreted through the skin and caused severe burns. He was cancer free for @ 1 year! It returned then we traveled to Oregon to OHSU for BBBD. For 6 months we went back and forth, every 4 weeks to receive treatment. Unfortunately he had become resistant to the chemo. Then he underwent radiation, 6 weeks of cranio-spinal radiation. For a 4 year old ( at this point) he had the eyes of an angel and the mind of a 21 year old! He was the most ornery love able create pure God put on this earth! After several other treatments at various locations Chan-Man lost his YOUNG BEAUTIFUL life to cancer! The kid was the most amazing gift, he never asked "why me". There is so little being done for our children in the cancer world, we need to arm ourselves and MAKE SOME NOISE!! Thanks to Malcolm and his foundation, that is starting to happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise was founded by a Malcolm Sutherland from my town while fighting his own battle against an aggressive bone cancer, Ewing's Sarcoma. Upon learning how little funding goes towards pediatric cancer this amazing young man embarked on a mission to raise awareness and funds for pediatric cancer research to find a cure!

I had the privilege of presenting a donation on behalf of the Corporate Brokers NJ office and was extremely impressed by the dedication and passion exhibited by Malcolm and his mom, Julie. This foundation helps cancer families, sponsors many fundraising opportunities and a very high percentage of the donations go directly to critical research as Malcolm and his volunteers work extremely hard to keep overhead costs at a minimum.

In addition, one cannot help but be strongly impacted by the National Angel Quilt which regularly tours the country to raise awareness and make some noise! The panels, lovingly personalized by families and friends, feature the names and pictures of children of all ages who have lost their battles with cancer. This ever-growing quilt is heartbreaking and inspiring all at once.

This is a top-notch non-profit organization and I highly recommend supporting them!

Barb Amabile

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a HS student and volunteer, serving on the Junior Board of the Make Some Noise NW Chapter. I’ve had the privilege of being involved with this super organization for the past two years. Pediatric cancer is a sorely underfunded area and I knew little about the subject, as do most people, until a close friend was diagnosed with bone cancer. He underwent an unbelievable barrage of treatments including chemo and radiation therapy. During that period I felt powerless to help and tried not to think of the trauma and pain he withstood. A neighbor of ours Jack Sutherland approached my brother and I and told us about his grandson Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio, who, just two years prior, had the same diagnosis of acute bone cancer as my friend. Malcolm has spent an incredible amount of time and effort turning his own misfortune into an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent other kids from suffering as he has. He is the founder of Make Some Noise. Mr. Sutherland taught me that children’s cancer is unique and requires quite different treatments than the more pervasive adult cancers. He explained that the foundation was going to start a Northwest chapter and he invited me to be on the junior board. I was excited to be a part of Make Some Noise which has built a strong reputation including: ongoing annual campaign events; an Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; awareness events from the most grassroots levels in local schools and businesses; to television coverage; and in particular: a uniquely impressive 97 to 99% of all donations go to the mission. I’ve also learned about new ground-breaking pediatric cancer research.
Just three years old, Make Some Noise is really making a difference, raising upwards of $900,000 nationwide. And at our new Bainbridge local chapter, we’ve been involved in over 6 different fundraising and awareness events this past year, which are starting to show real promise. I’ve personally thoroughly enjoyed working with the other board members and have made connections and friends that will outlast my high school attendance. I am proud to be involved with an organization that has helped create a path, leading the way towards making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.
-Max

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was exposed to the battle of pediatric cancer while in high school when my best friend's sister, who was 5 at the time, began her battle. After having her kidney removed and going through treatment for a year I was moved as to the strength and determination by both her and her family. The desire to do more stuck with me and after learning about Malcolm and his story I found the organization that ignited that passion once again. Malcolm has motivated so many to come together and raise money and awareness about pediatric cancer research. His desire to improve the treatment and results for other children battling this disease is remarkable. This truly is one of the best organizations that I am so happy to give my time to.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The founder, Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio is a remarkable young man who through his own trial with cancer and seeing the trials of other children and their families, has turned his own misfortune into something positive and valuable.

Through his leadership and with the help of his
extraordinary family and friends, Make some Noise, the non-profit organization he founded has raised about a million dollars to benefit pediatric cancer research.

Through wise management and the efforts of Malcolm, his foundation and a dedicated group of volunteers and donors, costs are held to a minimum and well over 95 percent of every dollar received actually goes to highly regarded scientists at established pediatric cancer research centers.

The “Angel Quilt” which accompanies Malcolm on his awareness and fundraising events is breathtaking and reminds us all of the terrible consequences of childhood cancer on children and on their families.

Among the charities that we support, this one is at the top of our list and we highly recommend it to any and all who have even a remote interest in increasing the amount of results-oriented research directed toward treatment and cures for childhood cancers.

Ken & Pat Harrington

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help at an event, help with data entry, help cut fabric Volunteer