Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Chandler was diagnosed with a Brain tumor at the age of 2! A BEAUTIFUL child full of life! Talk about hitting a wall! There are no words that can describe the feeling that you have. He underwent brain surgery where most of the tumor was removed. The tumor was in the central nervous system, so he learned to walk, talk and use his right side all over again. He then was hospitalized for a week during each round of chemo. In the middle of the 6 months his stem cells were harvested, sent to be frozen and saved for high dose treatment with stem cell recovery. That included 31 days of hospitalization, Chemotherapy at that point was horrible, we bathed him every 4 hours, as the drug was excreted through the skin and caused severe burns. He was cancer free for @ 1 year! It returned then we traveled to Oregon to OHSU for BBBD. For 6 months we went back and forth, every 4 weeks to receive treatment. Unfortunately he had become resistant to the chemo. Then he underwent radiation, 6 weeks of cranio-spinal radiation. For a 4 year old ( at this point) he had the eyes of an angel and the mind of a 21 year old! He was the most ornery love able create pure God put on this earth! After several other treatments at various locations Chan-Man lost his YOUNG BEAUTIFUL life to cancer! The kid was the most amazing gift, he never asked "why me". There is so little being done for our children in the cancer world, we need to arm ourselves and MAKE SOME NOISE!! Thanks to Malcolm and his foundation, that is starting to happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise was founded by a Malcolm Sutherland from my town while fighting his own battle against an aggressive bone cancer, Ewing's Sarcoma. Upon learning how little funding goes towards pediatric cancer this amazing young man embarked on a mission to raise awareness and funds for pediatric cancer research to find a cure!

I had the privilege of presenting a donation on behalf of the Corporate Brokers NJ office and was extremely impressed by the dedication and passion exhibited by Malcolm and his mom, Julie. This foundation helps cancer families, sponsors many fundraising opportunities and a very high percentage of the donations go directly to critical research as Malcolm and his volunteers work extremely hard to keep overhead costs at a minimum.

In addition, one cannot help but be strongly impacted by the National Angel Quilt which regularly tours the country to raise awareness and make some noise! The panels, lovingly personalized by families and friends, feature the names and pictures of children of all ages who have lost their battles with cancer. This ever-growing quilt is heartbreaking and inspiring all at once.

This is a top-notch non-profit organization and I highly recommend supporting them!

Barb Amabile

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a HS student and volunteer, serving on the Junior Board of the Make Some Noise NW Chapter. I’ve had the privilege of being involved with this super organization for the past two years. Pediatric cancer is a sorely underfunded area and I knew little about the subject, as do most people, until a close friend was diagnosed with bone cancer. He underwent an unbelievable barrage of treatments including chemo and radiation therapy. During that period I felt powerless to help and tried not to think of the trauma and pain he withstood. A neighbor of ours Jack Sutherland approached my brother and I and told us about his grandson Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio, who, just two years prior, had the same diagnosis of acute bone cancer as my friend. Malcolm has spent an incredible amount of time and effort turning his own misfortune into an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent other kids from suffering as he has. He is the founder of Make Some Noise. Mr. Sutherland taught me that children’s cancer is unique and requires quite different treatments than the more pervasive adult cancers. He explained that the foundation was going to start a Northwest chapter and he invited me to be on the junior board. I was excited to be a part of Make Some Noise which has built a strong reputation including: ongoing annual campaign events; an Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; awareness events from the most grassroots levels in local schools and businesses; to television coverage; and in particular: a uniquely impressive 97 to 99% of all donations go to the mission. I’ve also learned about new ground-breaking pediatric cancer research.
Just three years old, Make Some Noise is really making a difference, raising upwards of $900,000 nationwide. And at our new Bainbridge local chapter, we’ve been involved in over 6 different fundraising and awareness events this past year, which are starting to show real promise. I’ve personally thoroughly enjoyed working with the other board members and have made connections and friends that will outlast my high school attendance. I am proud to be involved with an organization that has helped create a path, leading the way towards making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.
-Max

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was exposed to the battle of pediatric cancer while in high school when my best friend's sister, who was 5 at the time, began her battle. After having her kidney removed and going through treatment for a year I was moved as to the strength and determination by both her and her family. The desire to do more stuck with me and after learning about Malcolm and his story I found the organization that ignited that passion once again. Malcolm has motivated so many to come together and raise money and awareness about pediatric cancer research. His desire to improve the treatment and results for other children battling this disease is remarkable. This truly is one of the best organizations that I am so happy to give my time to.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The founder, Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio is a remarkable young man who through his own trial with cancer and seeing the trials of other children and their families, has turned his own misfortune into something positive and valuable.

Through his leadership and with the help of his
extraordinary family and friends, Make some Noise, the non-profit organization he founded has raised about a million dollars to benefit pediatric cancer research.

Through wise management and the efforts of Malcolm, his foundation and a dedicated group of volunteers and donors, costs are held to a minimum and well over 95 percent of every dollar received actually goes to highly regarded scientists at established pediatric cancer research centers.

The “Angel Quilt” which accompanies Malcolm on his awareness and fundraising events is breathtaking and reminds us all of the terrible consequences of childhood cancer on children and on their families.

Among the charities that we support, this one is at the top of our list and we highly recommend it to any and all who have even a remote interest in increasing the amount of results-oriented research directed toward treatment and cures for childhood cancers.

Ken & Pat Harrington

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was inspired to get involved wth Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundatio, Inc. when the son of a collegue of mine (Malcolm) was diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma. Seeing Malcolm struggle through treatments and surgery really brought home to me how discruptive pedicatric cancer is, certainly for the families of the children taken by the disease, but also for the suvivors and their families. When Malcolm then created the foundation, I just knew that I had to get involved. Starting first as a volunteer, then a board member, then the head of the Colorado chapter I have seen Malcolm and the foundation inspire an army of people who have done amazing things to promote the awareness of pediatric cancer as well as raising money to fund the research which is necessary to develop cures. As the foundation's principl awareness vehicle, the Angle Quilt makes a tremendously moving statement about human cost of lives cut short as a result of pediatric cancer. Noise Night, a co-ordinated multi-city fund raising event, along wih numberous grass roots fund raising events, have allowed the foundation to contribute funds for research that will really make a differece. I most enthusiastically endorse the non-proft Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer, Inc to be named a 2012 Top-Rated Great Non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Make Some Noise, under Malcolm's leadership, has made a real and tangible impact on accelerating our research towards learing how to cure cancer using the immune system. Every dollar you have given us has gone towards this goal. Keep up the great work Malcolm and thank you!!! --Dr. Michael Jensen, Director of Ben Towne Center for Childhood Cancer Research, Seattle Children's Research Institute

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Make Some Noise 4 Kids (MSN) is a cutting edge non-profit organization which has brought concrete dollars, awareness and hope to the lives of children, families and friends struck with the horrors of childhood cancer. Our family has been impressed with MSN’s whole mission: increasing the miniscule fraction of research monies allotted to Pediatric Cancer Research so badly needed to find a cure for childhood cancer. Several years ago when our son’s 13 year old soccer star buddy was struck with a rare form of bone cancer, we learned through MSN just how lacking Pediatric research funding is in this country. We were inspired to get involved with MSN especially as it was founded and lead by a young man (Malcolm Sutherland-Foggio) a victim of acute cancer, who has seen his own misfortune as an opportunity to make a real difference- to help prevent others from suffering as he has. Through MSN we’ve learned that new research is on the very cusp of finding break-through cures for childhood cancer, such as utilizing the body’s own immune system- rather than relying on chemo and radiation treatments – to destroy and reverse cancerous cell growth. MSN has built a strong reputation including: great identity packaging; ongoing annual campaign events; Angel Quilt Tour; celebrity involvement; and working to create awareness from the most grassroots levels at the local schools and businesses to television coverage to the creation of a national organization with local chapters. Particularly impressive is MSN’s unique efficiency, ie: 97 to 99% of all donations go to curing cancer cause related activity. MSN has created a path and lead the way for others to become integral parts of an effective foundation making a significant difference in finding a cure for kid’s cancer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Make Some Noise is a a result of a very driven young man -- Malcolm --who wants to not only make some noise -- but, make a difference! His energy and enthusiasm for this project is inspirational to everyone he touches. How could you not get involved?? Maclolm -- We love your leadership!! Gary and Barbara Ames

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an artist and have donated proceeds from some art pieces to Make Some Noise. This is the one non profit organization I feel very connected with since kids are our future. Malcom Sutherland-Foggio touched my heart. He's a wonderful spokesman for this Cure Kids Cancer Foundation. My heart goes out to all those kids who want to grow up and live. Let's help them to have that chance. I also think that this foundation is run properly and the proceeds do go to research. That's fundamental to me. I vote for Make Some Noise: Cure Kids Cancer Foundation, Inc. Fatima Young

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers