Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
123.445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just have to say after reading these reviews, my daughter's experience was wonderful. She had a "benign" brain tumor but had gone through multiple surgeries and radiation. She was left with multiple disabilities. Her wish was simple, to see "The Wiggles". Make A Wish did that for her and included our whole family. They sent us by limousine and paid for the tickets and the hotel and gave us extra money for expenses. They set up a private meeting with The Wiggles for her. It was a trip we all remembered for years as going on vacation with a medically fragile child is not easy. My daughter passed away almost two years ago but I will always thank MAW for those happy memories.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

To the recipients of this breathtaking organization, I do not have to tell them what Make a Wish Foundation has meant to their shortened lives! The children have only a few yerars or even months left to do the things they have dreamed about, and this organization has performed tasks time after time to grant their dream wish, whether it be to become a fireman for a day, meet their favorite ball player, or see a dinosaur! Any one thing is no geater than another if if is these childern's ultimate dream, and it is the Make a Wish foundation which makes tose dreams come true!! Five stars to the Make a Wish Foundation!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteer Speaks writer couldn't be more wrong. MAW grants wishes to children with life-threatening wishes, not terminally ill only!!! DO your research before you slander a charity that helps kids! I was one of the 1st kids granted a wish from MAW Metro NY. I had childhood Leukemia at age 15. 85% cure rate. Should i have not gotten a wish? I went through two +years of HELL (chemo, radiation, surgery)and suffered life-long disabilities from my Cancer, which effects my life today. My wish gave me hope and even just made me happy and took my mind off my treatment for a week. It also made me the man I am today, serving the non-profit community. if that doesn't deserve your $, go stick it where the sun don't shine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

There are some things that people should question: Salaries of all the Long Island people they hire --- overpaid and over staffed for the limited yearly wishes they do (especially when the volunteers do most of the work from interviewing and meeting with the families to doing the wishes) My experience was that most of the staff are Long Island girls who focus more on raising money and events than truly getting involved with the sick children and their families. Look at the real cost of the wishes after deducting all staff costs and events!!!! Then also look at how many children are REALLY TERMINALLY ILL, DYING FROM CANCER --- I would estimate less than 1% but this organization has given the false impression that people are helping dying children. That is what they want you to believe. I asked all my friends what Make A Wish was for and they all gave me the same answer: helping dying children get a wish before they die. I said it was not so --- most will survive they just have to have a life threatening disease. I can tell you that I will not donate any money to Make A Wish nor will my friends. They have gone away from the original intention of why Make A Wish was created. Then ask how many children in the Metro NY are USA citizens? Surprise again! Many are foreign people who just come to the USA to take advantage of our medical system and the real people paying are American citizens that pay taxes. Make A Wish looked the other way each time I reported it and said it did not matter. As a result I will not support Make A Wish. I don't think the donors realize how much money is wasted on the large inefficient staff and their salaries. A bunch of Long Island people getting paid very well for very little in my personal opinion. Ask for each person to list their salaries plus their benefits and ask for how much time they spend trying to get donations --- then compare the real cost to the actual cost of each wish --- total the actual wish cost for the year without including the salaries and the staff expenses such as their using their cars, parking, ... and you will note that the wish expenses are most likely overstated. There are much better organizations to donate money to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered for this organization and was very disappointed with the experience. First, as I reviewed the expenses vs. what the top person is earning $200,000 it is too much for only 700+ wishes a year. Add to this at least another 10 on staff that fail to follow up on details such as the current address of the family, correct birth date and directions for volunteers. 8 other Directors earning good salaries and poor results. The office staff is a mess. Volunteers are frustrated but if you criticize them they are very defensive. What I found most disturbing is that donors think they are donating to dying children and they are being misled. Most of the children will be fine and on medication and will live a long life and have what Make A Wish labels a "life threatening disease". They are misleading donors and in their campaign to get people to donate focus on the most ill children to promote sympathy. Another issue is that this particular Make A Wish is looking the other way when they know illegal residents are involved and are giving trips to families that are illegally residing in the USA even after being informed. The parents of the children are honest about their status and Make A Wish does not care if they are residing in the USA illegally I wonder how many donors would donate to Make A Wish of Metro NY if they knew the truth? As a volunteer I only experienced one child with a terminal disease and my last four wishes involved parents that were illegally in the USA. When Make A Wish was questioned the response was as long as we are not providing housing we are not doing anything illegal. As a result, I decided it was not an organization I should be involved in.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I started with truly wanting to help the children as a volunteer but was very disappointed in the way the staff handled themselves and the illegal immigration status of many of the parents they are giving free trips to Disney and other places. I don't believe it is an ethical procedure and also believe that Make A Wish needs to get back to the roots of what it was meant to be --- helping terminally ill children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

#1 Go back to the key reason why Make A Wish was created: to help terminally ill children #2 Create a policy that would insist on having everyone being granted a wish to be legal residents including the parents.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers