Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

This is the first nonprofit board I've had the pleasure to serve on and I could not have been more fortunate. I'm so impressed with how professionally everything is. Given that this is a huge learning experience for me (I come from a technology background), I've been blown away by the board's organization, professionalism, commitment, and dedication. There are a wide variety of members from many different types of professions, all of whom bring an intense amount of passion to their volunteer service every time we meet.

And then of course there's the mission of Make-A-Wish overall. The joy brought to the children who receive wishes is so heartwarming. We have a wish inspiration story at the start of every board meeting and it just puts a smile on your face, brings tears to your eyes or both.

As to the employees of this chapter, they are professional and long tenured. They love their work and the people they work with. And the annual fundraising gala/auction is a very well done event. Every year I've invited people, they're always so impressed with how fun the event is, the scale, the items to bid on and the stories told throughout the night.

I'm one lucky human to have been able to serve on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

I am a student in the Certification Program for Fundraising Management at the University of Washington Tacoma. We were assigned to bring to class an example of a website that effectively clearly displays what they do, who they serve, their results, history, mission, supporting statistics and budget. I was quite taken by the creative annual report that not only told the story of a child, but creatively provided valuable statistics that donors want to see in a simple effective manner.
Congratulations you are my choice for the top website award!
Thanks for what you do and how you convey that message.
Betty Perry
Gig Harbor, WA
PS My neighbors and friends lost 2 sons to cancer within a 5 year span. Both were recipients of their wish. There is nothing so devastating then seeing a child suffer, and there is nothing so touching then seeing that sick child live their wish.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have been a Wish volunteer for more than 15 years. Apart from being a dad and a grandpa, serving as a Wish volunteer is the most enriching experience of my life. Everyone involved in the Wish process has a single agenda: bringing joy to a seriously ill child and her/his family. Extraordinarily wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I love being a volunteer for Make-A-Wish. I started volunteering a year ago, and cannot wait to continue for many many more years. It is my ultimate goal to work for a non-profit company, and while I am not there yet, it meets my passion of helping people on so many levels to be able to volunteer with such a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This has been the most life changing year for me as a volunteer with Make A Wish. Knowing that I've been able to make a child's dream come true. Knowing that for one week this beautiful child is able to enjoy a week free of doctors, needles, treatment and the knowledge of their sickness brings joy to my life! I must also add that the Washington/Alaska office is one of the most caring well orginiazed group I have ever worked with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been volunteering for this foundation for almost 3 years. I have worked on 5 wishes and participated in several fund-raising events. I truly believe in the power of a wish and have personally witnessed the joy it can bring to a child who is enduring challenging times. I believe getting a child excited about a wish can distract from unpleasant treatments, bring a child and his or her family joy during a difficult time and even help a child to recover with new hope and inspiration for the future. The staff is very warm and helpful and I hope to continue volunteering for Make-A-Wish for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Make A Wish foundation for nearly 10 years. Wish Granting is my true passion in life, I just love it! There is nothing that compares to granting a child's heartfelt wish. The wish affects everyone involved in so many ways. The foundation is full of amazingly supportive staff that are so friendly and energetic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been a Wish Granting volunteer for the Make-A-Wish Foundation for almost a year and it has been the most fulfilling "job" I have ever had. Working with the families, staff and fellow volunteers has been an amazing experience. Everyone is so helpful and kind, we all just want to help wish children and their families in any way we can. Each wish child is so special and unique, you feel so fortunate to have met them and to hear their story. Working as a Wish Granting volunteer is so easy, fun and fulfilling - I can't imagine a better volunteer experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Volunteering for Make-A-Wish has been one of the greatest experiences of my life, it is such an amazing opportunity to put a smile on a child's face and bring what joy I can to their lives. MAW does everything they can for the kids and their families and being a part of such a wonderful organization is simply an honor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Make-A-Wish for over 5 years and can honestly not think of a better way to devote my free time!! The people I have worked with and the families I have been blessed to meet along the way have really had a strong impact on me, and have taught me things I will carry for the rest of my life. I absolutely love being a part of this amazing foundation :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Meet with a wish child in person and begin dreaming and imagining what their one most heartfelt wish may be. Volunteer