Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.936175
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 12, 2013

This is the real thing!!! It is a a grassroots organization committed to educating children and improving on the society that they live in. I had the pleasure of volunteering at the orphanage in Tanza... more

August 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have traveled around the world and visiting the orphanage in Tanzania was by far my best travel experience ever. Make A Difference and Theresa are the real thing! The organization supports 22 children with nutrition, excellent education, life skills and hope for the future. Furthermore, the organization focuses on sustainable when making connecting with the local community. I volunteered there for a week and we now have a fundraising for the orphanage every year in Phoenix as well as sponsoring one of the children.
September 12, 2013

This is the real thing!!! It is a a grassroots organization committed to educating children and improving on the society that they live in. I had the pleasure of volunteering at the orphanage in Tanzania. It was the most incredible experience to see someone so dedicated to 22 children. This is about making a difference and doing it in a sustainable way. It is about improving the lives of not just the 22 children but their family members and villages!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The director needs a full time assistant in the office!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

We have clients who want to give back to the local community when they are traveling. We always have them volunteer with Make A Difference because they really do help people, and it is a great experi... more

August 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What I like best about Make A Difference is that they really do what they promise. The program is also unique in that it has helped one group of kids throughout their school years so that no one gets lost along the way. MAD has kept their program manageable to ensure all the kids make it through school.
November 28, 2012

We have clients who want to give back to the local community when they are traveling. We always have them volunteer with Make A Difference because they really do help people, and it is a great experience for the volunteer as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2013

I first discovered MAD in August 2012 on a trip through Western Washington University. In 4 short days those kids stole my heart. A year later I light up just talking about them. They are the happiest... more

June 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of MAD in August 2012 when I volunteered for a week with my university. Before I left, I was trying to change my flight to Cape Town to stay with MAD for that week instead! Needless to say, I had instantly fallen in love with the organization. I finished up my undergraduate & stayed home for the holidays, before returning to Tanzania for 3 months. My three months here is almost up and I couldn't have imagined a better experience. I genuinely felt like I was contributing to the organization. Even after getting an inside look at the organization, I still believe that it is run by incredible, talented individuals, and that everyone who comes in contact with MAD is deeply touched by the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2013

I first discovered MAD in August 2012 on a trip through Western Washington University. In 4 short days those kids stole my heart. A year later I light up just talking about them. They are the happiest people I have ever met, and it is all because of MAD. These kids go to the best school in the area and are brilliant, dedicated students. MAD provides food and shelter for them, but the most important thing they give these kids is love. Everyone working there would do anything for them. I will be going back to Tanzania February 2014 to work at Make A Difference for 6 months and can't wait to see everyone again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Make A Difference has a unique and powerful focus on educating orphans as they provide support to develop them into leaders. I appreciate that they not only provide quality education but also care for the children holistically. This was apparent as I visited Tanzania earlier this year. They not only educate but provide housing, food, clothing, health care, enriching experiences outside of school, and the love and support that have resulted in children who are smart, polite, healthy, happy, and an absolute joy to be with. A focus on finding ways to support the larger community also inspired me. It may be by the children volunteering to help others, planting trees at one of the primary schools, or helping to build a community library that both the children and others can benefit from. So impressed with this non-profit I'm volunteering again next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Every interaction I have had with Theresa Grant and Make a Difference has been very positive. We met several of the older children in March and we are so impressed with the quality of their education and their many attributes. They are ambitious, loving, polite, conscientious and personable. I believe Theresa is caring for and educating some of tomorrows leaders in Tanzania.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Make a Difference is unique in helping Tanzanian orphans in that the organization puts emphasis on education. By educating the children at the best local schools, Make a Difference prepares the students for further education at the best learning institutions in the country, thus preparing them for leadership positions in the country and beyond.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Make a Difference (MAD) is filled with loving, amazing volunteers and people who are servants at heart. This organization has made an incredible difference in so many lives, not only in the lives of the children and families that are touched, but in the lives of the volunteers and donors as well. When I see pictures of the children with smiles on their faces, I wish I could be there to embrace them. It is so beautiful to see the work and love, generosity, experience, willingness, giving, sharing and joy expressed throughout the organization. Due to health reasons, I am not able to volunteer, but if I could, I would. Make a Difference continues to do great work in Africa and India, and are appreciated by so many people, including me, around the world. So thankful for this organization, their leader is amazing and it ROCKS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 12, 2012

One of my all time favorite organizations, MAD is stellar not only in the work they do, but in the management and business skills of staff. I am very particular where I put donations of time, money o... more

September 15, 2013

My heart is so filled with joy, whenever I interact with Make a Difference! Follow through is impeccable, and the work is THE WORK. I know my donations get used to make good things happen, and i can easily see the results. I am always kept in communication. One of my ALL TIME favorite orgs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2012

One of my all time favorite organizations, MAD is stellar not only in the work they do, but in the management and business skills of staff. I am very particular where I put donations of time, money or goods. I will always support the wonderful work of this organization and they hold a very special place in my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I had an amazing time as a volunteer with MAD. The professionalism of the way the volunteer experience had been planned and co ordinated was superb, the children being supported through the charity are a superb example of the results that the love and education have produced.

The MAD team
are a super representation of the founder, Theresa, and her passion for the education of the children and the support they are receiving shines through every member of her carefully selected team.

I enjoyed every minute and found the experience life changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing , just raise the profile in the UK

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found MAD quite by accident when I accompanied a friend on a volunteer mission to Tanzania in 2010. I met Theresa, the founder, spent time with the children at the orphanage and visited with the teachers at their school. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. The caring and loving atmosphere enables the children to thrive. The value of a good education is instilled in them and they are eager to learn. I have since then been sponsoring a child and supporting MAD through donations. I am getting ready for my next trip to Tanzania in a few weeks and am looking forward to do some more work with all the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us with administration and marketing