Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I’ve worked with Mainstream Media many times. I have worked and directed nonprofits working on political reform issues, and MMP lined up numerous radio interviews for me. The staff really is extraordinary, friendly, and providing a valuable service. Many nonprofits don't have the resources to have a media relations department, so MMP provides a unique and valuable service by in effect acting as your media relations department. And they are good and effective at what they do.

I look forward to working with them again. Long may they run!

Steven Hill
www.Steven-Hill.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them and make 50 more!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

wow - our small community based organization, Black Women for Wellness, received international recognition and a donation through a interview set up by Mainstream Media! we had no idea of the reach or the importance of working with MMP until we began the work. Our media hits, our interviews, our name and reputation have grown through this partnership, so writing a review is a pleasure. MMP especially Ralph calls both before and after a scheduled media event, preparing us with as much information before and evaluating our experience after, so important for all stakeholders to give/get feedback that helps us all grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the staff to work with more non profits on limited budgets

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I’ve worked with Mainstream Media for many years. I’ve participated in numerous campaigns on nuclear weapons and conventional weapons; they've set up scores of radio interviews for me. The staff is extraordinary. They’re persistent, creative, and effective.

Mainstream has a network of
relationships with widely varied media outlets across the United States. When you work with Mainstream, you’re not just talking to people who already agree with you. Mainstream works to make sure its experts are being heard on truly mainstream stations. We get to talk with listeners who aren’t used to hearing our perspectives. Mainstream often books half- and hour-long shows, where we get to hear peoples’ questions and address their concerns. We can make a difference in a way we can’t in a 10 second soundbite on NPR, much as I appreciate NPR!

During the July 2012 Arms Trade Treaty negotiating conference, I worked closely with the Mainstream staff. I didn’t have the resources to set up media interviews during the negotiations, but they did. They set up numerous interviews for me, and they would have done more had my schedule permitted. They gave me access to media markets I would never have been able to reach on my own, and they helped increase attention to this critical issue.

I value my continuing relationship with MMP, and look forward to working with them again in the near future. They’re a terrific resource for our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more secure funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

It has been delightful to work with the Mainstream Media Project as a partner in immigration reform. MMP does an outstanding job of placing spokespeople on radio shows across the country and provide practical training and support. The staff at MMP is responsive and reliable. Campaign for Affordable Accountable Moral and Balanced Immigration Overhaul (CAMBIO) is looking forward to ongoing work together.

Crystal Plati,
CAMBIO Campaign Manager

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

In terms of impact relative to budget, I know of few groups that do better than the Mainstream Media Project. They get voices that need to be heard on the most pressing issues of the day badly-needed exposure and, as a result, they are having a real impact in public opinion and policy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I love the folks at Main Stream Media. Over the years, our team has gotten to work with them on a variety of releases and the media they generate for us is strategic, well-placed, and effective in getting the fullness of our work out to constituents across the nation. Very practically, the Main Stream Media folks prep our team at National Priorities Project so thoroughly that we deliver excellent interviews. We could not do this work with out them -- and neither could our media counter parts -- which is why so many journalists tell me they love working with Main Stream!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have worked with Mainstream Media to train and provide communications technical assistance to low-capacity organizations for the past few years. Mainstream Media has always provided expert advice and top-notch training and assistance to groups that need their support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have worked with the Mainstream Media Project for over a decade, first as a funder and then as a client and partner. MMP has been absolutely crucial to our efforts to frame the debate around social justice issues. They are professional, a pleasure to work with, and just plain fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get them more money for infrastructure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

MMP has broad and deep contacts in mainstream and specialized media outlets. We have worked with them for several years on Hispanic media outreach in particular, and they know the market and work very hard.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I was once discussing the dearth of subject matter expertise in the regular news--and complaining about the deafening sound of talking points, antagonism and generic spin that constitutes the majority of what's on the airwaves...A good friend of mine who has had great success in television retorted "what you nuclear war experts need are producers, bookers and agents. In Hollywood, I'll take a good booker over a beautiful face anyday." Well, Mainstream Media Project does exactly this set of tasks. It doggedly pursues the vital but unseen work of getting experts on the air and building the trusted relationships with local gatekeepers that make it possible--MM is unique and punches far above its weight by finding timely expertise and matching it to audiences. The public desperately needs more of this kind of discussion--a chance to hear those who can describe the complex "big picture" challenges facing our nation--and what we can do about it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand into social media pronto! Also perhaps seek a way to break into the big national content distributors--if that is even possible...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers