Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.814825
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I participated in Tri for a Cure, a wonderfully run fund raiser with adequate information provided as to where and what the donations would be used for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I was part of a 3 person relay team. I have to say that everything was wonderful. The race was seamless and felt like it was one of the top races I have participated in.

As a relay team member, I felt as though the relays were somewhat of an "afterthought" - the signs for where the relay
members needed to transition were lacking and many volunteers didn't know much about where things were in relation to the relay team. The transition at the swim was a bit difficult since there were so many people, and the relays were at the far end making the transition harder. The place where we met our runner and joined in at the finish was poorly marked.

These things are minor and did not impact our overall performance, just would help to make things a little easier next time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow relay team members to pick up team packets instead of having everyone go down there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

The Maine Cancer Foundation's support has been instrumental to our organization, Hopsice of Southern Maine, in allowing us to provide direct assistance to cancer patients at the end of life, as well as to the family members of cancer patients. We are impressed by the Foundation's strong commitment to providing services to people living with cancer, and by the ease we've experienced in working with MCF through the grant application process. Our organization is very grateful to the Maine Cancer Foundation an d its donors and supporters for helping us to provide compassion, care and comfort to cancer patients. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We have recently conducted a colorectal cancer screening program with farmworkers in Maine with grant funding from MCF. Their staff has been extremely helpful, providing us with free educational materials specific to our population, informing us about networking opportunities with other providers working on CR Cancer, and checking in regularly to hear about our successes and challenges. They have offered insightful suggestions and information in order to help us improve our screening activities on several occasions. I appreciate both their flexibility, patience, and support for our screening program during its first year of implementation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding opportunities for community health centers to conduct prevention screening and education around prostrate and cervical cancer.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Maine Cancer Foundation is such a great organization. I have worked with them in the past to plant tulips for breat cancer awareness, as well as participated in the Tri for a Cure and Twilight 5k. All events were run with both professionalism and compassion, and I have always found any member of the team or staff to be a delight.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money to do great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The current reality is that everyone is affected by cancer. Everyone knows a close friend or family member who has received this tragic diagnosis. Maine Cancer Foundation is working to ensure our future reality is dramatically different by funding innovative research aimed at eradicating cancer. I fully support their efforts since I know they are having an immediate impact and will have a tremendous world changing long-term impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The Maine Cancer Foundation, it's Staff and Board of Directors, have been some of the most open-minded, clear thinking folks I have had the pleasure of working with over the past several years. Their willingness to learn about the details of the transportation services our Volunteer Drivers provide to allow people to access cancer care, has been truly energizing. Rather than being wedded to one perspective, they have been interested in supporting the program we have operated, and have offered to work collaboratively as we face new challenges with other funding streams.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

In time of dwindling research funding support from the government, Maine Cancer Foundation plays an important role in supporting cutting-edge cancer research in Maine. The foundation's continual involvement in cancer research lays a strong platform for the development of better cancer therapies and brings enormous hope to cancer patients around the globe.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

We are all touched by Cancer, I have always wanted to participate in a physical event to support a good cause. So when I requested a slot in the TRI FOR A CURE, I was thrilled. It truly was a life changing experience, and I am more then ever aware of how blessed we are here in Maine to have such a great medical facility and staff, as well as a wonderfully strong Maine Cancer Foundation, whom are the helpful folks to support our amazing Medical facilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2013

Maine Cancer Foundation, what are they all about? Leader in the Cancer Community, financial support for Cancer patients, Researchers, Oncology professionals and community Cancer Awareness. These efforts are supported through the many generous donations and impressive Fund Raising efforts. Thank you Maine Cancer Foundation you're on the top of my list for Non profits!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers