Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12.09091345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have read 2 horrible stories where adopted beloved pets -- Flash the beagle, and Foxy lady pomeranian, got out and on technicalities the rescue refused to return beloved pets to their owners. This is monstrous. It is hitting everywhere with warning "don't go to Main Line" to adopt. This is very stressful to the owners, but especially to pets. Do they have any idea how many domestic pets end up in abusive situations and killed SOO when a pet ends up in a loving home, don't take the pets away from them.
April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have become aware of several instances in which the Director of this organization has refused to return pets to loving homes from which they were lost, more for his own ego reasons than for anything wrong with the homes. Most recently, he has refused to return Flash to his loving home of two years, simply because he was angry because Flash's family called the police and the SPCA before they called him. I understand that this is not an isolated case, and that others have had to resort to hiring attorneys in order to have their pets released by this egomaniac.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have the director removed, and have a more humane and compassionate individual appointed by the board of directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

In all honesty i have had no dealings with the Main Line Rescue. I do not generally get involved in issues. I am however a long time animal lover. I have read stories all over the web also, I read postings from Bill Smith and Flashes family. Bill Smith really seems to have an ego that gets in the way of fairness or logic. The family did not immediately call him to notify him the dog was gone. It has been 2 years since they adopted Flash. If my dog ran away my first thought would not be to call Bill Smith especially after all that time elapsed. If this is supposed to be a rescue, why is Bill Smith not complaining about the dogs lack of care, any appearance of mistreatment or any other issue to show the doc was not cared for and loved. Why after reading both sides from both parties does his biggest issue seem to be that they didn't call him immediately?

Please keep in mind my rating is based solely on the interchanges between Bill Smith and the family of Flash.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Either eject Bill Smith and put in someone without a personal agenda or get him some serious help to recognize what his job really is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer with another rescue, I fail to understand how MLAR can withhold any pet from a devoted family trying to reclaim a beloved animal. I know one of the owners who has been wronged by MLAR. It is tremendously sad not just for them, but also for the pet to be uprooted from a family, with no cause, no sign of neglect or abuse, just the misfortune of getting lost and unfortunately found and returned to MLAR. As I work with rescue dogs, I see the confusion manifest in the behavior and moods of the displaced animals. I cannot believe that MLAR would in good conscience prolong this state for any dog, especially one with a good home yearning for that dog's return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could have MLAR spend some time with a rescue that deals with dogs who suffer real abuse and neglect, and spend time with dogs in need of real rehabilitation, I believe that they would experience an awakening of new compassion in their work, and an appreciation that dogs can sometimes be a challenge to humans having any level of experience with animals. Some animals are inclined to be "escape artists" even when the owners are dedicated and loving, amateur or professional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

please see the sad story of Flash the Beagle. Unacceptable behavior from this rescue. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Send-Flash-Home/266111676892218. They are keeping Flash from his family and are doing everything they can to bury this, since they've removed all comments and reviews from their Facebook page.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2012
20 people found this review helpful

Bill Smith, Director of MLAR, is taking advantage of the elderly with dementia. He preys on wealthy elderly people to get millions of dollars in donations for MLAR. The best part about Bill Smith is that he NEVER allows animals to be adopted. I would like to know how many animals get adopted per year? He can afford to hoard the animals by scamming the wealthy elderly. Can anyone identify with the complaint?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2012
27 people found this review helpful

We were initially very impressed by the Main Line Animal Rescue facility when we arrived for our scheduled appointment. Because we currently have a large 4-year-old Rotty, we expected some scrutiny regarding the selection of a second dog. The volunteer we worked with was very nice, and guided us through the facility to identify dogs who might do well in our situation. After significant discussion, several candidates were brought to the meeting pen and introduced to our family including our Rotty. One in particular impressed us all, and both ot the introduction volunteers said the meeting went very well. After the potential adoptee was taken out, Bill Smith came by. He seemed quite suspicious of us, but indicated that a home visit would be scheduled to check our fence. We were told that a "soft-hold" would be placed on the dog we'd met. By this point we'd all begun to fall in love with the animal we felt sure would be joining our family, and went home in a great mood. After looking at some reviews of the rescue online detailing their reluctance to adopt animals out, we began to worry a bit. Our fears were then confirmed about 24 hours later when we received an email form letter indicating that our application had been rejected. The message indicated that the reason for the "committee" decision would not be detailed or explained.

My opinion is that the management "committee" is more interested in publicity than in adopting animals into loving homes. I'd recommend that families who are trying to find that special addition look elsewhere rather than having their hopes dashed in the form of an impersonal and inexplicable email.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that they actually adopt pets, and in cases where applicants are truly not suitable, explain why.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I have adopted many dogs and cats from MLAR and am in awe of the work they do on behalf of the animals. Although their interview process can be rigorous, it reflects MLAR’s commitment for the welfare of the animals. I applaud MLAR and their staff for their hard work and dedication.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers