Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12.17647345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

In all honesty i have had no dealings with the Main Line Rescue. I do not generally get involved in issues. I am however a long time animal lover. I have read stories all over the web also, I read postings from Bill Smith and Flashes family. Bill Smith really seems to have an ego that gets in the way of fairness or logic. The family did not immediately call him to notify him the dog was gone. It has been 2 years since they adopted Flash. If my dog ran away my first thought would not be to call Bill Smith especially after all that time elapsed. If this is supposed to be a rescue, why is Bill Smith not complaining about the dogs lack of care, any appearance of mistreatment or any other issue to show the doc was not cared for and loved. Why after reading both sides from both parties does his biggest issue seem to be that they didn't call him immediately?

Please keep in mind my rating is based solely on the interchanges between Bill Smith and the family of Flash.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Either eject Bill Smith and put in someone without a personal agenda or get him some serious help to recognize what his job really is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer with another rescue, I fail to understand how MLAR can withhold any pet from a devoted family trying to reclaim a beloved animal. I know one of the owners who has been wronged by MLAR. It is tremendously sad not just for them, but also for the pet to be uprooted from a family, with no cause, no sign of neglect or abuse, just the misfortune of getting lost and unfortunately found and returned to MLAR. As I work with rescue dogs, I see the confusion manifest in the behavior and moods of the displaced animals. I cannot believe that MLAR would in good conscience prolong this state for any dog, especially one with a good home yearning for that dog's return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could have MLAR spend some time with a rescue that deals with dogs who suffer real abuse and neglect, and spend time with dogs in need of real rehabilitation, I believe that they would experience an awakening of new compassion in their work, and an appreciation that dogs can sometimes be a challenge to humans having any level of experience with animals. Some animals are inclined to be "escape artists" even when the owners are dedicated and loving, amateur or professional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

MLAR is as corrupt as our own government. MLAR or aka Bill Smith, their leader, needs medical attention not media attention.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have on staff a professional Phsycologists

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

please see the sad story of Flash the Beagle. Unacceptable behavior from this rescue. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Send-Flash-Home/266111676892218. They are keeping Flash from his family and are doing everything they can to bury this, since they've removed all comments and reviews from their Facebook page.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

We adopted a dog from them in 2013, and everything was fine. Our dog got out of our house and ran away upsetting me and my family very much. We looked for the dog for two days and called the Police and SPCA but no one had found him. We got a call from BILL SMITH at MLAR telling us they had found my dog and they were not giving it back to us because he felt that we "did not care about the dog and he was better without us" How Dare he kidnap our dog that we have cared for, and treated like a member of my family. We have regularly taken him to the Vet and cared for him very well. This organization is DISGUSTING and I would warn anyone thinking of adopting a dog from them as they think they own your dog forever and you just rent them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire BILL SMITH

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

Our family had previously adopted two dogs from rescues prior to adopting a third from MLAR. As with our two previous rescues, a greyhound and black lab, our experience with those two organizations was outstanding to which when we rescued Max from MLAR, our expectations and experience were exceeded far beyond fantastic! Max was well cared for while at the facility and their commitment to match volunteers with the right animals, you can see how dogs begin to develop trust for their handlers/parents when they are rescued/adopted. We were allowed to have our Black Lab "visit" with Max to see how they might react to each other. I truly believe that because of that experience, that Sam and Max developed a "friendship" that to this day is fun to watch as the two are always interacting and playing and solidifying their relationship as brothers and members of our family.

Having observed the work the staff and volunteers do in the care for these dogs and the commitment to giving them a happy, safe, and playful environment is a tribute to their unyielding commitment to their mission of rescuing animals of all kinds with the goal of giving them a chance to be in the "right" home for their personality, dogs active lifestyle level, and overall living environment allowing the dogs to be a part of a family that will love and care for them as one of their own. It's not as simple to just pick a dog and say it's great, these people know how to observe and identify the right situation that will place the dog with the right family at the right time so everyone is happy, especially the animal.

I for one highly recommend MLAR as a great place to consider as a donor, volunteer, and place to adopt a wonderfully cared for pet that can be a tremendous member of a loving family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change in their commitment to placing animals in the best possible environment that fits the pet to the right home regardless of how hard it may be to say no if it is not a great fit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I got a letter without explanation after 16 days of waiting saying we were very nice but they couldn`t help us. Very unprofessional. seems to be a crap shoot!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn`t have gone there. So many dogs :(

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at Main Line Rescue until recently. It is very sad how the volunteers are nicer than the staff that is getting paid to do their job. The are extremely rude and think they are better than the volunteers. I volunteered at least twice a week using my own gas and time, and they can't treat me with some respect. I feel bad because I love the animals I met there so much, but I had to stop due to how rude the staff is. Also when you try to confront a problem with them they don't answer your emails and ignore you. Also they have the stupid color system which mean only blue people can take the dogs with a blue dot on their tag out. Once you complete 10 hours you go to orange, and you have to be "selected" to be green. Green is the top ranking and you can take all the dogs out. I don't agree with that because it is just a popularity scheme. I have seen "green people" be mean to dogs, not take them out of the kennel properly and even have the dog escape from them outside. By doing the color system they are just giving ranking orders and making the green feel inferior. Also their adoption rules are way to strict. Just because you don't have a fence does not mean your not a good dog owner. I don't have a fence and my dog is one of the happiest most loved dogs I know. It seems that they don't want these dogs to find a good home. They talk about how good they are about finding the perfect home, but i have seen several dogs come back after getting adopted. I am very disappointed in Main Line Rescue. I feel it is more about the people and the rescue getting noticed, than the actual dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

My husband and I have adopted two dogs from Main Line. One was a very scared puppy mill dog. We have gotten incredible support from everyone at Main Line to help our little girl and us be successful in dealing with a puppy mill dog. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff and Bill Smith. Yes, we had a fence check. Yes, we had our vet references checked. Yes, our other dogs came to Main Line to see if all would get along. I personally feel good that such scrutiny occurred. The bottom line is they want the best possible placement and fit for the dogs. For those that are critical or negative have lost this very important factor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

Bill Smith, Director of MLAR, is taking advantage of the elderly with dementia. He preys on wealthy elderly people to get millions of dollars in donations for MLAR. The best part about Bill Smith is that he NEVER allows animals to be adopted. I would like to know how many animals get adopted per year? He can afford to hoard the animals by scamming the wealthy elderly. Can anyone identify with the complaint?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers