Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12.04348345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

This organization puts the ego and interests of its director ahead of the animals it services. An ethical animal rescue organization places an animal with the first qualified family that completes an application. In our case, we expressed interest in a puppy on the 15th of September and completed an application and were told we were one of three applicants. We were subsequently told the other applications had been rejected and we would be informed on the 25th of September. We were then told that "it had to wait for a fund raiser", After the fund raiser we were told another we had to wait while another application was completed. Subsequently we were told we would not get the puppy but were qualified for future adoptions. Clearly the executive director put the interests of fund raising and his own ego ahead of placing the dog into the first qualified home. A scan of any other reviews of this organization shows a clear pattern of outrageous and arbitrary selectivity, at the expense of the placement of the animals into qualified, loving forever homes. I would put zero starts but that is not an option.
July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

My I experience with MLAR has always been very positive! I have adopted 4 of my best friends there. I admit they are strict with their requirements, but I feel that is because they love animals and because of their process, they do not have their "charges" coming back. They need to make sure every potential adopter is going to take great care of their adopted pet.
Their facilities are awesome. They are a No Kill shelter and will keep an animal forever if they are not adopted. I think Bill Smith and his associates are doing a wonderful job. I am sorry everyone has not had a positive experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow pet adoptions out of their immediate area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Having worked in rescuing and searching for lost dogs for the past several years, I have had occasion to hear horror stories about this facility.

On the surface, Main Line Animal Rescue appears to be a responsible non-profit, but there appears to be much hypocrisy in upper management.
The "contract" adoptive parents have to sign requires that the dog remains the property of Main Line! Caveat emptor!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I donated $850 at a silent auction, never received a thank you or an invite back to future fund raising events, and I was a volunteer. I was new to the area and have always been a animal lover and promoter of No-KILL animal shelters. I have learned that this is a KILL shelter and B.S. is the ring leader with full support of B. Please stay away and do not support this KILL shelter. They will never admit it to you and give you some BS stat that if you don't KILL more than 10% of the population you technically are not a KILL shelter. If that makes you feel good about where your money goes you need help. I have seen animals with no appointments scheduled disappear within 24 hours. I was told it went to B.S. house. He must have hundreds of Dogs at his house. Maybe he is a hoarder. It is too bad the mainliners don't investigate this person prior to dumping money in his lap all for the sake of a tax write off. For the life of the unspoken for dogs please find other options to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace BS immediately and anyone that deemed a supporter of his.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have read 2 horrible stories where adopted beloved pets -- Flash the beagle, and Foxy lady pomeranian, got out and on technicalities the rescue refused to return beloved pets to their owners. This is monstrous. It is hitting everywhere with warning "don't go to Main Line" to adopt. This is very stressful to the owners, but especially to pets. Do they have any idea how many domestic pets end up in abusive situations and killed SOO when a pet ends up in a loving home, don't take the pets away from them.
April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have become aware of several instances in which the Director of this organization has refused to return pets to loving homes from which they were lost, more for his own ego reasons than for anything wrong with the homes. Most recently, he has refused to return Flash to his loving home of two years, simply because he was angry because Flash's family called the police and the SPCA before they called him. I understand that this is not an isolated case, and that others have had to resort to hiring attorneys in order to have their pets released by this egomaniac.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have the director removed, and have a more humane and compassionate individual appointed by the board of directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

In all honesty i have had no dealings with the Main Line Rescue. I do not generally get involved in issues. I am however a long time animal lover. I have read stories all over the web also, I read postings from Bill Smith and Flashes family. Bill Smith really seems to have an ego that gets in the way of fairness or logic. The family did not immediately call him to notify him the dog was gone. It has been 2 years since they adopted Flash. If my dog ran away my first thought would not be to call Bill Smith especially after all that time elapsed. If this is supposed to be a rescue, why is Bill Smith not complaining about the dogs lack of care, any appearance of mistreatment or any other issue to show the doc was not cared for and loved. Why after reading both sides from both parties does his biggest issue seem to be that they didn't call him immediately?

Please keep in mind my rating is based solely on the interchanges between Bill Smith and the family of Flash.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Either eject Bill Smith and put in someone without a personal agenda or get him some serious help to recognize what his job really is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer with another rescue, I fail to understand how MLAR can withhold any pet from a devoted family trying to reclaim a beloved animal. I know one of the owners who has been wronged by MLAR. It is tremendously sad not just for them, but also for the pet to be uprooted from a family, with no cause, no sign of neglect or abuse, just the misfortune of getting lost and unfortunately found and returned to MLAR. As I work with rescue dogs, I see the confusion manifest in the behavior and moods of the displaced animals. I cannot believe that MLAR would in good conscience prolong this state for any dog, especially one with a good home yearning for that dog's return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could have MLAR spend some time with a rescue that deals with dogs who suffer real abuse and neglect, and spend time with dogs in need of real rehabilitation, I believe that they would experience an awakening of new compassion in their work, and an appreciation that dogs can sometimes be a challenge to humans having any level of experience with animals. Some animals are inclined to be "escape artists" even when the owners are dedicated and loving, amateur or professional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

MLAR is as corrupt as our own government. MLAR or aka Bill Smith, their leader, needs medical attention not media attention.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have on staff a professional Phsycologists

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

please see the sad story of Flash the Beagle. Unacceptable behavior from this rescue. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Send-Flash-Home/266111676892218. They are keeping Flash from his family and are doing everything they can to bury this, since they've removed all comments and reviews from their Facebook page.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers