Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been volunteering at Maggie's Place for 8 years now. I cannot even begin to describe how wonderful the house is but I'll try. I have seen many young moms come in, some from bad relationships, some from prison, and some who just have no where to go. During their stay at Maggie's Place the moms often change a lot for the better. Their hearts soften and they become more aware of the mother they want to be. They get their priorities in line, while either working or going to school. They start saving money and often they start to mend the relationships they need to, so they can grow in healthy ways. With a safe place to shelter them, they can focus on goals they set for themselves and so often can meet. It's not just a hand out a Maggie's Place. The moms are expected to have everything ready in line for baby to come. When they leave the house, they are well equipped for motherhood and being able to live on their own. What a huge blessing this house is to the moms and to the babies they carry. It's a great place to get a second chance and a chance to make something out of yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word and open many more homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of Maggie's Place. This organization meets a great societal need in a very concrete way, providing a home, material goods, and a family life for expectant mothers who are alone or living on the streets. Women who move there find a safe, loving, and nurturing environment in which to bring their children into the world. Volunteers are used for so many purposes and truly make the work of Maggie's Place possible. Volunteers can have a tremendous impact on the lives of the moms and babies there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

When I moved back to my hometown to be near my grandchildren, I wanted to volunteer at a place that I felt passionate about. It had to concern animals, babies or books!
Maggie's place fit the bill. I have worked in the office, helped w/ a fundraiser-but my favorite volunteer activity was to
bring babies to my own home while their mothers worked. That way I could read to them and share my dogs. All my favorite things!
I admire the moms who have chosen the gift of LIFE for their babies. God bless them !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for the Cleveland, Ohio location to open a thrift store! My friend and I would gladly volunteer to get it going !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have volunteered at Maggies Place for the past 2 years.The organization of all areas is great. The staff are all very dedicated to their jobs and yet there is always a sense of family, they enjoy what they are doing and have fun together along with the moms and babies. By being at Maggies place the moms have what I call having a second chance at seeing what goodness can come out what they might have thought of as an impossible situation. They are given many things at Maggies Place , schooling opportunities, organizational skills, learning to keep commitments, counselling ,but most important learning responsibility. Carol M

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Maggie's place is good place for women to go and have some peace of mind. To have there kids and to be able to grow. The staff is great every staff member brings something different to the table to help the girl's. I am proud to say that I'm a volunteer there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way it help's the girl's and baby's change there life's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, only if I could help in more way's

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing . I try to get there every day because I see miracles every time I go there!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

yes , they are family to me. Maggie's place has help me in way's they will never know!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Good , felt I help girl's at the house.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

There isn't much more that I can say about MaggiesPlace that hasn't already been said. Only that I love the staff, mothers , babies and fellow volunteers, that I have been privileged to have met there in the past almost 3 years and still today. A truly blessed atmosphere for everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have been at Maggies Place The Zechariah House, for 3 years this August. I have found this to be a most worthy ministry. The staff is always available, kind and willing to be of help, they truly are family. I personally feel blessed to be a part of Maggies Place as a way to give back for the help I received as an unwed mother at age 16. The environment is one of respect, prayer , and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have known about Maggie’s Place since before it opened. These good people have turned literally hundreds of lives around; offering pregnant women an alternative to living on the streets, giving them shelter, food, and guidance in the spirit of Christian charity, helping them out of abusive relationships by giving them self-respect, helping them finish their education and/or obtain a job, enabling them to take care of themselves and be good, nurturing moms. My wife and I volunteered there when we lived in Phoenix and now happily send them money, which I know will be used effectively.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Maggie's Place is a home for pregnant women, new moms and newborns in need. A spirit of love and self-sacrifice governs the place, due to the generosity of spirit of the staff members (primarily full time volunteers who live in community with the clients they serve). Maggie's Place is one of the few organizations that we are willing to support financially; thanks to their strong fiscal responsibility and low administrative costs, we know that any financial support we can lend goes directly to those most vulnerable and most in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Where would I be without the help I received from Maggie's place? It a scary thought, I am sure I would not be where I am today. Before Maggie's place I was very afraid, alone and lost I had no plan and had no idea what to do or how I would become a mother. After all this was my first child and I had absolutely no support from the father, I needed a community of loving support to make it though an very uncertain time in my life. If I did not have the enormous support I got from Maggie's Place I would not have just recently graduated from college on June 16th 2012, the same year my son was born. Everyone told me I would not finish school, but thanks to the wonderful women of Maggie's Place who gave me the time, love and courage I needed to help me to finish my goals. I was able to save a big chunk of money while I lived there which helped me to become independent and get an apartment of my own. I now work full time and I am still continuing my education. I learn many life skills in the weekly classes held at the house such as budgeting, cooking, and baby care. I learned a lot about myself though the counselor that came to the house each week. For example, I learned how the recognize a healthy relationship, the abuse cycle and how the know if you are in one, but most importantly I learned how to respect myself and my feelings as well as how to get along with others. I received all the baby supplies I needed, including a crib and all the clothes I will need till he is one year old. Thanks to Maggie's place I have become the best mother I could every be!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Prepare a meal, plan a presentation to the moms, help with Work Saturday, do small "fix-it" projects, throw a baby shower. Volunteer