Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Dennis was fired from the food bank after an audit came back shortly after all of this was written. He went to open the doors and found the board of directors locked him out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 17, 2011

more

June 17, 2011

I was told by one of my staff that Jack said he would sue Since I did not take the call and Jack states he did not say that I believe him and am sorry for that statement. But I stand by the statement that I did what I thought was right for his mothers safety. I have made it clear to Jack that his mother could volunteer in other areas just not in the warehouse. I also apologized for the misunderstanding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

June 17, 2011

more

June 17, 2011

His mother volunteered at the food bank and was never hired at all His mother uses a walker and has fallen several times in the warehouse she took a bad fall in the parking lot a few weeks ago. As much as i hated too I had to tell her that the ware was not a safe place for her. I advise her it would be better for her to work at our SNAP program. This program is held at a parking at a local park where there is a flat surface. I had to make that decision for her safety. He told me he was going to sue me because she fell and then told me he was going to sue because I would not let her come back. Our liability insurance would cancel me if I let her come back to the warehouse. I feel sorry for her she only wanted to help our community she would not tell hem she fell until she was so sore she had trouble standing up. He is just looking for someone to sue, I have advised hem to contact our attorney. She is still able to volunteer at the park program just not in the warehouse.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

CEO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For her safty

June 11, 2011

more

June 11, 2011

My mother was a volunteer of the Madera County Food Bank for several years. In the last few years her health has declined but she continued to volunteer for the food bank.

A few months ago while she was walking back to a car to go home, her walker got caught in some broken concrete in the
drive way and she fell.

The executive director of the food bank told her "As long as you are handicap and need your walker, you can no longer work at the food bank",

When I contacted Dennis Darnell (executive director) he denied saying this but did say his insurance would not allow anyone with a walker to work for him. So basically saying the exact same thing.

Be warned about the discrimination the elderly and handicap will face working for this non-profit. If there are any handicap rights attorneys reading this, please contact me.

-----
Follow up since Executive Director posted
---

Dennis I wonder where your imagination will lead you next. Neither I nor my mother has ever threatened to sue you or the food bank. My mother just wants to work and no she does not have a problem standing or working.

There was never a problem with her volunteering until she fell in some broken concrete. You also never offered her any other job. Your exact words were, "As long as you are handicap and need your walker, you can no longer work at the food bank",

And now you are trying to change the story and lie. Wow Dennis. Maybe what we really need to do is look at who works for the food bank for pay. How many of your family members? How many of your family members are on the board? Programs are being cut but aren't you still being paid?

You say you offered her to work at the SNAP program but you aren't doing the SNAP program anymore. You have never bothered to return Mom's or my phone calls. You have not spoken to my mother since the day you fired her. You have not spoken to me since you informed me about your insurance.

Your a liar and I thought you were a better man than that.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization is not doing as much as they used to because of lack of funding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would fire the executive director for his discrimination against the elderly and handicap.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Fire the board and director for discrimination.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers