Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I am very impressed with the organization, which does a great deal with very limited resources and a small but exceptionally dedicated staff in Kenya and at the home office in DC.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

We have always been delighted to support the Maasai Gilrs Education Fund. The organization is very professionally run. We are kept informed, but not overrun by appeals for more funds, etc. The organization has achieved great success in helping girls and the Maasai community. We are pround to have sponored the education of a young woman who is now getting her teach degree so she can go back to her community and contribute.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been involved with MGEF as a donor since it started more than a decade ago, and never has money been better spent. I have met the girls who benefit from MGEF sponsorship, and seen them change from shy, deferential girls into strong, confident, self-empowered young women who believe in themselves. Thanks to MGEF's efforts, Maasai mothers are seeing their daughters respected and admired for their abilities, their independence, their education--for qualities they themselves never believed possible for a woman in their society. Younger sisters and neighbors have role models in the young women MGEF has supported. Even fathers who once refused to speak to daughters who ran away and were sheltered in schools paid for by MGEF are now seeing the benefits of educating their daughters, as their daughters return to their Maasai communities and provide for their families financially in amounts never previously equaled. These same fathers who once were ashamed of their daughters for seeking an education are now commanding their sons to educate their daughters! Because of the Maasai Girls Education Fund's vision and commitment, many, many lives are changing for the better. I will continue to support the MGEF's mission without question, and recommend it to anyone wanting to help make a real difference in the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

The MGEF is a great example of directly empowering "the change (we) wish to see in the world." The young women educated through MGEF will be catalysts for change in their families, communities, and country. It is a privilege to have participated in this work, and I look forward to hearing of the continued efforts and growth of MGEF, and the success of its scholars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I came across MGEF by chance, looking for a sanitary pad charity to support in Africa. Having found their website, and started reading about the girls who needed sponsorship, I immediately knew that I had found a charity which could truly turn my donation into life-changing support for girls. I started off by supporting Nashipae in her final year of university to become a teacher, and also this year have started supporting Janet through school. This charity is run on a very small shoestring. There are no gimmicks. You don't get fancy mailings asking you to send a Christmas card to your chosen student. There are no offices full of marketeers and HR people. It's about as close as you can get to 100% of your money going to the people and the community you are looking to help. Do check out their Facebook page, and the wonderful photos of the MGEF girls. You will, I am sure, have your heart strings tugged by the joy they show at the opportunity they now have to learn. An amazing charity, please support it in whatever way you can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

MGEF is quite simply a model non-profit. It is small, efficient and has a sustainable model involving local people. We have been delighted to be supporters of the organization and to introduce it to others. Supporting students is a life changing, not only for the students, but for their families and villages. This organization is truly a tribute to the vision and drive of their founder, Barbara Shaw.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

MGEF is so amazing. I first learned of them in 2011 when I was asked if my foundation, Reverse The Course, could provide immediate help for a young girl who had been married at age 12. Two years have passed, and we now have funded 5 Maasai girls. I think one of the things that makes Maasai Girls' Education Fund stand out is that they work on several fronts to help the girls in need, and just as importantly, they also do a lot of work building relationships with the village elders. They do not come in and try to impose their values, but they work to help village elders see the community benefit of educating girls. The village elders then play a role in helping families understand the value of sending their daughters' to school. That joint approach helps MGEF to be really successful and gives the girls not just much-needed financial commitment but also community support. - Thanks for all you do! MG, Reverse The Course

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 19, 2010

Over the years we have made donations to various organizations but none have made the positive impact MGEF had made on the lives of Maasai girls and their homeland. Barbara Shaw is outstanding in her... more

November 20, 2012

The MGEF is doing an outstanding job providing an education for girls in the Maasai tribe. We have funded a student for years and it has been an honor to do so. The staff is small, organized and devoted to their task. If you are looking to make a difference, think about funding a MGEF student.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2010

Over the years we have made donations to various organizations but none have made the positive impact MGEF had made on the lives of Maasai girls and their homeland. Barbara Shaw is outstanding in her leadership of MGEF and it is an honor to contribute to her mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We support one Maasai girl's education from grade school through high school. We have watched her grow from a young grade schooler to a lovely young lady in high school. Her education will assist, beyond measure, her life, her family and community.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

This non-profit is awesome for what they do with a minute staff and a limited budget. The work they do truly benefits on an immediate and long term basis the lives of girls and young women of the Maasai people of Kenya. Helping these girls and young women, many of whom are orphans, to gain an education and escape child marriage are the goals of MGEF and one that they pursue with dedication and grace.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

MFEG is an amazing organization. I truly believe that the answer to many of the world's greatest challenges is to educate women. When you educate a girl, you give her the opportunity to make a better life for herself, her family, and her community. As a donor, I know that giving to MGEF is a excellent investment and one that will make a difference in lives of their students.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers