Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Wow !!! , I am so glad that Lydia’s House has opened an office in Largo, Maryland to continue providing the great community services on which their reputation has been built. I know the Sheppard’s personally and have seen them go beyond their own means to make sure that our communities are receiving the care and help that it needs and deserves. I recently witnessed a financial literacy class offered to Veterans and walked away with a spirit of hope and optimism for the men and women that have served our country so well. I hope that the Largo operations will grow into a full service office so that the residence of Prince George’s County can see and feel the experiences that others have had over the past twenty years with Lydia’s House.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am a former Deputy Mayor for Economic Development for Washington DC. I grew up in the very neighborhood Lydia's house services. I was raised by a widowed Mother - who had only an 8th grade education. I have worked with Lydia's House since its inception - helping children doing after school homework, watching them grow into young adults, graduating from High School, going on to college and many graduating. In September 2012, we conducted a pilot program with Ballou Senior High School (March-May) and provided financial education classes after school to 9th and 10th grade girls. This provides an early financial education useful to promoting financial awareness over financial miss-hap. I have seen our people change the patterns of dependency to self-sufficiency.
Lydia's house serves a target population of low to moderate income families and they consistently serve a minimum of 1,000 clients each year.
One story I must relate. I mentored a young 8th grader some years ago in the after school program. He has learning disabilities and some personality challenges. We got him into a very good Charter High School and I worked we worked with him and his school throughout high school. I became close to his parents as did Lydia's House in helping them find housing and employment. He graduated 2 years ago - with honors and is in College. Lydia's House is the best. I will not ever give up being a part of this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Lydia's House is the heart beat of our community. They provide human services to families including childrent. The counselors would go above and beyond take every measure to assist everyone who come into contact with this agency. I have had the great pleasure of working with Lydia's House on many community outreach projects and had the great opportunity to use their services at times. I have and will continue to recommend this agency to anyone in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach computer or other technology skills. Volunteer