Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 11, 2012

Lydia's House is a United Way Organization and a Combined Federal Campaign charity that provides critical support to individuals to increase opportunities for secure housing, access to services and ed... more

May 14, 2013

I Have watched Lydia's House grow from a tiny non-profit serving the most vulnerable population, children many of whom were living in unstable homes. Today, Lydia's House is the only Housing and Urban Development (HUD) approved faith-based counseling agency in Ward 8, Lydia’s House is making it possible for first time home buyers to purchase property in the Washington metropolitan area. As a District funded full-service housing counseling agency, Lydia’s House provides homeless and homeowner counseling, foreclosure prevention and financial literacy. Today, Lydia's House has expanded its work to work with individuals and families who are struggling with foreclosure issues, helping them to navigate the road to successfully remain secure in homeownership

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012

Lydia's House is a United Way Organization and a Combined Federal Campaign charity that provides critical support to individuals to increase opportunities for secure housing, access to services and education to increase their financial management skills. The staff works with clients in an caring fashion. It is an honor to serve Lydia's House. I am humbled by their caring, resourcefulness and efficiency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Wow !!! , I am so glad that Lydia’s House has opened an office in Largo, Maryland to continue providing the great community services on which their reputation has been built. I know the Sheppard’s personally and have seen them go beyond their own means to make sure that our communities are receiving the care and help that it needs and deserves. I recently witnessed a financial literacy class offered to Veterans and walked away with a spirit of hope and optimism for the men and women that have served our country so well. I hope that the Largo operations will grow into a full service office so that the residence of Prince George’s County can see and feel the experiences that others have had over the past twenty years with Lydia’s House.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Have known the Sheppards for 20 plus years. Have had the awesome opportunity to see families grow and benefit not only from the programs Lydias house provides but the mentorship that comes along naturally when investing in a community.

My decision to support Lydias House via Combined
Federal Campaign was an easy one!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Lydia's House has been a crucial part of the our community for years. Pastors Eugene and Patrice Sheppard's tireless dedication and unwavering support to this charity ensures that the people who are so often overlooked receive the support that they need in order to succeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Lydia's House is dedicated to empowering the community it serves. Pastors Eugene and Patrice Sheppard along with the rest of the LH Team are committed to assisting those who reach out for help to better their lives be it through skill development, financial education, or achieving home ownership. As a member of the community, I've seen the direct effect Lydia's House has made on those who may have felt they had no opportunities or a bright future for themselves nor their families. As a former Board member, I recall the passionate conversations on meeting the needs of the community especially as the city changed due to new laws and programs implemented by the previous and current local government which in some respects, seemingly disregarded the residents East of the River. The outlook and approach was/is "leave no citizen behind" and that's what's needed for a group that the city seems just as well to do so.

More feedbackHow would you describe the help you got from this organization?
A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?
Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?
Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?
2012


MY ROLE:
Client Served

Share this review:

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Lydia's House is a United Way Organization and a Combined Federal Campaign charity whic conducts their work with clients in an innovative and caring fashion regardless of the reason clients came by the condition they are in

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Lydia's House is dedicated to empowering the community it serves. Pastors Eugene and Patrice Sheppard along with the rest of the LH Team are committed to assisting those who reach out for help to better their lives be it through skill development, financial education, or achieving home ownership. As a member of the community, I've seen the direct effect Lydia's House has made on those who may have felt they had no opportunities or a bright future for themselves nor their families. As a former Board member, I recall the passionate conversations on meeting the needs of the community especially as the city changed due to new laws and programs implemented by the previous and current local government which in some respects, seemingly disregarded the residents East of the River. The outlook and approach was/is "leave no citizen behind" and that's what's needed for a group that the city seems just as well to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am a former Deputy Mayor for Economic Development for Washington DC. I grew up in the very neighborhood Lydia's house services. I was raised by a widowed Mother - who had only an 8th grade education. I have worked with Lydia's House since its inception - helping children doing after school homework, watching them grow into young adults, graduating from High School, going on to college and many graduating. In September 2012, we conducted a pilot program with Ballou Senior High School (March-May) and provided financial education classes after school to 9th and 10th grade girls. This provides an early financial education useful to promoting financial awareness over financial miss-hap. I have seen our people change the patterns of dependency to self-sufficiency.
Lydia's house serves a target population of low to moderate income families and they consistently serve a minimum of 1,000 clients each year.
One story I must relate. I mentored a young 8th grader some years ago in the after school program. He has learning disabilities and some personality challenges. We got him into a very good Charter High School and I worked we worked with him and his school throughout high school. I became close to his parents as did Lydia's House in helping them find housing and employment. He graduated 2 years ago - with honors and is in College. Lydia's House is the best. I will not ever give up being a part of this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

One of the single most memorable facts I heard repeatedly while working to help revise the Lydia's House 2012-2015 Strategic Plan was the obvious sentiment of the staff who not only are caring people but they genuinely care about the clients who come to Lydia's House. While their focus is to serve low-income residents, each client regardless of the reason for their circumstance, are made to feel as if they are their only client. A staff of three full-time counselors, it is quite an accomplishment to see staff execute this personal and individualized attention for over 1,000 clients served annually.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have personally seen the families achieve homeownership and independent living thru the work of Lydia's House. And for more than one family! It is such a joy to see these individuals achieve a goal that most of them never thought possible. Thank you Lydia's House for all you have done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach computer or other technology skills. Volunteer