Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I currently am the leader of our LWR quilting group at my church. We make quilts for people who have nothing! This charity is by far one of the best organizations I love to contribute to for their many missions. 30 hour famine is one we do each year at our church. We give monetary support to a participant who is going hungry for 30 hours to earn funds to feed children who are dying every minute in third world countries.

Each year at Christmas my family purchases one goat and 2 chickens to help families become self supporting. They can eat the eggs, get milk from the goats and breed the goats for more babies and sell them at the market and also for food. It is a wonderful feeling knowing we are helping them when we have so much here in the USA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am proud to be a contributor through my church to Lutheran World Relief. LWR works in so many countries to improve health care,and education, to provide clean drinking water, to educate farmers to use practices that are more environmentally sound and so much more. They do all of this on three continents, and they do it with minimal administrative costs. In my tiny congregation we make quilts every Tuesday. It's wonderful to be part of this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a difficult time finding an area that needs improvement. They could, of course, always use more recognition and more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

A week ago our LWML helped load the LWR truck in Topeka, KS with over 13,000 lbs of quilts, soap, and various kits. None of us can personally go to help individuals in need, but through LWR we can make a difference in the life of someone. It's kind of like being the hand of Jesus. We also know that LWR takes great care to see that what is sent actually reaches the people who have the need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything. It is well administered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I give to LWR because the money and materials goes to help people in need. It is an organization of great compassion which is highly effective and efficient and it isn't top heavy with staff, nor are the staff paid the embarrassingly high salaries of some of the nonprofits. LWR is a great organization to serve in crisis situations but more importantly they are there for the long term to overcome long term problems with long term solutions. I have contributed money, helped make quilts, and help gather kits for those in need.
Ralph D Stilwell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2011

LWR is a godsend for many. Keep up the good work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not needed their support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I keep expanding their services.

February 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have provided supplies for and helped assemble health kits and serve as co-advisor of our 3rd-6th grade church youth group that raises money for health kit supplies by recycling aluminum cans and printer cartridges and cell phones. They are enthusiastic kit assemblers, for they understand just how important basic items such as soap, a hand towel and wash cloth, a toothbrush and other kit items that we take for granted are to people who don't have them. A recent headline noted that a bar of soap could literally save a life during the cholera epidemic in the tent cities of Haiti. LWR provides not only health kits, but school kits, sewing kits, layettes, quilts and blankets, soap, malaria nets, and whatever is needed wherever it is needed. The organization consistently receives the highest rating from non-profit watchdog groups for having the most efficient delivery system while having the smallest administrative and fund raising budget. They also provide support for other non-profits by helping get people and supplies to where they are needed. Simply put, they are the best at what they do. They provide not only materials, but education and support for communities to provide a source of clean drinking water, improve farming practices, and teach health and hygiene. I cannot think of a more deserving organization than LWR to be the recipient of funds. They are simply the best at what they do, and their impact is global.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the satisfaction I feel when I read accounts and see photos of the people who have been personally touched by being recipients of the support LWR has given them. A simple school kit can mean the difference between a family being able to afford to send a child to school; a health kit provides dignity and at least the potential to avoid common and often fatal disease; a quilt can provide warmth or even shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a much larger operating budget! I see no reason to change anything about something that works so well that it is used as an example of how a non-profit should be run.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a Personal Care Kit that allows someone who has recently experienced a disaster to clean themselves and their family, and help prevent the spread of disease. Volunteer