Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.957455
Write A Review
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have worked with Lutheran World Relief by coordinating the collection of quilts and kits each year (enough to fill a railroad boxcar or a couple of semi-trucks.) It is great to meet others who come from all over northern Wisconsin to bring their items to be shipped for the good of those who are in need (both in America as well as overseas in eastern Europe, the Philippines and Africa.) It's exciting to be part of something that personally impacts the lives of people.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have sewn for years and have found such a good home with the quilting group I work with in our ministry. To know that we can and do help people all over the world from the comfort of our homes and church is most gratifying. Many friendships have materialized while working together on the quilts, baby care kits and school backpacks to be distributed by LWR. We all are blessed to be able to take part in such a wonderful undertaking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers to further our efforts.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

In May 2013, I was able to travel with Lutheran World Relief to Tanzania, East Africa. The first part of our trip was to see some of the results of the Lutheran Malaria Initiative (LMI) in the country. The Children's Survival Program targets the poorest of the poor: pregnant women, babies, and young children. Through education, mentoring, and distributing malaria nets, lives are being saved. I saw women and children who were alive because of LMI. Very powerful. The churches are the place to go for education, training, and support. The second part of the trip took us to Dar Es Salaam on the coast of the Indian Ocean to visit one of the partner organizations that Lutheran World Relief has worked with for a number of years. Visiting the warehouse where the quilts and kits are stored, I was impressed with the security, cleanliness, and organization. Being able to help with the delivery and distribution of quilts to places that are not able to get to the city to pick them up was a highlight of the trip. The quilts and kits go to individual people; careful records are kept of the names of those who receive them. When you see the yearly reports of Lutheran World Relief, you can know that each item went to a real person, not to an organization. For many of the recipients, this may be one of the few things they own. The staff with whom I traveled was top notch, as were all of the staff members I met in Tanzania. One of the things that I found very impressive is the cost to ship a quilt is $2.25; I am not sure about you but I can't send a small package to my grandchildren just a few states away for that price! This is an organization that cherishes the things that are entrusted to them and is appreciative of the many volunteer hours that go into making quilts and assembling kits. I have been privileged to share PowerPoint presentations of my trip to women's groups, churches, in retreat settings, and in larger conventions. It is a story that needs to be told!


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Lutheran World Relief is a success story in it's outreach to the world.
It is a joy to be a giver and in my years of being a LWR quilter I have
been richly blessed with many friendships with other quilters. It was
the open door when we moved to new locations. When one confronts
the
problems of the world LWR provides an answer. For me the
answer has been" I'll make another quilt".
October 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Lutheran world relief is the best organization, more than just quilts and kits. I was blessed to go on a LWR study tour to East Africa to see projects first hand and to meet LWR staff. The tenents of LWR are using appropriate technology (for example, using local supplies, rather than shipping in a tractor which they fix nor afford the petrol for), non-duplication of efforts (by cooperating with other NGOs), local leadership (those who know the community and will continue the project), careful stewardship of resources (their projects are self-sustaining, and a dollar goes a long, long way), and nonsectarian (helping all people regardless of religion or political affiliation). Some philosophies of LWR are accompaniment: partnership with those in need and walk together; and 'do not trample.'

LWR has one of the highest donation rates: 90 cents of every dollar goes directly to projects. i've been involved with LWR since 1993; 5 others from my church have also gone on LWR study tours (which I highly recommend). It was a life-shattering, awesome spiritual experience. Since then, I've been a member of the LWR speakers board and have attended and presented at global mission events, and of course volunteered and donated. I know first hand that my dollar is spent in the best way possible.

LWR supports entire communities, rather that just supporting one child in a community. They get input from the community what type of projects would work best for them. For example, in Western Kenya, one village decided to raise pigs; the first offspring are donated to the next family in need. In eastern Kenya, which is primarily Muslim, pork would not have been their choice. The local community sets their own rules for deciding who gets chosed for livestock; so many families own livestock now that they no longer need LWR support; LWR just got them started.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Lutheran World Relief gets it right as far as walking alongside and accompanying those they work with across the world. What a wonderful relief agency and they are a joy to work with. Their quilts and kits build up those who get involved with a very concrete way to help in the world. Thank you LWR.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

LWR has been very helpful in giving instructions and helpful suggestions to encourage the making of projects and giving contributions. LWR has been very open as to where they are working in the world which makes us feel like we are there, too!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

As a member of our outreach committee at my church, I've been able to track firsthand the work done by Lutheran World Relief. It's a great opportunity for our congregation to be able to help others in many areas of need knowing the money spent goes right to the needs with very little used for administration.
Marla Banks, Christ Lutheran Church. Sedona Az.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Knowing that LWR is worldwide is important. Always prepared to go to where the emergency is and willing to help. Spreading the love of Jesus to people in need with hands-on help and supplies. Proud to be a part of LWR.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

LWR has one the lowest admin and fundraising costs. Donations enhance the lives of people around the world through clean water, educating farmers to produce greater yields, providing micro-loans for entrepreneurs, and coordinating with other NGOs during disasters. It is generally known that LWR is one of first to arrive and the last organization to leave an area. I have been involved in several outreach projects: chocolate, fair trade coffee/tea, mission quilts and preparing all of the various kits through the Lutheran churches I have attended over the years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a Personal Care Kit that allows someone who has recently experienced a disaster to clean themselves and their family, and help prevent the spread of disease. Volunteer