Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This amazing organization engages volunteers in the advancement of the mission of the organization, as well as the the opportunity to bring hope to communities in desperate need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I know that when I contribute to Lutheran World Relief my contributions will be used effectively and efficiently. LWR allows me to work around the world, even though I cannot physically be there. Keep it up LWR!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I currently am the leader of our LWR quilting group at my church. We make quilts for people who have nothing! This charity is by far one of the best organizations I love to contribute to for their many missions. 30 hour famine is one we do each year at our church. We give monetary support to a participant who is going hungry for 30 hours to earn funds to feed children who are dying every minute in third world countries.

Each year at Christmas my family purchases one goat and 2 chickens to help families become self supporting. They can eat the eggs, get milk from the goats and breed the goats for more babies and sell them at the market and also for food. It is a wonderful feeling knowing we are helping them when we have so much here in the USA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am proud to be a contributor through my church to Lutheran World Relief. LWR works in so many countries to improve health care,and education, to provide clean drinking water, to educate farmers to use practices that are more environmentally sound and so much more. They do all of this on three continents, and they do it with minimal administrative costs. In my tiny congregation we make quilts every Tuesday. It's wonderful to be part of this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a difficult time finding an area that needs improvement. They could, of course, always use more recognition and more funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My familiarity with Lutheran World Relief comes from their recent work in alleviating poverty outside the United States. It had become a default charity, and similar to domestic charities that I've worked with, one slowly becomes familiar with the nature of a chatities work through assimilation. However, an organization working outside the United States has so much more potential to have a profound impact through their work. As my former Pastor would always say in a sermon following a visit to his son who works for another world relief agancy, "we never know how much we are truly blessed".

This past summer, LWR staff was in Pittsburgh for an event, and they sought out my congregation to speak on a Sunday during services. The apparent selection process was the church's support of sending quilts to those in need outside the Unitied States. Their presentation of their mission was enthusiastic and well received. However, it was their willingnees to stay and discuss thei organization following the service that was impressive, as they had a five hour drive back to Baltimore ahead of them.

What most impressed me was the historical nature of LWR's work, which came to light in conversation with LWR staff with our current Pastor. LWR had helped his parent-in-law immigrate to the U.S. from Germany in 1946. The immigration process was described step-by-step, with LWR providing support services all along the way.

Becasue of their visit, I'm currently supporting LWR's misson with sales of fair trade chocolate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize their mission more and provide more information on their impacts in the countries where LWR is doing work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

A week ago our LWML helped load the LWR truck in Topeka, KS with over 13,000 lbs of quilts, soap, and various kits. None of us can personally go to help individuals in need, but through LWR we can make a difference in the life of someone. It's kind of like being the hand of Jesus. We also know that LWR takes great care to see that what is sent actually reaches the people who have the need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything. It is well administered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

There really is no better non-profit out there. The do on pennies what other agencies claim to do with thousands. Our quilting circle at our Lutheran church have made over 16,000 quilts since 1979. We have not kept track of all the medical kits, school kits, etc., but they are many as well. LWR makes good use of their volunteers and resources. These quilts and kits bring much hope to the people who receive them. I am proud of this organization and wholeheartedly support their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

My organization did a service project to make Quilts for Lutheran World Relief. We believe strongly in the mission of LWR and have ALWAYS had wonderful experiences with the staff. They are highly qualified, humble and fun people!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I like the idea that we can donate actual items [like quilts, school supplies, and hygiene items, etc.] instead of only cash donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I've had the privilege of spending time with several LWR staff members in a variety of settings as a volunteer, advisor and donor. The staff of LWR are both impressive and inspiring. The fact that such a high % of their income is spent directly on programs is amazing. I'm convinced that LWR lives its mission and is making a difference in our very complicated world. If you are already familiar with them, I encourage you to dig deeper and find additional ways to support their work. And if you are new to LWR, call, email or visit someone to learn more about how you might become involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a Personal Care Kit that allows someone who has recently experienced a disaster to clean themselves and their family, and help prevent the spread of disease. Volunteer