Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.705265
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was at my annual lupus exam when I first learned about the Lupus Foundation of Northern California. There was a poster seeking participants for their 5K run that caught my interest. I had been looking into becoming a volunteer with some organization and decided the LFNC would be one of a personal interest to me.

The staff for the LFNC welcomed me with open arms and made me feel like I was part of the LFNC family. I have enjoyed working with many volunteers in our efforts to fundraise and help raise awareness about Lupus.

I look forward to many years as a volunteer and I hope that many others will come forward and join the LFNC organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am a Senior in high school and my best friend and my great aunt are both Lupus patients. In knowing the effects of this disease on an individual, my mother and I searched for a place that we could volunteer at that would help us understand the disease more. We also just really wanted to show our support to all the strong Lupus patients. We received an e-mail that asked if we help send out newsletters and we immediately responded. A few days later, we came in and were greeted with warm smiles as we were introduced to all the other volunteers. All the people in the office were very passionate about what they were doing, whether it was labeling envelopes, folding papers, and even making calls for donations. The warm feeling I felt when I was volunteering, made me want to return to help out at another time. Since then, I have volunteered several times and have gotten close to the staff and other volunteers. I believe that this nonprofit organization does a wonderful job in spreading and supporting Lupus awareness and is a perfect place to seek help and information about this disease.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

LFNC provides valuable information and is a great resource for the Lupus community. I am impressed with the kind hearted , dedicated board members and volunteers. Keep doing what your doing!!!Great Job. Thank you for all that you do!.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 12, 2012

As a volunteer with LFNC, I've always been impressed with the dedication of the staff and the effort that they put forth to provide information, support, resources, and advocacy for patients with lupu... more

June 19, 2013

I've always been impressed with the dedication of the staff and volunteers at LFNC. They do an incredible job of educating and supporting individuals with this very severe and confusing disease, as well as helping families and friends understand and support those who have it. In addition, their advocacy work is truly admirable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2012

As a volunteer with LFNC, I've always been impressed with the dedication of the staff and the effort that they put forth to provide information, support, resources, and advocacy for patients with lupus, their families, and friends. They do an incredible job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2010

As a lupus patient, LFNC has provided me with information about the latest research related to lupus, opportunities to meet other lupus patients, and, as a volunteer, a chance to help others diagnosed with this very complex disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Obtaining the most up-to-date information about lupus research.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the people that I've met.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

caring, compassionate, and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand its outreach programs (especially to clients that are usually underserved)and increase its support of lupus-related research.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

For two years in a row now, I have been asked by a friend with lupus to join her team for the 5K Run and Walk for Lupus in Saratoga, California. It was my pleasure to support my friend and donate some... more

November 8, 2012

I first came to learn about the Lupus Foundation when a co-worker of mine revealed that he had lupus. I didn't know what lupus was, so I searched the Internet and found the Foundation's website. I learned a lot of information about this disease through them. That year, I also started participating in their 5K Run and Walk to help spread awareness about lupus and to do what little I can to help raise funds for lupus research. I hope there would be more resources like the Lupus Foundation all over the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

For two years in a row now, I have been asked by a friend with lupus to join her team for the 5K Run and Walk for Lupus in Saratoga, California. It was my pleasure to support my friend and donate some money to the Foundation. I was very impressed with their annual event. This year's event was even better than the last -- very well-organized and there was something for everyone: from snacks to free t-shirts, goodies, good information and great entertainment! Volunteers were very helpful and the crowd was just very friendly and passionate about the cause!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 15, 2012

I volunteer as a co-facilitator of the San Francisco Lupus Support Group. Without the Lupus Foundation of Northern California (LFNC) our support group wouldn't exist. I am thankful to the LFNC b/c they've given ME the opportunity to spread lupus awareness not only through the support group but by giving me the honor to share my lupus story as a speaker at educational programs, fundraising events, and public Bay Area fairs. Their educational programs, as well as their website, online weekly newsletters, seasonal "Newsletter" magazines, Bay Area support groups, and their lupus library, unite not only lupus patients, but also the SF Bay area and outer Bay area communities. They help patients learn how to cope with lupus through their informative activities with a small staff (3) and volunteers who are personable, compassionate, and tender. With the partnership with the nationwide Lupus Research Institute, the LFNC does their best to raise funds and support the goal to find better treatments, a cause and a cure for lupus. This is just a smidgen on why the LFNC should be considered one of the top nonprofits in the United States.

Photos

Videos

A New Purpose in Life

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

+ Participating as a speaker for their mini-conferences and seeing the amount of people who attend these events + Seeing the number of participants grow throughout the years in the "Walk for Lupus 5K Run/Walk" + How effective the organization's outreach is by seeing new donors and retention of current donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering as a co-facilitator & participating with LFNC continually renews my spirit in spreading lupus awareness knowing that I can help others dealing with the disease. It is my outlet in being able to inspire others through my story of survival from kidney failure, CNS lymphoma, and MRSA -- all caused by lupus and its treatments.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely happy that I am able to live my life's purpose!

July 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2012

Lupus Foundation of Northern California has been a great resource of information for me. They send out very informative information weekly in their news letters that are helpful and give updates on events that are coming up, giving you the opportunity to volunteer as well. When I go visit the office they always make me feel like family. They have now given me the opportunity to lead one of their Youth Support Groups and its been a great experience. The conferences that they set up for lupus patients are also very good, I have attended two of them and every time I learn something new even after having lupus for 7 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The Lupus Foundation of Northern California (LFNC) is definitely a great nonprofit organization. As a volunteer, I learned a great deal about the autoimmune disease, lupus, while helping out at the office. My mom who was diagnosed with lupus 15 years ago benefits from knowledge I gain. The staff has one primary goal and that is to make the lives of those people diagnosed with lupus better through patient education, support groups, increasing awareness, and research. Lupus, is a serious yet little known illness. LFNC strives hard to spread the word about this disease because people affected with the disease or are susceptible to getting it can fight it and live normal lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I joined the Lupus Foundation of Northern California as a volunteer because a friend has lupus and i had little knowledge of what this disease was all about. I wanted to help put an end to this disease that was incapacitating my dear friend. i have learned much about Lupus though books, pamphlet, and videos. Recently i watched Rene' Astudillo Executive Director of lupus Foundation of Northern California give an interview on television and he talked about Lupus and their goals for the foundation. i found this to be very informative, he explained what Lupus was and i got an even better understanding of this disease just by listening to him explain it. More interviews on television would be helpful. I have come to understand that we need more research on this disease and more funds.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning how a foundation is ran. I experienced pride in working with a group of dedicated employee's and volunteers who are challenged to do all they can to raise funds and to pass information to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more television interviews.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

This pass year there were many good changes for us volunteers. Better by contacting us by email, phones, verbally and asking us if we received messages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

i was touched by the diversity of the people. i am learning their customs and that we are more alike then not. i have new friends and am learning new recipes in cooking. learning a new language and am better for it all.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It has humble me. I have more patience's with people especially those that are afflicted with lupus or any other autoimmune disease.

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

Have volunteered with the LFNC for several years and continue to be impressed with its effort and accomplishments. Remarkably the LFNC achieves so much with a small staff of 3, a few active board members and its dedicated volunteers. Lupus is a horrific disease affecting our loved ones with varying levels of complexity - sometimes fatal. Yet very little is known about it by the vast majority of people, sadly even among medical professionals. So it is all the more important to provide support to lupus patients and their families. I know the LFNC strives to do this with care and compassion. Invaluable too are its weekly electronic newsletters that provide information to our LFNC family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers