Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
1234.722775
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2012

LFNC has a dedicated team of volunteers that are committed to helping patients with lupus. They provide vital local services that the larger lupus organizations cannot provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2012

I have been a member for over twenty years. Initially the group was a terrific resource for learning about Lupus when I was first diagnosed. I went on to facilitate a Lupus support group in my area for several years. I am in remission for the most part now, but continue my membership as a way of keeping myself up to date on the latest treatments and information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2012

Lupus Foundation of Northern California has been a great resource of information for me. They send out very informative information weekly in their news letters that are helpful and give updates on events that are coming up, giving you the opportunity to volunteer as well. When I go visit the office they always make me feel like family. They have now given me the opportunity to lead one of their Youth Support Groups and its been a great experience. The conferences that they set up for lupus patients are also very good, I have attended two of them and every time I learn something new even after having lupus for 7 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The Lupus Foundation of Northern California (LFNC) is definitely a great nonprofit organization. As a volunteer, I learned a great deal about the autoimmune disease, lupus, while helping out at the office. My mom who was diagnosed with lupus 15 years ago benefits from knowledge I gain. The staff has one primary goal and that is to make the lives of those people diagnosed with lupus better through patient education, support groups, increasing awareness, and research. Lupus, is a serious yet little known illness. LFNC strives hard to spread the word about this disease because people affected with the disease or are susceptible to getting it can fight it and live normal lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I joined the Lupus Foundation of Northern California as a volunteer because a friend has lupus and i had little knowledge of what this disease was all about. I wanted to help put an end to this disease that was incapacitating my dear friend. i have learned much about Lupus though books, pamphlet, and videos. Recently i watched Rene' Astudillo Executive Director of lupus Foundation of Northern California give an interview on television and he talked about Lupus and their goals for the foundation. i found this to be very informative, he explained what Lupus was and i got an even better understanding of this disease just by listening to him explain it. More interviews on television would be helpful. I have come to understand that we need more research on this disease and more funds.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning how a foundation is ran. I experienced pride in working with a group of dedicated employee's and volunteers who are challenged to do all they can to raise funds and to pass information to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more television interviews.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

This pass year there were many good changes for us volunteers. Better by contacting us by email, phones, verbally and asking us if we received messages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

i was touched by the diversity of the people. i am learning their customs and that we are more alike then not. i have new friends and am learning new recipes in cooking. learning a new language and am better for it all.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It has humble me. I have more patience's with people especially those that are afflicted with lupus or any other autoimmune disease.

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

Have volunteered with the LFNC for several years and continue to be impressed with its effort and accomplishments. Remarkably the LFNC achieves so much with a small staff of 3, a few active board members and its dedicated volunteers. Lupus is a horrific disease affecting our loved ones with varying levels of complexity - sometimes fatal. Yet very little is known about it by the vast majority of people, sadly even among medical professionals. So it is all the more important to provide support to lupus patients and their families. I know the LFNC strives to do this with care and compassion. Invaluable too are its weekly electronic newsletters that provide information to our LFNC family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

Working with the organization made me realize how many unselfish people there are who just want to make I difference or make someone's life easier. I've worked with the San Jose lupus foundation for a few years now, and every time I'm there I'm greeted with a smile. Most organizations I've worked with before give you a job that keeps you busy, but might not really have a direct impact on others. Lupus has givin me the opportunity to take on challenges that will help the organization move forward. Personally I will do any job I can to help but with lupus they gave me a opportunity to make a direct difference in other organization and with others, making me feel wanted and needed which everyone wants as a volunteer. Special thanks to Rene, Spandan, and Maggie at the Lupus Foundation San Jose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The whole team was like a family and everyone who walked into the office was given a warm welcome. I love working with them because I'm not treated like a little kid (I'm 18 but I look younger), I am given the same amount of respect as any other person. Everything is always completed on time and the planning as well as preparing for events is efficient and always on the dot. They've made being a volunteer there fun and I can't wait 'till I go again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The LFNC is a great organization with a rich history of helping those afflicted with Lupus. By offering education, events, and most important, awareness, to the Lupus cause, the LFNC is an important champion in helping people live with Lupus.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
June 25, 2010

I was diagnosed in 1984 after ten years of "we think you have Lupus but so far it is only autoimmune events". LFNC was BALF then and it was still pretty new but fully functional when I contacted the ... more

July 11, 2012

After years of odd health events, I was diagnosed in 1984 with having SLE. As an RN I knew lupus by text book but did not have much experience with the disease. Someone directed to the Lupus Foundation and I found great resources in books to read and conferences to attend. Over the years I have been able to refer many people to the foundation for help, including doctors, family members and patients. Also when you have Lupus and someone who knows you has a friend (usually newly diagnosed with lupus) they call you for help, especially if you are an RN. The newsletter and associated newsletters have brought me lots of great information I have shared with my doctors, family, friends and other lupus diagnosed people. I appreciate research and have been able to be a subject in several lupus and lupus related research studies thanks to the Lupus Foundation getting the information out to me in newsletters and now email. I know of no better resource for our community, lupus patients, family, friends, research and doctors than our very own Lupus Foundation of Northern California. I felt like I mattered when I contacted the foundation for the first time or attended a conference. I feel J. Dewitt was a great director and set a balanced and sound course for our foundation. I also had a letter from Henrietta Aladjem when I wrote her a note about her newsletter and felt like I was important to her personally. It was her books, the first I read about Lupus that I was directed to from the foundation that helped me see that lupus can be lived with. This is the overall message I get from the LFNC- you can live a full and productive life with lupus by taking steps along the way to care for yourself and attend to the lupus. LFNC puts lupus in perspective. Lupus may be part of my life but it is not who I am.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2010

I was diagnosed in 1984 after ten years of "we think you have Lupus but so far it is only autoimmune events". LFNC was BALF then and it was still pretty new but fully functional when I contacted the organization. I received quite a bit of very helpful information and was directed to several books. These books put many things into perspective for they told the stories of Lupus patients. I attended conferences that were educational and helped with doctor visits. The newsletter is an excellent resource for individuals and family members. I have taken it to doctor and dental visits to share the information with my health care providers. Even though I was a Reg. Nurse I did not know about living with Lupus, Sjogrens, Raynauds and Discoid Lupus. The Lupus Foundation gave me tools and direction. I became a person others would send their friends "newly diagnosed" with Lupus to for information and reassurance. I would then direct them to BALF/LFNC and encourage them to ask for information and participate in activities. Many have told me that the foundation was a big help to them and their families. LFNC is a valuable resource for not only the Lupus patient but the community at large as it is inclusive and never exclusive in sharing information and providing avenues for education about a very complicated and deadly disease. I am proud to be a member and I encourage others to join.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my home, my life and with my family.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers