Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.705265
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

LFNC DOES A GREAT JOB OF GETTING THE INFORMATION OUT ABOUT LUPUS. MUCH OF THE GENERAL POPULATION DOES NOT KNOW MUCH ABOUT THIS PREVALENT DISEASE. THE NEWSLETTERS ARE INFORMATIVE AND ARE UP TO DATE WITH THE NEWEST INFORMATION ON PERTINENT RESEARCH AND NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE FIELD. THERE ARE OFTEN STORIES OF PATIENTS WHO HAVE HAD SUCCESS OR GOOD ADVICE FOR FELLOW PATIENTS. THE E-NEWSLETTERS ALSO HAVE INFORMATION ON INSURANCE ISSUES WHICH CAN BE SO IMPORTANT TO PATIENTS WITH CHRONIC DISEASE. PATIENTS WHO WANT SUPPORT GROUPS OR SOURCES FOR MORE INFORMATION CAN FIND THESE AT LFNC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
June 30, 2010

When I was first diagnosed with Lupus in 1996, I found their newsletter in my rheumatologist's office with a timely article that applied specifically to me. I became a member of the organization and ... more

July 17, 2012

I have been involved with the Lupus Foundation of No. Calif since I was first diagnosed with lupus in 1996. At that time they served my needs by providing information and teaching me how important it was to educate myself. I have volunlteered, done fundraising, served on the Board and started a support group with a grant from the LFNC 10 years ago. I have seen the organization change to meet the current needs of all lupus patients. They have especially stepped up efforts to provide support and information to young people with lupus through social networks. I am very proud to be associated with the LFNC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2010

When I was first diagnosed with Lupus in 1996, I found their newsletter in my rheumatologist's office with a timely article that applied specifically to me. I became a member of the organization and through their services I learned about lupus and how to manage my disease in a pro-active positive way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Knowledge is power and the LFNC has provided me with the knowledge and power to not only help myself but others as well.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 15, 2012

I volunteer as a co-facilitator of the San Francisco Lupus Support Group. Without the Lupus Foundation of Northern California (LFNC) our support group wouldn't exist. I am thankful to the LFNC b/c they've given ME the opportunity to spread lupus awareness not only through the support group but by giving me the honor to share my lupus story as a speaker at educational programs, fundraising events, and public Bay Area fairs. Their educational programs, as well as their website, online weekly newsletters, seasonal "Newsletter" magazines, Bay Area support groups, and their lupus library, unite not only lupus patients, but also the SF Bay area and outer Bay area communities. They help patients learn how to cope with lupus through their informative activities with a small staff (3) and volunteers who are personable, compassionate, and tender. With the partnership with the nationwide Lupus Research Institute, the LFNC does their best to raise funds and support the goal to find better treatments, a cause and a cure for lupus. This is just a smidgen on why the LFNC should be considered one of the top nonprofits in the United States.

Photos

Videos

A New Purpose in Life

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

+ Participating as a speaker for their mini-conferences and seeing the amount of people who attend these events + Seeing the number of participants grow throughout the years in the "Walk for Lupus 5K Run/Walk" + How effective the organization's outreach is by seeing new donors and retention of current donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering as a co-facilitator & participating with LFNC continually renews my spirit in spreading lupus awareness knowing that I can help others dealing with the disease. It is my outlet in being able to inspire others through my story of survival from kidney failure, CNS lymphoma, and MRSA -- all caused by lupus and its treatments.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely happy that I am able to live my life's purpose!

July 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 15, 2012

I was diagnosed with Lupus 20 years ago and it was life changing for me. I used the Lupus Foundation of Norther California as my resource of information about the disease. They also directed me to support group that got me through the first few years. I direct those who I come in contact with to the Lupus Foundation and they thank me as their experience is similar to mine. Although, having Lupus is something I have made my peace with I continue to read all the info that the Foundaton provides. I also donate to them as I persoanlly know the value they offer to their clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

I have Lupus It REALLY helps to get information about what one can do it help be as healthy as one can:D I'm on SSA + SSI I don't have $$ or health to help!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2012

LFNC has a dedicated team of volunteers that are committed to helping patients with lupus. They provide vital local services that the larger lupus organizations cannot provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2012

I have been a member for over twenty years. Initially the group was a terrific resource for learning about Lupus when I was first diagnosed. I went on to facilitate a Lupus support group in my area for several years. I am in remission for the most part now, but continue my membership as a way of keeping myself up to date on the latest treatments and information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2012

Lupus Foundation of Northern California has been a great resource of information for me. They send out very informative information weekly in their news letters that are helpful and give updates on events that are coming up, giving you the opportunity to volunteer as well. When I go visit the office they always make me feel like family. They have now given me the opportunity to lead one of their Youth Support Groups and its been a great experience. The conferences that they set up for lupus patients are also very good, I have attended two of them and every time I learn something new even after having lupus for 7 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The Lupus Foundation of Northern California (LFNC) is definitely a great nonprofit organization. As a volunteer, I learned a great deal about the autoimmune disease, lupus, while helping out at the office. My mom who was diagnosed with lupus 15 years ago benefits from knowledge I gain. The staff has one primary goal and that is to make the lives of those people diagnosed with lupus better through patient education, support groups, increasing awareness, and research. Lupus, is a serious yet little known illness. LFNC strives hard to spread the word about this disease because people affected with the disease or are susceptible to getting it can fight it and live normal lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I joined the Lupus Foundation of Northern California as a volunteer because a friend has lupus and i had little knowledge of what this disease was all about. I wanted to help put an end to this disease that was incapacitating my dear friend. i have learned much about Lupus though books, pamphlet, and videos. Recently i watched Rene' Astudillo Executive Director of lupus Foundation of Northern California give an interview on television and he talked about Lupus and their goals for the foundation. i found this to be very informative, he explained what Lupus was and i got an even better understanding of this disease just by listening to him explain it. More interviews on television would be helpful. I have come to understand that we need more research on this disease and more funds.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning how a foundation is ran. I experienced pride in working with a group of dedicated employee's and volunteers who are challenged to do all they can to raise funds and to pass information to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more television interviews.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

This pass year there were many good changes for us volunteers. Better by contacting us by email, phones, verbally and asking us if we received messages.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

i was touched by the diversity of the people. i am learning their customs and that we are more alike then not. i have new friends and am learning new recipes in cooking. learning a new language and am better for it all.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It has humble me. I have more patience's with people especially those that are afflicted with lupus or any other autoimmune disease.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers