Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1.42345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2014

To the Better Business Bureau:

I am filing a formal letter of complaint with you regarding some of the employees in the Lupus Foundation of America, Pacific Northwest Division and their Headquarters.

At a time, I did want to donate money to the LFA and volunteer with their
organization to help find a cure and create awareness for lupus. However, There is now no way anymore that I am donating to or helping the LFA to pay such lazy and incompetent CEOs, etc.,in the company, that don't listen to lupus patients and the public, and can't even pass on a simple message to contact me back about a lupus walk and public speaking inquiry that I placed. In addition, one of the CEO's slandered/defamed my name to other employees in the LFA.

This was the order of events:

Out of the entire 6-7 months of this year 2014, I have spoken to Celia Weismann, the CEO of the Pacific Northwest Chapter, only twice.

In winter of 2014, While we were discussing the potential fundraiser, I called and left a message for them to call me back to let them know that I would no longer do the fundraiser and provide them the valid reasons why. They never did call back, and I was still going to talk to them about walks and public speaking.

Months later, On June 19, 2014, I got around to put in another phone call to Ms. Weismann to follow up all the way from winter, since she chose never to communicate. Although I told her that I decided not to do the fundraiser with her, I did inquire to her about public speaking and participating in a lupus walk. She told me that 'they are always looking for speakers", and that she 'would have someone contact me from the Los Angeles area." As I patiently waited to hear back for those two things, the LFA had still not gotten back to me.

I followed up a week later again to Ms. Weisman, since I still didn't hear back from her. Ms. Weismann then sent an email to Jeanna Cullinan, Allie Kunzig, Kimberly Sandhu, slandering my name in the email.

Jeanne Cullinan then finally emailed me after all of the above went on, and told me that a "Laurie Gray" would be contacting me.

Still, no one contacted me.

Clearly, the attitudes of some of these individuals in the LFA need to change for the better, along with their listening skills and professionalism, at the very least.

Such undesirable attitudes and behaviors are exactly what drive people away from wanting to volunteer and help the organization and give money to the LFA. Furthermore, such bad attitudes, inefficient communication, and just plain rudeness, are also big reasons for why the LFA continues to be underfunded.
Such individuals in the LFA are halting the goal of finding a cure for lupus. This is just bad business.

They want the money and hard labor from people outside the LFA, but they don't want to do their side of the work for it.

Obviously, I have no desire anymore to help this organization. I will no longer become a member of the LFA, nor will I volunteer my time anymore with them, as I was planning on before. I will also be letting the communities know that they should not support the LFA due to their unprofessional ism, unwillingness to provide proper support for raising funds to find a cure, and laziness in not wanting to do their end in helping raise enough money for finding a cure.

These individuals in the LFA need to ask themselves why they get periodic complaints all the time. They are the ones responsible for communicating effectively to the public and truly helping find a cure. They need to be held more accountable.

My number is below if you have any further questions. I do have further evidence of the libel, slander, and defamation of character, upon request.

Best regards,



Side note: In addition to the above, the BBB might want to take this up further with the LFA's HR department as I have received
anonymous complaints and cries out for help.

It appears that the people in management positions are not letting their employees know of people who they can contact that handle complaints objectively.

DOESN'T the LFA have a human resource department???

I've heard possible racist issues, sexist issues, mild harassment cases going on, etc.

My recommendation is that HR talk to *all* and EACH of the employees of the Pacific Northwest chapter and the LFA Headquarters, not limited to those chapters, so that everyone gets heard.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire better CEOs and managers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2014

I have asked this charity not to call me and take me off their phone list at least a dozen times. They don't want to do this. I will never donate to this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop calling when they are requested to do so.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 10, 2012

I have received numerous calls from this charity. And, depsite asking them to remove my name & phone number from their calling list, I still receive calls. I work from home and this is extremely disruptive andannoying.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012

I donated for my cousin but got on their mailing list. I hate it when you donate to an organization and then they start sending you glossy magazines and spending money to get you to donate more. Why a glossy magazine? I donated without them asking and resent that they are after me for more money. I left of VM to get me off their list completely - we'll see if it works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2012

Foundations. Charities. They do great things and need donors, of which, I often donate to charities of my choice based on that charities mission and fiscal responsibility. What I don't want is for an organization, this one, calling my home phone a few times per week while I am at work and letting the voice mail system go to the point of recording, just for them to hang up immediately. Now I am coming home everyday picking up the phone to wait for the prompt, entering my password, and finally deleting a half second message. If their mission is to pester individuals into donating by making multiple calls per week, then I want no part in it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers