Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Lungevity provides information,support , fellowship,and valuable connections to other lung cancer survivors and caregivers. As an 11 year survivor, I can't adequately describe the support and connections that i have received through Lungevity. Their staff tirelessly works to provide support and information and the organization funds meaningful research aimed at finding a cure for lung cancer.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

This is just an amazing group! No matter how you want your support, you can find it here. There is a message board so you can post questions or just what you are worried about to get written support. If you just need to type it out to get a rant out, do it here and half a dozen people will give you virtual hugs and pats on the back. If you are wondering what post-op will be like, people will share their stories.
If you prefer to have some one on one support they will find you someone to email or phone who understands what you are going thru because they have been thru it too. They try to match you as close as possible for diagnosis and anything else you prefer... if you want to make sure that you are matched with someone your gender, age group, family situation... ask away and if they know of someone that fits the bill, you will have a new friend.
Then there is the annual Hope Summit in DC! Informative speakers, yummy meals and more and more survivors every year!! I can hardly wait til May for the next one!!
There is no better place for lung cancer support!
I thank God that I found them and only wish I had found them sooner!!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I LOVE LUNGEVITY Foundation. I found this foundation last year while attempting to find some type of support group in my area. What I found was HOPE!!!!. They welcomed me in and I went to a regional hope summit. Through that I became part of the Alumni and found some neighboring members. We began a support group in my area for Lung Cancer Survivors. I went to the National Summit in DC. Met many survivors and gained more hope. LUNGEVITY gave me a life line partner. I met her while in DC at the Summit. Now I try to be a life line partner and it feels great to be able to help others. One of the greatest things I love about this foundation is the ongoing support I get from the members as well as Katie Brown. I don't feel or believe I have to go through this cancer journey alone. Great organization.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I was diagnosed with non small cell Stage 4 lung cancer in April 2014. I had no one to talk to about my fears and questions. The Cancer Society gave me the number of Lungevity. These people are terrific. Within 2 days Katie had me in touch with someone who has the same type of cancer. I've finished one round of chemo and will start Round 2 shortly. Then that 1st mentor had a set-back and Katie got me another mentor as soon as I asked for one. There is such a stigma about lung cancer, almost as if we caused it. One breast cancer survivor even asked me how much I smoked to bring it on myself. I would be lost without the caring support of these people.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with lung cancer in August of 2013. LUNGevity was one of the first online resources I found for getting information about this horrible disease. In May of 2014, I was able to attend the national HOPE Summit in Washington D.C. and connect with other fellow survivors. Since then, I have been working to spread the word about the #1 cancer killer and the stigma associated with it that contributes to the low funding of research projects. LUNGevity has a clear mission and awesome staff that go above and beyond to work with survivors, caregivers and advocates as we all work together to increase funding for essential research. I am proud to be a LUNGevity volunteer and a 14 month (and counting) survivor!
September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I was involved with Lungevity as a supporter of a local event 2 years ago. Little did I know I would be diagnosed with Lung Cancer and all the emotions and questions that come with it. Lungevity has been an essential tool for me and my family to help us navigate the confusion and questions of a disease that has few research dollars yet kills more people. The stigma of lung cancer for a person who never smoked is unreal. I was embarrassed to disclose my diagnosis. Lungevity has helped me deal with everything - and given me a voice to be an advocate and help others. They are an important lifeline.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. I think they are on the right track and have a great mission statement and staff to complete their 'awesomeness'.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I have been involved with Lungevity for over a year now. They have been awesome in providing emotional support along with treatment options. I have non-small cell and my girlfriend Penny has small cell extensive. Katie Brown with Lungevity has been extremely helpful in putting us in touch with people that could help Penny in her fight. We both attended the Hope Summit in May in Arlington, VA. and make contact with other survivors and gained valuable information on how to fight this disease. I am also am a Lifeline Support Partner and have been able to offer one on one support to other survivors that I have been put in touch with through Lungevity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

I live in a small community where there are not a lot of resources. Lungevity has been invaluable both in support and understanding, as well as up-to-date information on the latest treatments and research. I would simply be lost without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

The support You can find here and the caring warm experience of being welcomed into this community of others who understand is simply amazing. I can't describe how it's changed my life and the life of so many others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

My biggest challenge has been dealing with the anxiety of leaving my sons without me. I am a single mom and my sons have no other relatives that could be in their lives if something should happen to me. Also, I was diagnosed with LC a few months after my mom passed from the same LC. My children were young and with me while I was taking care of her and we watched her waste away and die. A few months later I was diagnosed and the hardest thing was for me to tell my sons I had cancer too. They were 10 years old (I have twin boys) and I had to go to the hospital for a week, recuperate from surgery and then have chemo treatments, so I knew I would have to be honest and talk with them. It was so hard. I had no one to turn to who really understood. And then I found LUNGevity. The support from LUNGevity, has been a lifeline to me. Not only does one get emotional support, but we learn more about different protocols from each other than the doctors! Also, spends more dollars on research for a cure than other organizations. I think one of the most powerful events LUNGevity sponsors is the annual HOPE SUMMIT. There is so much emotion and support for one another. Words cannot describe what it is like to be able to be yourself, your "cancer self" for one whole weekend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Mentor someone walking the lung cancer journey, contact local hospitals to distribute Get Connected materials, man a booth at a cfc or health fair, volunteer for one of our Breathe Deep events, contribute administrative skills in our DC or Chicago offices, intern for the foundation, spread the word about us and what we do via social media- and many more opportunities. Contact us today. Volunteer