Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.866675
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

In 2009, at 39 years old, I was diagnosed with stage 3B non small cell lung cancer. I underwent brutal treatments for 10 agonizing weeks. Because of the stigma and the small # of lung cancer survivors, I really had no one to talk to about what I was going through, except for my mom, who is also a lung cancer survivor. Without her (my rock) I don't know how I would've made it through. She was always there to support, encourage, and remind me that "tomorrow will be better". I was lucky... most don't have anyone to turn to who has been there, done that. I wanted to share and give to others who may not have been so lucky and were fighting "alone". When I found LUNGevity, I was truly amazed at what this organization is all about. It gave me a voice; a way to touch and be touched in a way that gives and spreads hope to others as well as myself. This organization is all about the survivors, their families and caregivers. It funds vital research and provides information, support, and hope to all who are in need. I have attended the LUNGevity Survivor's Hope Summit two years in row and both experiences were magical. From the moment I walked in, I felt welcomed, accepted, embraced, and loved. I have NEVER experienced anything like it in all my life. Just being with all of the survivors gives me a renewed feeling of strength, empowerment, and unconditional love. I have made friendships that will last a lifetime and have gained the knowledge and ability to touch others as I have been touched. In the days just before the 2013 Hope Summit, I was going through a lot of not so happy things. I remember thinking, "I survived cancer for this?!". I was crying the morning I got onto the plane, but the moment I connected with the first "brother and sister survivors", I was all smiles. I suddenly remembered what it was all about! LUNGevity has opened many doors for me to help not only myself but others who need what we all crave... Love, support, encouragement, and hope. Through LUNGevity, I have been accepted to review applications for funding for research through the Department of Defense, and have been directed to the patient navigation institute where I was awarded a full scholarship to train to be an oncology patient navigator, None of this would've been possible without the guidance that LUNGevity provides, There is NO better nonprofit organization out there!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I was diagnosed stage four in 2009. I came through some very harsh treatments and made it. I have been cancer free for almost four years. During the first part of treatment and beyond, it was frustrating to have no support in our little town. I went through all the usual emotional issues and felt alone. I bumped into Lungevity by accident in a magazine ad. I looked it up online and found a great resource for support. I made many online friends who knew what I was going through and gladly accepted me. I have been to two of the Hope Summit gatherings in Wash. DC. I have learned so much from this wonderful group and feel like part of a big national family and beyond. I am aware of their tremendous fundraising efforts and all they do to help research. They work so hard and they know so many of us on a personal level too. They have made a huge impact during my recovery and continue on our behalf as patients, caregivers, survivors and families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Team up with more foundations to have an even bigger voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2010

I was dxd with lung cancer in Oct 2008,a death sentence I believed,my mind was in turmoil,thought of losing my wife and daughter forever was just so difficult to bear.Family and friends helped me trem... more

July 22, 2013

Lungevity extends a warm welcome to everyone who is touched in some way by lung cancer.It is an organisation that is determined to fight the scourge of lung cancer on many different levels,investing $millions supporting lung cancer projects right down to supporting individual survivors,families and carers.Their interests extend beyond North America,reaching out worldwide,even to such places as Bonnie Scotland,which is where I live,almost five years ago,I was diagnosed with lung cancer,it was through searching the internet for some information on lung cancer,I discovered LUNGevity, reading through their website engaged me enough to want to become a member.I was accepted into a new family friends who are made up of survivors,carers and family members.It has been my priviledge to visit the USA on two occassions and meet with,many LUNGevity members and staff I had only contact with prior online.It is my intention to make future visits to the USA,to maintain and strengthen my links with LUNGevity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invite them all to come to Scotland.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I was dxd with lung cancer in Oct 2008,a death sentence I believed,my mind was in turmoil,thought of losing my wife and daughter forever was just so difficult to bear.Family and friends helped me tremendously from the start and through my chemo and surgery.On the successful course of treatments,I still was in need of the emotional support that my family and friends provided previous,but my cancer situation was wearing a bit thin on their patience with me,as one of my friends put it "Eric you have had all your treatments,the cancer is now gone for good,now forget it and get on with your life".My cancer issues were upsetting them,and I couldnt really blame them for wanting the subject dropped. Surfing the net one day,looking for some good news stories regarding lung cancer,I stumbled onto a site called LUNGevity,I had found something very special,a new family of friends just waiting for me to join them to share friendship,their knowledge and experiences with lung cancer,to make me realise I would never be alone again having to deal with my problems with lung cancer.I can testify that LUNGevity has been and is my saving grace.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my everyday life

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Its helped me to cope with my dx of lung cancer

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

First Class

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Invest and support funding a variety of projects that would improve the general outlook for all survivors of lung cancer.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

Last year I was introduced to Andrea Ferris and the LUNGevity organization. This was by far one of the best connections I've made in my life. And not because i'm a person with LC...It's because the... more

July 22, 2013

LUNGevity continues to set the standard for cancer advocacy organizations. Their level of professionalism and commitment to provide resources and patient support is unparalleled. I have had the extreme pleasure to work with them for the past two years during my cancer journey and no other organization comes close to the level of empathy, understanding, plus overall care and encouragement they provide on a continual basis.

Simply put, Amazing group of individuals working together towards a common cause and ultimately creating incredible results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more resources to broaden their support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012

Last year I was introduced to Andrea Ferris and the LUNGevity organization. This was by far one of the best connections I've made in my life. And not because i'm a person with LC...It's because they're incredible at what they do in every facet of their mission. As an inoperable stage III NSCLC recipient, I was given a very short life expectancy. Upon receiving this prognosis, I asked my doctor what I should do next. He stated simply, "Go live your life'. That's all fine and dandy as far as quips go but I had no idea where to find or what level of support existed. I wanted to seek others who might be faced with a similar fate. As fate would have it, I was directed to LUNGevity to find this support. Across the board, from online chat support, medical updates, fund raising, awareness, stigma change, live events, and providing HOPE, I can find no flaw in this organization. The people who make up LUNGevity are smart, passionate, caring, giving and most of all, selfless individuals all committed to one goal - end death by lung cancer. I for one can think of few organizations I wish to support more...whether I had the disease or not. LUNGevity is simply amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I participate in a Breathe Deep 5k in memory of my dad and aunt. Its always really great and they really care about the people that come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish they had a physical presence in every state.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

A first class organizatin. Great staff, great resources, and there for you whenever you need them. Thanks for everything you do LUNGevity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I went to the dfw walk and it was really well put together and there were like 25 survivors and it was so moving to my family. They really care about what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

The event every year is something my whole family looks forward to. LUNGevity gives them a way to honor our loved one and raise funds for research at the same time. Thank you LUNGevity. We are working to CURE LUNG CANCER!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

I live in a small community where there are not a lot of resources. Lungevity has been invaluable both in support and understanding, as well as up-to-date information on the latest treatments and research. I would simply be lost without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

The support You can find here and the caring warm experience of being welcomed into this community of others who understand is simply amazing. I can't describe how it's changed my life and the life of so many others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Mentor someone walking the lung cancer journey, contact local hospitals to distribute Get Connected materials, man a booth at a cfc or health fair, volunteer for one of our Breathe Deep events, contribute administrative skills in our DC or Chicago offices, intern for the foundation, spread the word about us and what we do via social media- and many more opportunities. Contact us today. Volunteer