Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Cancer, Civil Rights, Health, Human Services, Lung Diseases, Personal Social Services

Mission: Saving lives and advancing research by empowering those living with and at risk for lung cancer.

Results: Over the past year, more than 12,000 personal telephone calls and email requests were managed by our professional and caring staff, delivering customized support packets to improve outcomes. We also expanded a network of 1,500 medical facility contacts nationwide who share our educational support materials to the newly diagnosed and their loved ones so that they know they are not alone and we are here to help. We launched efforts to educate the millions at high risk about their life-saving options, encouraging conversations with their doctors about early detection. To date, more than 300 medical facilities have joined our coalition to make sure that screening is done right and well at centers of excellence across the U.S. We have trained thousands of advocates to educate elected and public health officials about the disease, securing almost $90 million to date in public health dollars for research and early detection. Because we do not accept public funding, and these dollars fund research directly, we are able to leverage your support at least 10-fold. We also launched the first nationwide awareness campaign addressing the stigma of lung cancer head-on. With more than 300 million impressions to date, the campaign continues to grow over social media channels. Learn more at: www.NoOneDeservesToDie.org. These combined efforts will help meet our vision of reducing lives lost to lung cancer by half by 2020. With your continued help and support, we will achieve this realistic and attainable goal.

Target demographics: The milions living with or at risk for lung cancer

Direct beneficiaries per year: At least 12,000

Geographic areas served: Nationwide

Programs: Community& Support Services Program: Providing free, one-on-one support, information, and referrals to patients, at risk individuals and their loved ones through telephone and online support services, delivering customized education packets to make informed decisions and improve outcomes. Education Program: Conducting national awareness campaigns, including No One Deserves to Die, National Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil, Team Lung Love and Give A Scan to educate the public about the facts, dispel myths, and share calls to action to eliminate stigma, increase research funding and save lives. Health Policy Program: Advocating for multiple millions in public health dollars for lung cancer research and early detection through a nationwide grassroots network of volunteer chapters, advocates and targeted policy strategies.

Community Stories

29 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

I also found out about my lung cancer by accident and had a large wedge removed from my right lower lobe on June 27, 2013. The doctors told me the frozen section showed no malignancy, but the final pathology disagreed; I had Stage I adenocarcinoma. I just had my first f/u CAT scan and there has been no change, but I worry a lot about recurrence. I would love to have a support group close to where I live through LCA, but there is not one in the area. I support LCA by being a donor and trying to support others through their journey on the website.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

Late December 2010, I went to the Urgent Care thinking I had a sever bronchial infection. Had pneumonia and a "shadow" in the lung xray. Be the beginning of February 2011, it was decide to remove a large wedge of the upper right lobe of my lung and several small wedges. January 2012 saw return of several tumors. Started chemo at end of June 2012 until end of October 2012, Avastin only for 2 1/2 months and then pneumonia in January 2013 showed tumors back. Went back on chemo until April 2013 and have been on Tarceva since. I also have COPD and Crohn's. Chemo and Crohn's do not want to work well together. Due to sever dehydration, I have been hospitalized twice since on the Tarceva. Have finally gotten things under semi control and living well right now.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I, too found out about my stage I lung cancer by accident. A routine x-ray revealed "a mass". My journey began that day and now, almost two years later, I am alive thanks to my amazing and wonderful doctor at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. I joined the Lung Cancer Alliance to get support, information and most of all to share my continuing medical journey.
The stories we share are sometimes sad, hopeful, full of joy and love. Here's mine, I live life today and in the now. Thanks, LCA, for being my partner along this road.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 4

I was found to have stage 1 lung cancer. It was found out by accident, I had gone to the Dr, for my gall bladder and they saw something on the x-ray. So immediately they sent me to a lung specialist. He watched it carefully for 6 months. then it started changing and they did a biopsy and came back as cancer. I had the best doctors in the world. They took out part of my right lung, then I went through chemo but now I am fine. I do go to a lung cancer support group but there was none around till this very nice gentleman started one. You don't ever see anything about lung cancer. Breast cancer things are all over .They need to have things for us too.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Thank god there out there fighting for more funding for Lung Cancer. I have no problem donating to there organization.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 1

I couldn't get this organization to agree to call for a BAN on the tobacco drug, which CAUSES almost ALL lung and other cancers, so I told them they should disband, since they are NOT serious about ending lung and/or other cancers!

BAN THE ILLEGAL TOBACCO DRUG, NOW AND PROSECUTE THE CRIMINAL TOBACCO PUSHERS, TOO!

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I discovered Lung Cancer Alliance after lung cancer ended my mom's life on this earth too soon. I am encouraged by the articles they share and the activities they host to shed light on the LARGEST cancer killer that exists. November is National LUNG Cancer Awareness Month...White is the color of ribbon that represents the largest cancer killer...but this form of cancer STILL NEEDS more publicity. Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigils will take place in November, and the LCA is working hard to shine a light on this awful disease that needs SO much more attention among our communities.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This is the most informative non-profit I've seen through their emails. Love their message "No one deserves to die!" They are the only ones who are making progress in getting the word out about Lung Cancer and getting the funds to find a cure and early detection. I admire them immensely.

9

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this organization. Thank God for the voice they provide for lung cancer patients and their families...and for those for whom we have lost. After losing my wonderful, beautiful Mom to lung cancer after a courageous 7-year battle, I found LCA and am so grateful for what they do. Thank you to all those who work tirelessly at LCA and who are making it possible to increase the survival odds of this terrible disease.

8

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have been involved with Lung Cancer Alliance for the past five years. They are the voice for those who have lost their battle to lung cancer and those still fighting. I found the LCA after I was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2004. LCA is strong when you are weak and caring when you need an ear to listen. They fight everyday to change the numbers of our family and friends who have or may have to face lung cancer during their lifetime.