Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.828575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I also found out about my lung cancer by accident and had a large wedge removed from my right lower lobe on June 27, 2013. The doctors told me the frozen section showed no malignancy, but the final pathology disagreed; I had Stage I adenocarcinoma. I just had my first f/u CAT scan and there has been no change, but I worry a lot about recurrence. I would love to have a support group close to where I live through LCA, but there is not one in the area. I support LCA by being a donor and trying to support others through their journey on the website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more support groups available. Although my friends and family are supportive they really don't understand what I am going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Late December 2010, I went to the Urgent Care thinking I had a sever bronchial infection. Had pneumonia and a "shadow" in the lung xray. Be the beginning of February 2011, it was decide to remove a large wedge of the upper right lobe of my lung and several small wedges. January 2012 saw return of several tumors. Started chemo at end of June 2012 until end of October 2012, Avastin only for 2 1/2 months and then pneumonia in January 2013 showed tumors back. Went back on chemo until April 2013 and have been on Tarceva since. I also have COPD and Crohn's. Chemo and Crohn's do not want to work well together. Due to sever dehydration, I have been hospitalized twice since on the Tarceva. Have finally gotten things under semi control and living well right now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I, too found out about my stage I lung cancer by accident. A routine x-ray revealed "a mass". My journey began that day and now, almost two years later, I am alive thanks to my amazing and wonderful doctor at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. I joined the Lung Cancer Alliance to get support, information and most of all to share my continuing medical journey.
The stories we share are sometimes sad, hopeful, full of joy and love. Here's mine, I live life today and in the now. Thanks, LCA, for being my partner along this road.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, keep up the great work and keeping us updated on the latest treatment information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was found to have stage 1 lung cancer. It was found out by accident, I had gone to the Dr, for my gall bladder and they saw something on the x-ray. So immediately they sent me to a lung specialist. He watched it carefully for 6 months. then it started changing and they did a biopsy and came back as cancer. I had the best doctors in the world. They took out part of my right lung, then I went through chemo but now I am fine. I do go to a lung cancer support group but there was none around till this very nice gentleman started one. You don't ever see anything about lung cancer. Breast cancer things are all over .They need to have things for us too.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

Thank god there out there fighting for more funding for Lung Cancer. I have no problem donating to there organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I couldn't get this organization to agree to call for a BAN on the tobacco drug, which CAUSES almost ALL lung and other cancers, so I told them they should disband, since they are NOT serious about ending lung and/or other cancers!

BAN THE ILLEGAL TOBACCO DRUG, NOW AND PROSECUTE THE
CRIMINAL TOBACCO PUSHERS, TOO!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CALL FOR AN IMMEDIATE BAN ON THE ILLEGAL TOBACCO DRUG!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I discovered Lung Cancer Alliance after lung cancer ended my mom's life on this earth too soon. I am encouraged by the articles they share and the activities they host to shed light on the LARGEST cancer killer that exists. November is National LUNG Cancer Awareness Month...White is the color of ribbon that represents the largest cancer killer...but this form of cancer STILL NEEDS more publicity. Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigils will take place in November, and the LCA is working hard to shine a light on this awful disease that needs SO much more attention among our communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is the most informative non-profit I've seen through their emails. Love their message "No one deserves to die!" They are the only ones who are making progress in getting the word out about Lung Cancer and getting the funds to find a cure and early detection. I admire them immensely.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2009

more

July 17, 2009

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this organization. Thank God for the voice they provide for lung cancer patients and their families...and for those for whom we have lost. After losing my wonderful, beautiful Mom to lung cancer after a courageous 7-year battle, I found LCA and am so grateful for what they do. Thank you to all those who work tirelessly at LCA and who are making it possible to increase the survival odds of this terrible disease.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

passionate, smart and willing to do whatever it takes to get the message out!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 15, 2009

more

July 15, 2009

I have been involved with Lung Cancer Alliance for the past five years. They are the voice for those who have lost their battle to lung cancer and those still fighting. I found the LCA after I was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2004. LCA is strong when you are weak and caring when you need an ear to listen. They fight everyday to change the numbers of our family and friends who have or may have to face lung cancer during their lifetime.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The people who work on our behalf everyday.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Fund lung cancer research which is so badly needed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.