Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.844165
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

As a 2 year Lung Cancer survior Lung Cancer Alliance has given me hope and motivated me to fight for awareness from the stigma that goes with having lung cancer. Lung Cancer Alliance is the only national non-profit organization dedicated solely to providing support and advocacy for people living with or at risk for the disease. They have a great mission: ending injustice and saving lives through an alliance of advocacy, education and support. There vision is to reduce lung cancer mortality by at least 50% by 2020. I come from a family history of Lung Cancer and those words were music in my ears. I want my children and grandchildern to have a better chance and clear understanding of Lung Cancer and real change needs to come. With Lung Cancer Alliance I know in my heart they are at a tipping point and making a difference everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I became a phone buddy for the Lung Cancer Alliance to help others discover the gift of early detection. Having just crossed the threshold of 5 years survivorship, I am testament that detection at Stage 1 is life affirming. The staff at LCA works tirelessly to have our voices heard and bring needed attention to the devastation of lung cancer on the lives of millions annually. It is an awesome organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a lung cancer survivor and a volunteer, I am very grateful for the advocacy that Lung Cancer Alliance provides to so many. The integrity and credibility of the organization is second to none. I am most appreciative of LCA’s effective work in the area of public policy and care for and assistance for the patients and families with lung cancer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Lung Cancer Alliance works deligently to bring people together to promote real change. They are not about just throwing money at a problem, they are about changing policy to make a difference immediately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

When I lost my mother to lung cancer, I was angry; angry that there was nothing I could do to help her or save her. A couple of years after she passed, a friend of one of my sisters saw a sign or posting about LCA's event "Shine a Light on Lung Cancer." Well, since my sisters and I never really heard anybody speak of lung cancer, we thought we should go to check it out. Well, am I glad we did! We were approached by Diane Daniels Legg, a co-chair of the New England Chapter of LCA, also fighting her own battle with lung cancer. She was so heartwarming and kind, and she really took an interest in us because we were so young when we lost our mom. We continued to attend the "Shine A Light on Lung Cancer" vigils, and in January of 2011, my sister Kristina and I joined LCA in advocating on Capitol Hill. That was one of the most rewarding and enlightening experiences I've had, and I have LCA to thank for that. Ever since that first Vigil, my sisters and I were hooked on this organization. Everybody who attends is so passionate and there for the same thing, to END LUNG CANCER! I am so lucky to be able to be apart of LCA, and I only wish that we knew of them while my mom was sick. For some odd/crazy reason, I feel like she might still be alive had we known about them then.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Lung Cancer Alliance helped me turn a negative (contracting lung cancer) into a positive (helping those on the same trail). Lung Cancer changed my life. The LCA gave me an opportunity to use that change to help others while at the same time helping myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The LCA is one of the precious few sources of support for those afflicted or impacted by the deadliest of all cancers where, shamefully, almost no progress has been made in survival rates for forty years. My late wife (incidentally a non-smoker and athlete, like many who lose their lives to lung cancer annually) bravely fought the disease for nearly six years. In her final years, she was a passionate volunteer for the LCA - their staff and fellow volunteers made such a difference to her - she cherished the companionship, empathy, and shared purpose until the end.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The Lung Cancer Alliance stands alone as THE ADVOCATE for all patients and family members who have been touched by lung cancer. Before I found the Lung Cancer Alliance I was here in Springfield, Missouri casting about on my own...there were no support groups, no ribbons to wear, no survivors to cheer me on....that's because the survival rate for lung cancer is so low (15 to 17%) and very few make it to the 5 year mark. When I connected with the LCA, I instantly found a group who understood what I was going through...they reached out to me in many ways and continue to do so. Through the LCA I have been able to tell my story aa a two-time survivor of lung cancer so perhaps others won't feel so isolated. I know also that the Lung Cancer Alliance, through their national outreach, will speak for us and continue to fight for a cure to this devastating disease.!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

My mom passed away due to lung cancer in 2002. It will be 10 years this September. At the time of her diagnosis she had been a 21 year non smoker. My biggest frustration was the futility of my Mom's passing at such a young age when she was so vibrant and had so much more to give to the world. She was also completely healthy otherwise. In 2009 due to a recruiting e-mail at work I found out about Lung Cancer Alliance. I was immediately impressed with the passion and commitment of the organization and in time I became even more impressed with what this organization has accomplished. I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011

My father and three friends, all of whom were never smokers died of lung cancer. I also lost three former smoker friends to the disease. I am a never smoker and was lucky to be diagnosed with Stage 3A lung cancer. I am an eight year survivor!I I want to help make a difference and save lives. That is why I am volunteering with the Lung Cancer Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.