Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.828575
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

When I lost my mother to lung cancer, I was angry; angry that there was nothing I could do to help her or save her. A couple of years after she passed, a friend of one of my sisters saw a sign or posting about LCA's event "Shine a Light on Lung Cancer." Well, since my sisters and I never really heard anybody speak of lung cancer, we thought we should go to check it out. Well, am I glad we did! We were approached by Diane Daniels Legg, a co-chair of the New England Chapter of LCA, also fighting her own battle with lung cancer. She was so heartwarming and kind, and she really took an interest in us because we were so young when we lost our mom. We continued to attend the "Shine A Light on Lung Cancer" vigils, and in January of 2011, my sister Kristina and I joined LCA in advocating on Capitol Hill. That was one of the most rewarding and enlightening experiences I've had, and I have LCA to thank for that. Ever since that first Vigil, my sisters and I were hooked on this organization. Everybody who attends is so passionate and there for the same thing, to END LUNG CANCER! I am so lucky to be able to be apart of LCA, and I only wish that we knew of them while my mom was sick. For some odd/crazy reason, I feel like she might still be alive had we known about them then.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Lung Cancer Alliance helped me turn a negative (contracting lung cancer) into a positive (helping those on the same trail). Lung Cancer changed my life. The LCA gave me an opportunity to use that change to help others while at the same time helping myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The LCA is one of the precious few sources of support for those afflicted or impacted by the deadliest of all cancers where, shamefully, almost no progress has been made in survival rates for forty years. My late wife (incidentally a non-smoker and athlete, like many who lose their lives to lung cancer annually) bravely fought the disease for nearly six years. In her final years, she was a passionate volunteer for the LCA - their staff and fellow volunteers made such a difference to her - she cherished the companionship, empathy, and shared purpose until the end.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The Lung Cancer Alliance stands alone as THE ADVOCATE for all patients and family members who have been touched by lung cancer. Before I found the Lung Cancer Alliance I was here in Springfield, Missouri casting about on my own...there were no support groups, no ribbons to wear, no survivors to cheer me on....that's because the survival rate for lung cancer is so low (15 to 17%) and very few make it to the 5 year mark. When I connected with the LCA, I instantly found a group who understood what I was going through...they reached out to me in many ways and continue to do so. Through the LCA I have been able to tell my story aa a two-time survivor of lung cancer so perhaps others won't feel so isolated. I know also that the Lung Cancer Alliance, through their national outreach, will speak for us and continue to fight for a cure to this devastating disease.!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

My mom passed away due to lung cancer in 2002. It will be 10 years this September. At the time of her diagnosis she had been a 21 year non smoker. My biggest frustration was the futility of my Mom's passing at such a young age when she was so vibrant and had so much more to give to the world. She was also completely healthy otherwise. In 2009 due to a recruiting e-mail at work I found out about Lung Cancer Alliance. I was immediately impressed with the passion and commitment of the organization and in time I became even more impressed with what this organization has accomplished. I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011

My father and three friends, all of whom were never smokers died of lung cancer. I also lost three former smoker friends to the disease. I am a never smoker and was lucky to be diagnosed with Stage 3A lung cancer. I am an eight year survivor!I I want to help make a difference and save lives. That is why I am volunteering with the Lung Cancer Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 2, 2011

I am a 42 year old woman living with Stage IV lung cancer. The Lung Cancer Alliance is a strong and vital organization in the fight against this historically neglected disease. They keep their eye on the ball and fight for the dollar...they look to level the playing field for federal funding as compared to many other diseases and medical conditions that have benefitted from far greater funding even though dramatically less fatal. They provide very personalized, high quality patient support programs. And the staff of the organization are bright, committed, passionate individuals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have participated in training offered by this organization and worked directly with its talented staff. They have secured funding in the Department of Defense for lung cancer, which was unprecented (though not for other diseases).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't.

February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

I feel so fortunate to have found Lung Cancer Alliance. My Dad passed away after an 18-month battle with stage 4 non small cell lung cancer on May 29, 2009 at the age of 66. After witnessing my Dad's brave battle with this horrible disease and his devastating physical deterioration, I felt compelled to do something to continue his fight and make sure others didn't have to suffer as he did. In googling lung cancer organizations 5 months after my Dad passed away, I found that there weren't many organizations related to lung cancer. Around November 2009, I found Lung Cancer Alliance, the only national non-profit providing information, support, and advocacy for people living with lung cancer or at risk for the disease. I wish that I had known about Lung Cancer Alliance when my Dad was undergoing treatment. What an invaluable resource this would have been! When I found them in November 2009, I was told they were forming Team Lung Love for their inaugural run in Providence in May 2010. I'd never run a half-marathon before and like the Nike slogan, "Just do it"--I did. At that moment, I started a partnership with Lung Cancer Alliance that I know will continue throughout my life. Team Lung Love was one of the best experiences of my life in which I raised money and awareness for lung cancer. Team Lung Love has made me feel that anything is possible with hard work and a great team behind you. But that run was just the beginning. I could never have guessed all of the places that decision to run as part of Team Lung Love would bring me. I I continued to run as part of Team Lung Love. I was asked to be NYC Team Captain for Team Lung Philly and happily accepted, helping recruit members for the team. I also decided to organize a Shine A Light On Lung Cancer Vigil here in NYC as part of their annual Shine A Light program during Lung Cancer Awareness Month.
I also started speaking at local political and civic groups about lung cancer to educate people on the staggering facts about this underfunded disease that is the # 1 cancer killer in this country. Lung Cancer Alliance gave me the opportunity to make a difference. Through Lung Cancer Alliance, I found my voice as an advocate. Recently at the invitation of Lung Cancer Alliance, I had the opportunity to tell my Dad's story and advocate alongside fellow advocates on behalf of the Lung Cancer Mortality Reduction Act on Capitol Hill as part of their Capitol Forum. My work with their continued support continues at home to gain the support of my Congressman on this legislation.
Lung Cancer Alliance is an amazing organization that helps bring together people of varying backgrounds who share their connection to lung cancer whether through the loss of a friend or loved one or the fact that they are a survivor themselves. I have met an amazing group of people through this organization--people I am proud to call friends. I know everyone at Lung Cancer Alliance personally. They are friends on a mission working tirelessly to end the stigma associated with lung cancer. And so my journey with Lung Cancer Alliance continues. Next stop--running my next half-marathon as part of Team Lung Love Providence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Advocating on Capitol Hill with them on behalf of The Lung Cancer Mortality Reduction Act and seeing the momentum they have built and how they are fighting to reverse decades of stigma and neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make at this time. They are the only organization out there doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I wonderful group of people who had similar experiences. This group enabled us to bong and become friends and support each other.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience made me feel empowered--as if I were making a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 13, 2011

I discovered LCA when someone who was like a Mother to me was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer. Lung Cancer Alliance was there to provide information and support. Though Merrillyn Stevens lost her battle with the disease only 10 months after her diagnosis, Lung Cancer Alliance carries on the fight for all. I have personally met and spoken with several members of their staff, and many of their advocates. This is a top-notch organization completely dedicated to reversing decades of stigma and supporting those currently struggling with lung cancer. I respect members of the staff so much for what they've accomplished in such a short amount of time with the limited resources they have. They are so knowledgeable and professional, and sooooo caring. With LCA on our side, I know that someday we will win the fight against this deadly disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Lung Cancer Alliance has helped many people I know, including my best friend who lost her mother to Lung Cancer. They are on top of what's going on legislatively and in the medical community. They initiated the Shine a Light on Lung Cancer program, and now it's nationwide. We held a vigil in the Orlando area in November 2010 and will hold one again in 2011. Their support is amazing. They are making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them tons of money so they can further the cause. They are responsible, educated, and honest, and they are doing GREAT THINGS!!

February 9, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2011

Words cannot describe how i feel about the LCA! I felt impowered the minute i met all who work for the LCA! Being an advocate, here in California, has not only been rewarding but has been making a difference.
My girlfriend Sheila died from lung cancer. We were friends for over 45 yrs!
Watching her go through this devastating cancer was ,need i say, most difficult. I was blessed to go to CAPITOL HILL and help with the legislation process to get lung cancer noticed, to give information and tell our stories. I am mad as hell that we are he most underfunded,ignored and stigmatized cancer! Along with the LCA and here in SAN DIEGO with
BREATH OF HOPE, we all, the volunteers AND the survivors will fight to be on the same playing field. For us to have the goal of conquering this cancer, to rid this cancer from our human experience! LCA is amazing! They are strong and I am proud to belong to this loving,caring, group of people! Watch out!
MONICA WAY

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

everything i have been connected with LCA has been great.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing is to get more volunteers, hire more to keep this vision going

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.