Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.84815
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

After my mom passed away of lung cancer and my friend's mom also passed four months after, she found a Shine the Light vigil put on by the LCA which we attended. After that, we wanted to be more involved and decided to start a Shine the Light vigil in our part of town. Later on we wanted to know of walks that were put on by the LCA in Houston and we found none. It was then that we decided to start one and put the vigil on hold. Since then, we contacted Lanni with LCA and after speaking to her she came to Houston and met with us and a few other volunteers. Our journey started! with the collaboration, we are proud to have the FIRST Lung Love Walk in Houston on November 8, 2014 and we have raised more than half of what our original goal was! We have the volunteers all willing to help and put this walk together but it could not have been possible without the guidance of LCA, for this I am thankful that we have found not just someone to walk us through the process, but an organization that offers support, awareness, and such to volunteers, caregivers and more importantly to survivors. We want to be part of an organization that wants to END THE STIGMA and make people aware that lung cancer is the deadliest cancer and YET the least funded. I speak for many who have worked to put this walk in saying that I am thankful for LCA. Thanks again!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I became acquainted with LCA in 2010, several months after my husband passed away quickly from stage 4 lung cancer. I sincerely wish that the hospital staff would have known of LCA and shared their resources with me. In the past 4 years I have been part of one amazing experience after another as part of the LCA family, advocating for public awareness and supporting others going through this horrific journey.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

My husband and I had the privilege of attending the 6th Annual Lung Cancer Summit sponsored by the Lung Cancer Alliance, a remarkable group of dedicated and caring professionals. We learned so much during this Summit and returned home energized. Lung cancer is very much a part of our lives. LCA helped us get past the "shock and awe" of this devastating disease and move forward, in a positive direction, to advocate for all who are affected by lung cancer. We are very proud to be associated with this wonderful organization and look forward to working with everyone at LCA to fulfill their important mission.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The LCA is the single organization I know that is always rolling up its sleeves, as it were, to pitch against lung cancer. The staff is tireless and focused, and anyone who has been involved with the LCA, as I have since my wife died four years ago, can already see the progress in awareness, screening, and reduced stigmatization of lung cancer victims. Needless to say, there is a long way to go until lung cancer is given the national attention it deserves, and the task seems like the labor of Sisyphus, but when the day arrives that it is, it will be the LCA that will finally push that rock to the top of the hill--and it won't roll back down.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I lost my sister to lung cancer on Jan 4, 2013, four days after she was diagnosed. My world was turned upside down and I had friends and family asking who they should make donations to. I found Lung Cancer Alliance listed as one of the top ten cancer organizations. I had no idea how close to my heart they would become. They are champions of their cause and I am honored to be a part of it. Their team is made up of caring, compassionate, determined people who are trying to make changes that will help those with lung cancer and those at risk for lung cancer. I recently attended the LCA Summit in Washington, DC with my daughter and it was one of the best experiences of my life. Thank you all; the team at LCA, the surivors and those who have lost loved ones. I believe we made a difference and isn't that what we are here for?
October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I am a Stage 4 Lung Cancer survivor who has just celebrated the 6 year milestone. Although treatment is ongoing and there are always surprises and new progression, I have a good quality of life. It is important for me to utilize this time and add purpose and leave a legacy. Through LCA I volunteer as a Phone Buddy to help others.
I post in chat rooms to share experiences with those who may be just starting a clinical trial that I have been on for two years. I use my coaching skills to help others locally and online. LCA is supportive and involved. Their efforts to help us with our first Shine a LIght on Lung Cancer in November is valuable.
Their recognition of outstanding Support Groups raises the awareness of patient needs and their work on Capital Hill is critical to research funding that contribute to our survivorship.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send more money their way to increase the funding for lung cancer even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Being a survivor myself, I know how important it is to talk to people who have already traveled the road that many are traveling now. I love being a "Phone Buddy" and hope that I give some encouragement to those I talk too. I don't fool myself that everyone will have the same outcome I did (8 years survivor and cancer free) but if they can feel good about themselves and have a glimmer of hope that will make their lives better while fighting the fight of their life, that is what I want to do. Everyone fights battles of all kinds in their lives but if you can share yours with like minded people you actually get more reward out of doing it than the person you are talking too. I hope to continue with The Lung Cancer Alliance as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It really isn't a change and I don't know how to do it but..........Get the word out there more somehow that there are people who will share their experiences with you if you desire to talk about your journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I am a Lung Cancer Survivor and have volunteered with LCA for about 7 or 8 yrs. I am a Phone Buddy and am very pleased with the role. I spend an hour or more with a patient, sometime more. It is a give and take conversation. I enjoy talking with patients and am so glad that I am able to help others. I want to personally thank LCA for making this program possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I volunteered to be a phone buddy and spent over an hour in a telephone interview. As a three-time lung cancer survivor including surgery, chemo and CyberKnife radiation, I was assured I would be in demand
because there was only one other phone buddy who had had CyberKnife treatmentat that
time.
Months went by without contact. I was called a second time for another interview and again never heard a word.
I am now a fourth-time survivor (survovor to me meaning at least one clean PET scan between treatments.
Why the assurance and time investment if I'm not going to be used ?
Phil
wuzzfuzz11743@verizon.net

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I attended a conference last year with Lung Cancer Alliance and found it to be one of the best organized, most cost effective organization I have seen. The conference stayed on topic, accomplished its mission and created a wonderful and productive experience for all who attended. The organization raises funds for what it needs and has a great deal of transparency. I have known quite a few non-profits and this one ranks very, very high on my list. The leadership, both lay and professional, is excellent!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.