Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.830995
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

An amazing organization working through grassroots campaigns to make legislative changes that will impact this field for generations to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2012

more

August 3, 2012

I am a 13 year lung cancer survivor who has been involved with the LCA for over 7 years. First I was given support by the many caring individuals that make up this organization. I have since giving back to other lung cancer survivors through this organization. I also have seen them push for legislative measures to support the research funding for this much maligned disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My view of how a few people can change people's attitudes towards a disease and the people affected by it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To show support to my fellow cancer survivors.

August 3, 2012

more

August 3, 2012

As a senior physician and surgeon who has spent most of his adult life treating patients with lung cancer, I greatly appreciate the wonderful work done by Lung Cancer Alliance (LCA). Many advocacy groups are run by kind, caring individuals who are well-meaning but ineffective in fostering positive change in treatment of disease. This is most definitely NOT true of LCA. The organization is kind and compassionate, but also has a very clear understaning of lung cancer, why current management is insufficient and what needs to be done to safe lives and alleviate suffering. Armed with this knowledge, they effectively, forcefully and fearlessly plan, inform and advocate social, plitical and public health policy change to prevent the disease and foster early detection at a stage where curative treatment is available.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

My mom passed away due to lung cancer in 2002. It will be 10 years this September. At the time of her diagnosis she had been a 21 year non smoker. My biggest frustration was the futility of my Mom's passing at such a young age when she was so vibrant and had so much more to give to the world. She was also completely healthy otherwise. In 2009 due to a recruiting e-mail at work I found out about Lung Cancer Alliance. I was immediately impressed with the passion and commitment of the organization and in time I became even more impressed with what this organization has accomplished. I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2011

My father and three friends, all of whom were never smokers died of lung cancer. I also lost three former smoker friends to the disease. I am a never smoker and was lucky to be diagnosed with Stage 3A lung cancer. I am an eight year survivor!I I want to help make a difference and save lives. That is why I am volunteering with the Lung Cancer Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 2, 2011

I am a 42 year old woman living with Stage IV lung cancer. The Lung Cancer Alliance is a strong and vital organization in the fight against this historically neglected disease. They keep their eye on the ball and fight for the dollar...they look to level the playing field for federal funding as compared to many other diseases and medical conditions that have benefitted from far greater funding even though dramatically less fatal. They provide very personalized, high quality patient support programs. And the staff of the organization are bright, committed, passionate individuals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have participated in training offered by this organization and worked directly with its talented staff. They have secured funding in the Department of Defense for lung cancer, which was unprecented (though not for other diseases).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't.

February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

I feel so fortunate to have found Lung Cancer Alliance. My Dad passed away after an 18-month battle with stage 4 non small cell lung cancer on May 29, 2009 at the age of 66. After witnessing my Dad's brave battle with this horrible disease and his devastating physical deterioration, I felt compelled to do something to continue his fight and make sure others didn't have to suffer as he did. In googling lung cancer organizations 5 months after my Dad passed away, I found that there weren't many organizations related to lung cancer. Around November 2009, I found Lung Cancer Alliance, the only national non-profit providing information, support, and advocacy for people living with lung cancer or at risk for the disease. I wish that I had known about Lung Cancer Alliance when my Dad was undergoing treatment. What an invaluable resource this would have been! When I found them in November 2009, I was told they were forming Team Lung Love for their inaugural run in Providence in May 2010. I'd never run a half-marathon before and like the Nike slogan, "Just do it"--I did. At that moment, I started a partnership with Lung Cancer Alliance that I know will continue throughout my life. Team Lung Love was one of the best experiences of my life in which I raised money and awareness for lung cancer. Team Lung Love has made me feel that anything is possible with hard work and a great team behind you. But that run was just the beginning. I could never have guessed all of the places that decision to run as part of Team Lung Love would bring me. I I continued to run as part of Team Lung Love. I was asked to be NYC Team Captain for Team Lung Philly and happily accepted, helping recruit members for the team. I also decided to organize a Shine A Light On Lung Cancer Vigil here in NYC as part of their annual Shine A Light program during Lung Cancer Awareness Month.
I also started speaking at local political and civic groups about lung cancer to educate people on the staggering facts about this underfunded disease that is the # 1 cancer killer in this country. Lung Cancer Alliance gave me the opportunity to make a difference. Through Lung Cancer Alliance, I found my voice as an advocate. Recently at the invitation of Lung Cancer Alliance, I had the opportunity to tell my Dad's story and advocate alongside fellow advocates on behalf of the Lung Cancer Mortality Reduction Act on Capitol Hill as part of their Capitol Forum. My work with their continued support continues at home to gain the support of my Congressman on this legislation.
Lung Cancer Alliance is an amazing organization that helps bring together people of varying backgrounds who share their connection to lung cancer whether through the loss of a friend or loved one or the fact that they are a survivor themselves. I have met an amazing group of people through this organization--people I am proud to call friends. I know everyone at Lung Cancer Alliance personally. They are friends on a mission working tirelessly to end the stigma associated with lung cancer. And so my journey with Lung Cancer Alliance continues. Next stop--running my next half-marathon as part of Team Lung Love Providence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Advocating on Capitol Hill with them on behalf of The Lung Cancer Mortality Reduction Act and seeing the momentum they have built and how they are fighting to reverse decades of stigma and neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make at this time. They are the only organization out there doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I wonderful group of people who had similar experiences. This group enabled us to bong and become friends and support each other.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience made me feel empowered--as if I were making a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 13, 2011

I discovered LCA when someone who was like a Mother to me was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer. Lung Cancer Alliance was there to provide information and support. Though Merrillyn Stevens lost her battle with the disease only 10 months after her diagnosis, Lung Cancer Alliance carries on the fight for all. I have personally met and spoken with several members of their staff, and many of their advocates. This is a top-notch organization completely dedicated to reversing decades of stigma and supporting those currently struggling with lung cancer. I respect members of the staff so much for what they've accomplished in such a short amount of time with the limited resources they have. They are so knowledgeable and professional, and sooooo caring. With LCA on our side, I know that someday we will win the fight against this deadly disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Lung Cancer Alliance has helped many people I know, including my best friend who lost her mother to Lung Cancer. They are on top of what's going on legislatively and in the medical community. They initiated the Shine a Light on Lung Cancer program, and now it's nationwide. We held a vigil in the Orlando area in November 2010 and will hold one again in 2011. Their support is amazing. They are making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them tons of money so they can further the cause. They are responsible, educated, and honest, and they are doing GREAT THINGS!!

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

My wife, Sheila, passed away in September 2009 and the Lung Cancer Alliance was instrumental in providing an outlet for me to channel my need to "do something." So I turned my attention to raising money to assist in their mission - awareness building, and legislative advocacy. The level of care for lung cancer patients needs to be on parity with the other cancers (breast, prostate, colon) that get far more funding, even though their death rates are far less than lung cancer patients.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sheila was an avid tennis player and I promised her that I would put on a tennis tournament in her name, with the proceeds going to the LCA. So the LCA helped me with getting that event successfully up and running.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Less reliance on the few survivors who may or may not be in a position to help, or advocates who come and go.

February 9, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2011

Our lung cancer support group found LCA on the web. We wanted to be part of something, to put our site on the map, so we did the "Shine the Light Vigil". Soon after, we were invited to Washington DC for their 4th Annual Conference. Little did we know that we would be part of a movement to promote "The Lung Cancer Mortality Reduction Act". LCA has given us hope that something will be done to increase awareness and decrease mortality rates for lung cancer. We are thankful for all of the people that work for LCA, for giving us the inspiration and knowledge we need to keep fighting for better treatment plans and funding for research, for early detection. Lung cancer should not be the leading cause of cancer deaths.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting the staff and seeing first hand, how they are passionate in their fight against lung cancer. Reading about all of their accomplishments by funding cancer programs for patients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would clone each and every one of them to have a bigger and better force to fight against lung cancer.

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.