Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.845
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

The Lung Cancer Alliance has motivated me to help create public awareness about lung cancer. There is a lot of stigma associated with the disease. LCA has given me the tools to help reverse it. I h... more

April 7, 2013

I am a 10 year lung cancer survivor. Only 15% of us survive 5 years or more. When my best friend fell off her patio and was x-rayed at the emergency room, she was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer. Six months later I had an occasional cough after having had a bad cold. After much nagging from my husband to go to the doctor (I accused him of overreacting because of my friend), I want to the doctor. I was diagnosed with Stage 3A lung cancer. We were both never smokers.


I was lucky. I was able to have surgery (the gold standard of care), my friend was not. She died 2 years after her diagnosis after the cancer had spread to her brain and lumbar.

When people learn I am a lung cancer survivor, they ask if I smoked. That question implies that a person who smokes deserves to die. No one deserves to die. The Lung Cancer Alliance actively works to erase the stigma of lung cancer, provide patient support services, and advocate for public health dollars for research.

The Lung Cancer Alliance is a major force in advocating for the Recalcitrant Cancer Act which charges NCI to develop a coordinated, comprehensive plan to provide research for cancers which have a low survival rate and specifically targets lung cancer.

I am a volunteer with the Lung Cancer Alliance to advocate for its goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

The Lung Cancer Alliance has motivated me to help create public awareness about lung cancer. There is a lot of stigma associated with the disease. LCA has given me the tools to help reverse it. I have gained the confidence to appear on radio and television and write letters to the editor. Little by little, I think I am making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

AS A LUNG CANCER SURVIVOR I AM VERY DEDICATED TO THIS AWESOME ORGANIZATION. I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF THE PHONE BUDDY PROGRAM AND I AM A VOLUNTEER IN THIS WORTHY PROGRAM. THE BREATH OF HOPE WALK IN SAN DIEGO, CA IS AN AWESOME EVENT SPONSORED BY LUNG CANCER ALLIANCE TO RAISE ADVOCACY FOR THIS POORLY REPRESENTED DISEASE. THIS ORGANIZATION IS BABLY NEEDED AND DOING SO MUCH TO HELP THE LUNG CANCER CAUSE. SINCERELY, DONNA ENGELBERT

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

As a 2 year Lung Cancer survior Lung Cancer Alliance has given me hope and motivated me to fight for awareness from the stigma that goes with having lung cancer. Lung Cancer Alliance is the only national non-profit organization dedicated solely to providing support and advocacy for people living with or at risk for the disease. They have a great mission: ending injustice and saving lives through an alliance of advocacy, education and support. There vision is to reduce lung cancer mortality by at least 50% by 2020. I come from a family history of Lung Cancer and those words were music in my ears. I want my children and grandchildern to have a better chance and clear understanding of Lung Cancer and real change needs to come. With Lung Cancer Alliance I know in my heart they are at a tipping point and making a difference everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I became a phone buddy for the Lung Cancer Alliance to help others discover the gift of early detection. Having just crossed the threshold of 5 years survivorship, I am testament that detection at Stage 1 is life affirming. The staff at LCA works tirelessly to have our voices heard and bring needed attention to the devastation of lung cancer on the lives of millions annually. It is an awesome organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I lost my husband and his brother to lung cancer,I was devastated. I needed to process my feelings and learn more about this horrible disease. Both of these men stopped smoking 20 or more years before they were diagnosed;however,it was the lung cancer alliance that provided me with the facts that you never hear in the media.People look down on lung cancer patients because they smoked, regardless of the circumstances,but LCA through their diligence gets the facts out and takes the shame away. I mourn these precious souls everyday;but I am grateful to the LCA for being there for me and allowing me to hold my head up high and know that they are doing more than any other organization has ever done to see that research is done and everyone has a chance to know the truth about this dreaded disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I discovered Lung Cancer Alliance after lung cancer ended my mom's life on this earth too soon. I am encouraged by the articles they share and the activities they host to shed light on the LARGEST cancer killer that exists. November is National LUNG Cancer Awareness Month...White is the color of ribbon that represents the largest cancer killer...but this form of cancer STILL NEEDS more publicity. Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigils will take place in November, and the LCA is working hard to shine a light on this awful disease that needs SO much more attention among our communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a lung cancer survivor and a volunteer, I am very grateful for the advocacy that Lung Cancer Alliance provides to so many. The integrity and credibility of the organization is second to none. I am most appreciative of LCA’s effective work in the area of public policy and care for and assistance for the patients and families with lung cancer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This non-profit was unknown to me until my father was diagnosed with lung cancer 2 years ago. In my mind it seemed as if my dad was diagnosed and gone before I even had a chance to comprehend what was happening. My father was diagnosed in the summer of 2010 and left us on October 2, 2010. Through the shine-a-light vigil held in Syracuse NY that November, my siblings and I were embraced and held while we mourned. Through donation and fund raising I feel that I am helping to push forward the importance of government funding and increasing the publics knowledge about this horrific disease. I will continue to fight on behalf of patients, survivors, loved ones and those that champion the lung cancer cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is the most informative non-profit I've seen through their emails. Love their message "No one deserves to die!" They are the only ones who are making progress in getting the word out about Lung Cancer and getting the funds to find a cure and early detection. I admire them immensely.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Lung Cancer Alliance works deligently to bring people together to promote real change. They are not about just throwing money at a problem, they are about changing policy to make a difference immediately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.