Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.845
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Late December 2010, I went to the Urgent Care thinking I had a sever bronchial infection. Had pneumonia and a "shadow" in the lung xray. Be the beginning of February 2011, it was decide to remove a large wedge of the upper right lobe of my lung and several small wedges. January 2012 saw return of several tumors. Started chemo at end of June 2012 until end of October 2012, Avastin only for 2 1/2 months and then pneumonia in January 2013 showed tumors back. Went back on chemo until April 2013 and have been on Tarceva since. I also have COPD and Crohn's. Chemo and Crohn's do not want to work well together. Due to sever dehydration, I have been hospitalized twice since on the Tarceva. Have finally gotten things under semi control and living well right now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I, too found out about my stage I lung cancer by accident. A routine x-ray revealed "a mass". My journey began that day and now, almost two years later, I am alive thanks to my amazing and wonderful doctor at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. I joined the Lung Cancer Alliance to get support, information and most of all to share my continuing medical journey.
The stories we share are sometimes sad, hopeful, full of joy and love. Here's mine, I live life today and in the now. Thanks, LCA, for being my partner along this road.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, keep up the great work and keeping us updated on the latest treatment information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2009

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I was diganoised with lung cancer, I needed information! I turned to Lung Cancer Alliance. They not only sent me lots of information, but put me in touch w... more

October 7, 2013

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I got it I was so devastated I didn't know where to turn Someone recommended Lung Cancer Alliance, and they have been wonderful! I have been to Capitol to fight for additional funding for research, and will continue to do so. The information, and support they give is nothing short of excellent!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make none! All calls I made were handled on time, and with encouragement, and compassion all information was current and all staff were professional!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2009

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I was diganoised with lung cancer, I needed information! I turned to Lung Cancer Alliance. They not only sent me lots of information, but put me in touch with a telephone buddy, who called me and gave me much encouragement. I very much appreciated the help, information, and caring I got from them. I now am a telephone buddy, and I want to give back to all those who helped me through the diffucult times I had facing this unpleasent disease.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

How scared people are helped, and the kindness this organization shows them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe put more information in hospitals and doctors offices, telling people there is help out there for lung cancer victums.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The caring people. The advocacy they are pursing for lung cancer research.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Helpful, kind, and caring!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help lung cancer research programs, and have more screening for lung cancer.

Ways to make it better...

I really cannot think of any way.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Lack of funds.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Thanks Lung Cancer Alliance for your wonderful help at a time when I needed it .

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was found to have stage 1 lung cancer. It was found out by accident, I had gone to the Dr, for my gall bladder and they saw something on the x-ray. So immediately they sent me to a lung specialist. He watched it carefully for 6 months. then it started changing and they did a biopsy and came back as cancer. I had the best doctors in the world. They took out part of my right lung, then I went through chemo but now I am fine. I do go to a lung cancer support group but there was none around till this very nice gentleman started one. You don't ever see anything about lung cancer. Breast cancer things are all over .They need to have things for us too.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a newly diagnosed lung cancer patient, I was overwhelmed with information. And since I was diagnosed with stage IV NSCLC, what I was reading was dismal and discouraging. Connecting with others that are surviving and joining in the fight to end the stigmas that lung cancer is only a smokers disease have helped me become hopeful about my future and survival.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

Thank god there out there fighting for more funding for Lung Cancer. I have no problem donating to there organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I couldn't get this organization to agree to call for a BAN on the tobacco drug, which CAUSES almost ALL lung and other cancers, so I told them they should disband, since they are NOT serious about ending lung and/or other cancers!

BAN THE ILLEGAL TOBACCO DRUG, NOW AND PROSECUTE THE
CRIMINAL TOBACCO PUSHERS, TOO!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CALL FOR AN IMMEDIATE BAN ON THE ILLEGAL TOBACCO DRUG!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I am a Lung Cancer Survivor and have volunteered with LCA for about 7 or 8 yrs. I am a Phone Buddy and am very pleased with the role. I spend an hour or more with a patient, sometime more. It is a give and take conversation. I enjoy talking with patients and am so glad that I am able to help others. I want to personally thank LCA for making this program possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I volunteered to be a phone buddy and spent over an hour in a telephone interview. As a three-time lung cancer survivor including surgery, chemo and CyberKnife radiation, I was assured I would be in demand
because there was only one other phone buddy who had had CyberKnife treatmentat that
time.
Months went by without contact. I was called a second time for another interview and again never heard a word.
I am now a fourth-time survivor (survovor to me meaning at least one clean PET scan between treatments.
Why the assurance and time investment if I'm not going to be used ?
Phil
wuzzfuzz11743@verizon.net

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I attended a conference last year with Lung Cancer Alliance and found it to be one of the best organized, most cost effective organization I have seen. The conference stayed on topic, accomplished its mission and created a wonderful and productive experience for all who attended. The organization raises funds for what it needs and has a great deal of transparency. I have known quite a few non-profits and this one ranks very, very high on my list. The leadership, both lay and professional, is excellent!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.