Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.84815
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

After my mom passed away of lung cancer and my friend's mom also passed four months after, she found a Shine the Light vigil put on by the LCA which we attended. After that, we wanted to be more involved and decided to start a Shine the Light vigil in our part of town. Later on we wanted to know of walks that were put on by the LCA in Houston and we found none. It was then that we decided to start one and put the vigil on hold. Since then, we contacted Lanni with LCA and after speaking to her she came to Houston and met with us and a few other volunteers. Our journey started! with the collaboration, we are proud to have the FIRST Lung Love Walk in Houston on November 8, 2014 and we have raised more than half of what our original goal was! We have the volunteers all willing to help and put this walk together but it could not have been possible without the guidance of LCA, for this I am thankful that we have found not just someone to walk us through the process, but an organization that offers support, awareness, and such to volunteers, caregivers and more importantly to survivors. We want to be part of an organization that wants to END THE STIGMA and make people aware that lung cancer is the deadliest cancer and YET the least funded. I speak for many who have worked to put this walk in saying that I am thankful for LCA. Thanks again!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I found this organization after my sister was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Sadly she passed away 2 years ago. I was able to find support, ask questions & get educated from their site. I am also a runner so I signed up with Team Lung Love. You can run any race anytime & collect donations for LCA. These people have never hounded me for anything. They have wonderful support & give all they have to those in need. They are pushing hard in Washington for better screening so people can get diagnosed sooner & have a chance to live. So glad I found them & thank you so much for all you do.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I became acquainted with LCA in 2010, several months after my husband passed away quickly from stage 4 lung cancer. I sincerely wish that the hospital staff would have known of LCA and shared their resources with me. In the past 4 years I have been part of one amazing experience after another as part of the LCA family, advocating for public awareness and supporting others going through this horrific journey.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

My husband and I had the privilege of attending the 6th Annual Lung Cancer Summit sponsored by the Lung Cancer Alliance, a remarkable group of dedicated and caring professionals. We learned so much during this Summit and returned home energized. Lung cancer is very much a part of our lives. LCA helped us get past the "shock and awe" of this devastating disease and move forward, in a positive direction, to advocate for all who are affected by lung cancer. We are very proud to be associated with this wonderful organization and look forward to working with everyone at LCA to fulfill their important mission.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Last year a friend of ours invited us to a candle vigil for lung cancer and we had nothing else that night so we joined her. Well we listened to personal life experiences, a medical professional and got some education. My husband was a heavy smoker at that time and had been having some breathing issues. So we got him into the doctors office armed with a request for specific testing (not normally done) and yes a few small spots were discovered. After months of follow up the spots were found to not be cancer-however my husband is well on his way to being a nonsmoker and other health issues were discovered in the process. We read the emails we signed up to receive, act on events-requests as best we can, pass on information and are forever grateful that the vigil, speakers and information were available for us at a cost of only our time. You are helping so many people as I know there are a lot more stories out there that are happening right now but are not being told. THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO!!! Debbie and John
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

When I was diagnosed with Stage 2 non small cell lung cancer in 2004, I discovered the Lung Cancer Alliance. I was happy to find an advocacy organization that supported lung cancer survivors and their families, especially since the American Cancer Society was still stigmatizing those diagnosed with lung cancer and doing nothing to assist them. As each year passed, I realized that I had a life to live and have volunteered with the Lung Cancer Alliance to be a Phone Buddy, speaker at Shine A Light in Northern California, and Advocacy Chair in the first Lung Love Run/Walk In Berkeley CA. The Lung Cancer Alliance gets my vote every time because of their tireless efforts on a national level on behalf of survivors, their friends and families, and those at high risk. I'm an example of long-term survival due to early detection and applaud the Lung Cancer Alliance for its valiant work to save lives and increase the survival rate of this deadly disease.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The LCA is the single organization I know that is always rolling up its sleeves, as it were, to pitch against lung cancer. The staff is tireless and focused, and anyone who has been involved with the LCA, as I have since my wife died four years ago, can already see the progress in awareness, screening, and reduced stigmatization of lung cancer victims. Needless to say, there is a long way to go until lung cancer is given the national attention it deserves, and the task seems like the labor of Sisyphus, but when the day arrives that it is, it will be the LCA that will finally push that rock to the top of the hill--and it won't roll back down.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My mom survived lung cancer. She is now healthy and happy. She still has a picture of all of us walking for her, with her, a few years ago at a Lung Cancer Alliance walk in San Diego. The walk brought hope to our family and we are forever grateful.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I lost my sister to lung cancer on Jan 4, 2013, four days after she was diagnosed. My world was turned upside down and I had friends and family asking who they should make donations to. I found Lung Cancer Alliance listed as one of the top ten cancer organizations. I had no idea how close to my heart they would become. They are champions of their cause and I am honored to be a part of it. Their team is made up of caring, compassionate, determined people who are trying to make changes that will help those with lung cancer and those at risk for lung cancer. I recently attended the LCA Summit in Washington, DC with my daughter and it was one of the best experiences of my life. Thank you all; the team at LCA, the surivors and those who have lost loved ones. I believe we made a difference and isn't that what we are here for?
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a 6 year lung cancer survivor - and LCA has helped me through every part of my journey. From first diagnosis, through many times of 'scanxiety', through feelings of guilt for surviving (trust me - it happens), through on-going pain, etc. The people of LCA are my support. I have cried on their shoulders more times than I can count and there ALWAYS was someone there to help wipe my tears with their caring, understanding and love. This is an amazing and powerful organization and I will forever be a member and try to help others as I have been helped.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.