Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.830995
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I lost my sister to lung cancer on Jan 4, 2013, four days after she was diagnosed. My world was turned upside down and I had friends and family asking who they should make donations to. I found Lung Cancer Alliance listed as one of the top ten cancer organizations. I had no idea how close to my heart they would become. They are champions of their cause and I am honored to be a part of it. Their team is made up of caring, compassionate, determined people who are trying to make changes that will help those with lung cancer and those at risk for lung cancer. I recently attended the LCA Summit in Washington, DC with my daughter and it was one of the best experiences of my life. Thank you all; the team at LCA, the surivors and those who have lost loved ones. I believe we made a difference and isn't that what we are here for?
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a 6 year lung cancer survivor - and LCA has helped me through every part of my journey. From first diagnosis, through many times of 'scanxiety', through feelings of guilt for surviving (trust me - it happens), through on-going pain, etc. The people of LCA are my support. I have cried on their shoulders more times than I can count and there ALWAYS was someone there to help wipe my tears with their caring, understanding and love. This is an amazing and powerful organization and I will forever be a member and try to help others as I have been helped.
October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I am a Stage 4 Lung Cancer survivor who has just celebrated the 6 year milestone. Although treatment is ongoing and there are always surprises and new progression, I have a good quality of life. It is important for me to utilize this time and add purpose and leave a legacy. Through LCA I volunteer as a Phone Buddy to help others.
I post in chat rooms to share experiences with those who may be just starting a clinical trial that I have been on for two years. I use my coaching skills to help others locally and online. LCA is supportive and involved. Their efforts to help us with our first Shine a LIght on Lung Cancer in November is valuable.
Their recognition of outstanding Support Groups raises the awareness of patient needs and their work on Capital Hill is critical to research funding that contribute to our survivorship.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send more money their way to increase the funding for lung cancer even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Being a survivor myself, I know how important it is to talk to people who have already traveled the road that many are traveling now. I love being a "Phone Buddy" and hope that I give some encouragement to those I talk too. I don't fool myself that everyone will have the same outcome I did (8 years survivor and cancer free) but if they can feel good about themselves and have a glimmer of hope that will make their lives better while fighting the fight of their life, that is what I want to do. Everyone fights battles of all kinds in their lives but if you can share yours with like minded people you actually get more reward out of doing it than the person you are talking too. I hope to continue with The Lung Cancer Alliance as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It really isn't a change and I don't know how to do it but..........Get the word out there more somehow that there are people who will share their experiences with you if you desire to talk about your journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

In 2000 and 2003, though a NON SMOKER my entire life, I was stricken with lung cancer. My surgeon Dr. Christina Williamson had heard about Lung Cancer Alliance when they were in one room in Seattle, Washington trying to increase awareness about the number one cancer killer. They helped me immediately and made me feel I was not alone. Since then, LCA has moved to Washington, DC and done remarkable things for victims of lung cancer as well as families. I am so proud of what they are doing coast to coast and outside of the USA. They handle the disease by contributing to research, reaching out, advocating and leading the way. They are the best. Gail Matthews

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LCA under the team leadership of Laurie Fenton Ambrose is amazing. Just keep on going as they are. I am so impressed with their growth and the way they reach out to help a disease that came from behind the rear of all diseases.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I also found out about my lung cancer by accident and had a large wedge removed from my right lower lobe on June 27, 2013. The doctors told me the frozen section showed no malignancy, but the final pathology disagreed; I had Stage I adenocarcinoma. I just had my first f/u CAT scan and there has been no change, but I worry a lot about recurrence. I would love to have a support group close to where I live through LCA, but there is not one in the area. I support LCA by being a donor and trying to support others through their journey on the website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more support groups available. Although my friends and family are supportive they really don't understand what I am going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Late December 2010, I went to the Urgent Care thinking I had a sever bronchial infection. Had pneumonia and a "shadow" in the lung xray. Be the beginning of February 2011, it was decide to remove a large wedge of the upper right lobe of my lung and several small wedges. January 2012 saw return of several tumors. Started chemo at end of June 2012 until end of October 2012, Avastin only for 2 1/2 months and then pneumonia in January 2013 showed tumors back. Went back on chemo until April 2013 and have been on Tarceva since. I also have COPD and Crohn's. Chemo and Crohn's do not want to work well together. Due to sever dehydration, I have been hospitalized twice since on the Tarceva. Have finally gotten things under semi control and living well right now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I, too found out about my stage I lung cancer by accident. A routine x-ray revealed "a mass". My journey began that day and now, almost two years later, I am alive thanks to my amazing and wonderful doctor at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. I joined the Lung Cancer Alliance to get support, information and most of all to share my continuing medical journey.
The stories we share are sometimes sad, hopeful, full of joy and love. Here's mine, I live life today and in the now. Thanks, LCA, for being my partner along this road.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, keep up the great work and keeping us updated on the latest treatment information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2009

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I was diganoised with lung cancer, I needed information! I turned to Lung Cancer Alliance. They not only sent me lots of information, but put me in touch w... more

October 7, 2013

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I got it I was so devastated I didn't know where to turn Someone recommended Lung Cancer Alliance, and they have been wonderful! I have been to Capitol to fight for additional funding for research, and will continue to do so. The information, and support they give is nothing short of excellent!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make none! All calls I made were handled on time, and with encouragement, and compassion all information was current and all staff were professional!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2009

When my daughter died from lung cancer, then I was diganoised with lung cancer, I needed information! I turned to Lung Cancer Alliance. They not only sent me lots of information, but put me in touch with a telephone buddy, who called me and gave me much encouragement. I very much appreciated the help, information, and caring I got from them. I now am a telephone buddy, and I want to give back to all those who helped me through the diffucult times I had facing this unpleasent disease.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

How scared people are helped, and the kindness this organization shows them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe put more information in hospitals and doctors offices, telling people there is help out there for lung cancer victums.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The caring people. The advocacy they are pursing for lung cancer research.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Helpful, kind, and caring!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help lung cancer research programs, and have more screening for lung cancer.

Ways to make it better...

I really cannot think of any way.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Lack of funds.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Thanks Lung Cancer Alliance for your wonderful help at a time when I needed it .

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was found to have stage 1 lung cancer. It was found out by accident, I had gone to the Dr, for my gall bladder and they saw something on the x-ray. So immediately they sent me to a lung specialist. He watched it carefully for 6 months. then it started changing and they did a biopsy and came back as cancer. I had the best doctors in the world. They took out part of my right lung, then I went through chemo but now I am fine. I do go to a lung cancer support group but there was none around till this very nice gentleman started one. You don't ever see anything about lung cancer. Breast cancer things are all over .They need to have things for us too.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.