Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.845
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Last year a friend of ours invited us to a candle vigil for lung cancer and we had nothing else that night so we joined her. Well we listened to personal life experiences, a medical professional and got some education. My husband was a heavy smoker at that time and had been having some breathing issues. So we got him into the doctors office armed with a request for specific testing (not normally done) and yes a few small spots were discovered. After months of follow up the spots were found to not be cancer-however my husband is well on his way to being a nonsmoker and other health issues were discovered in the process. We read the emails we signed up to receive, act on events-requests as best we can, pass on information and are forever grateful that the vigil, speakers and information were available for us at a cost of only our time. You are helping so many people as I know there are a lot more stories out there that are happening right now but are not being told. THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO!!! Debbie and John
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

When I was diagnosed with Stage 2 non small cell lung cancer in 2004, I discovered the Lung Cancer Alliance. I was happy to find an advocacy organization that supported lung cancer survivors and their families, especially since the American Cancer Society was still stigmatizing those diagnosed with lung cancer and doing nothing to assist them. As each year passed, I realized that I had a life to live and have volunteered with the Lung Cancer Alliance to be a Phone Buddy, speaker at Shine A Light in Northern California, and Advocacy Chair in the first Lung Love Run/Walk In Berkeley CA. The Lung Cancer Alliance gets my vote every time because of their tireless efforts on a national level on behalf of survivors, their friends and families, and those at high risk. I'm an example of long-term survival due to early detection and applaud the Lung Cancer Alliance for its valiant work to save lives and increase the survival rate of this deadly disease.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The LCA is the single organization I know that is always rolling up its sleeves, as it were, to pitch against lung cancer. The staff is tireless and focused, and anyone who has been involved with the LCA, as I have since my wife died four years ago, can already see the progress in awareness, screening, and reduced stigmatization of lung cancer victims. Needless to say, there is a long way to go until lung cancer is given the national attention it deserves, and the task seems like the labor of Sisyphus, but when the day arrives that it is, it will be the LCA that will finally push that rock to the top of the hill--and it won't roll back down.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My mom survived lung cancer. She is now healthy and happy. She still has a picture of all of us walking for her, with her, a few years ago at a Lung Cancer Alliance walk in San Diego. The walk brought hope to our family and we are forever grateful.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I lost my sister to lung cancer on Jan 4, 2013, four days after she was diagnosed. My world was turned upside down and I had friends and family asking who they should make donations to. I found Lung Cancer Alliance listed as one of the top ten cancer organizations. I had no idea how close to my heart they would become. They are champions of their cause and I am honored to be a part of it. Their team is made up of caring, compassionate, determined people who are trying to make changes that will help those with lung cancer and those at risk for lung cancer. I recently attended the LCA Summit in Washington, DC with my daughter and it was one of the best experiences of my life. Thank you all; the team at LCA, the surivors and those who have lost loved ones. I believe we made a difference and isn't that what we are here for?
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a 6 year lung cancer survivor - and LCA has helped me through every part of my journey. From first diagnosis, through many times of 'scanxiety', through feelings of guilt for surviving (trust me - it happens), through on-going pain, etc. The people of LCA are my support. I have cried on their shoulders more times than I can count and there ALWAYS was someone there to help wipe my tears with their caring, understanding and love. This is an amazing and powerful organization and I will forever be a member and try to help others as I have been helped.
October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I am a Stage 4 Lung Cancer survivor who has just celebrated the 6 year milestone. Although treatment is ongoing and there are always surprises and new progression, I have a good quality of life. It is important for me to utilize this time and add purpose and leave a legacy. Through LCA I volunteer as a Phone Buddy to help others.
I post in chat rooms to share experiences with those who may be just starting a clinical trial that I have been on for two years. I use my coaching skills to help others locally and online. LCA is supportive and involved. Their efforts to help us with our first Shine a LIght on Lung Cancer in November is valuable.
Their recognition of outstanding Support Groups raises the awareness of patient needs and their work on Capital Hill is critical to research funding that contribute to our survivorship.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send more money their way to increase the funding for lung cancer even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Being a survivor myself, I know how important it is to talk to people who have already traveled the road that many are traveling now. I love being a "Phone Buddy" and hope that I give some encouragement to those I talk too. I don't fool myself that everyone will have the same outcome I did (8 years survivor and cancer free) but if they can feel good about themselves and have a glimmer of hope that will make their lives better while fighting the fight of their life, that is what I want to do. Everyone fights battles of all kinds in their lives but if you can share yours with like minded people you actually get more reward out of doing it than the person you are talking too. I hope to continue with The Lung Cancer Alliance as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It really isn't a change and I don't know how to do it but..........Get the word out there more somehow that there are people who will share their experiences with you if you desire to talk about your journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

In 2000 and 2003, though a NON SMOKER my entire life, I was stricken with lung cancer. My surgeon Dr. Christina Williamson had heard about Lung Cancer Alliance when they were in one room in Seattle, Washington trying to increase awareness about the number one cancer killer. They helped me immediately and made me feel I was not alone. Since then, LCA has moved to Washington, DC and done remarkable things for victims of lung cancer as well as families. I am so proud of what they are doing coast to coast and outside of the USA. They handle the disease by contributing to research, reaching out, advocating and leading the way. They are the best. Gail Matthews

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LCA under the team leadership of Laurie Fenton Ambrose is amazing. Just keep on going as they are. I am so impressed with their growth and the way they reach out to help a disease that came from behind the rear of all diseases.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I also found out about my lung cancer by accident and had a large wedge removed from my right lower lobe on June 27, 2013. The doctors told me the frozen section showed no malignancy, but the final pathology disagreed; I had Stage I adenocarcinoma. I just had my first f/u CAT scan and there has been no change, but I worry a lot about recurrence. I would love to have a support group close to where I live through LCA, but there is not one in the area. I support LCA by being a donor and trying to support others through their journey on the website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more support groups available. Although my friends and family are supportive they really don't understand what I am going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host or join a Shine A Light on Lung Cancer Vigil in your community to raise awareness and provide hope, compassion and support for all those impacted.