Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

Being born and raised in the DC area I have participated in a lot of volunteer organizations however, never have I cried, laughed and felt more proud to be a part of an organization. What they do is ... more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Not only have I been a volunteer for over a year at this point, I have also taken this cause on as my platform for the Exquisite International pageant. I volunteer as well as help spread awareness on this cause because in my heart they are the most important charity I could ever spend my free time working for. I hope that more people come to realize that taking care of our wounded Veterans is not a luxury its a necessity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding that they deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Being born and raised in the DC area I have participated in a lot of volunteer organizations however, never have I cried, laughed and felt more proud to be a part of an organization. What they do is so incredible and helps on a level that is SO important in helping our wounded Veterans know they are not forgotten for their sacrifice. I hold their mission very close to my heart and look forward to helping them connect Veterans with their families for years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Though I am not a member of the military nor a family member of a wounded warrior, I do spend considerable time with both. I have witnessed on countless occasions the evidence of the joy and gratitude of those wounded and their friends and families as they share time together that otherwise would not be possible. Luke's Wings makes that possible. Where some organizations only transport immediate family, Luke's Wings brings friends together as well. Friends are a crucial part of the healing process. God bless this organization for their work in connecting these families and friends. The personal service and dedication of each of their employees is clearly a passion with each of them. Whenever anyone asks who they should donate their hard earned dollars to I always recommend Luke's Wings!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

First let say that I am a big military supporter. I wanted to be involved in ways other than money. It is hard to do this when you yourself are not in the military. I was not sure how to get involved until I met Lindsay Kin. She is one of the nicest, most well spoken people I know. When she talked to me about "Luke's Wings" I knew it was an organization that made such a difference that I wanted to be involved. Then I met Fletcher Gill, Jennifer Megerer and Tammi Armstrong and I knew I had to be apart of this group of incredibly hard working people dedicated to their cause. I have now worked with "Luke's Wings" for the last two years and am proud of what they do and want as many people to know what a special organization this truly is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is such an incredible organization and I have never had a more fulfilling volunteer position. Fletcher Gill and Lindsay Kin are tremendous leaders who share their passion for wounded warriors by working tirelessly to make sure they receive the care and support they need by having their family and loved ones close by. Lindsay has done an amazing job getting the word out and getting the community involved and supporting the Luke's Wings cause especially through the use of social media and warming our hearts daily with pictures of a wounded warrior surrounded by their support system. We receive dozens of emails a month letting us know of upcoming volunteer activities, sharing good news and upcoming fundraising events so we can always find ways to stay involved . I wear my shirt proudly around town and have been stopped a few times with veterans sharing their experience with Luke's Wings with me and how it changed the course of their recovery and is part of the reason they are here today. All of us volunteers have been treated with nothing but kindness and we always feel as though we are a part of the D.C philanthropic community and doing our part to those soldiers who have done so much for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is a wonderful organization that is 100% committed to reuniting military families. When the men and women of our country bravely volunteer for our country abroad, we must remember that their families are also serving their country by supporting our servicemen. Luke's Wings helps to support those families by reuniting them following an injury, in times of need, during the holidays, etc. Luke's Wings is also a very efficient organization - it is well-managed and works to ensure that every donated dollar is well-spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came across the opportunity to volunteer for Luke's Wings a few years ago shortly after moving to DC and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had as a volunteer! Everyone was so friendly, warm and welcoming in what can at times feel like a difficult social scene to break into. Coming from a military background, I can't say enough regarding how passionate this core group is about helping our wounded warriors and their families during such a critical time of need by connecting them with their loved ones. I love to see how much Luke's Wings continues to grow and can't wait to see what's in store for it's future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of the best nonprofits ever! Fletcher Gill and Lindsay Kin, who manage this wonderful organization are two of the most selfless people I've ever met. My schedule has been a little crazy lately, but as often as I am available and they have a need, I'm happy to be involved with Luke's Wings. The events are well planned and executed, with no detail overlooked. They treat their volunteers like royalty and are truly grateful for the time given. I always have to pack extra mascara and tissues when I go to an event, though, as my heart overflows through my tears when talking to the soldiers who have been helped. Thank you, Luke's Wings (and Fletcher & Lindsay), for the opportunity to serve!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have witnessed, first-hand, just how much Fletcher, Lindsay, and the rest of the Luke's Wings team, care about their mission. The flights they provide have already positively changed thousands of lives, and yet they always have their mind focused on how they can help the next family. They are trustworthy and thoughtful, and they deserve your support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is an incredible organization that I have had the joy of volunteering with this past year. I became aware of the organization by chance, as one of my friends had attended one of their events and told me of their effort in helping wounded warriors and their families. Being from Annapolis, I have a tremendous amount of respect for not only the Navy, but all branches of the military. I am an event planner, and when I heard that Luke's Wings was in need of assistance in planning their fundraising events, I immediately offered my services, free of charge. DC is a city where there are events benefitting charities practically every night, and the competition to raise funds for worthy organizations is fierce. The only way to make your charity known is through publicity, and those involved with Luke's Wings work tirelessly to create awareness and raise funds to maintain their core values and fulfill their mission of providing free airline tickets and hotel stays for the families of our wounded soldiers. Luke's Wings is completely transparent in everything they do, and were recently recognized by the White House for their hard work and dedication to members of our military. They have flown countless service members and their families, and if you need any confirmation of the difference Luke's Wings has made in their lives, there are plenty of stories you can read about on the Luke's Wings website. I absolutely admire this organization and the people involved in making a difference, and look forward to volunteering with them for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers