Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came across the opportunity to volunteer for Luke's Wings a few years ago shortly after moving to DC and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had as a volunteer! Everyone was so friendly, warm and welcoming in what can at times feel like a difficult social scene to break into. Coming from a military background, I can't say enough regarding how passionate this core group is about helping our wounded warriors and their families during such a critical time of need by connecting them with their loved ones. I love to see how much Luke's Wings continues to grow and can't wait to see what's in store for it's future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of the best nonprofits ever! Fletcher Gill and Lindsay Kin, who manage this wonderful organization are two of the most selfless people I've ever met. My schedule has been a little crazy lately, but as often as I am available and they have a need, I'm happy to be involved with Luke's Wings. The events are well planned and executed, with no detail overlooked. They treat their volunteers like royalty and are truly grateful for the time given. I always have to pack extra mascara and tissues when I go to an event, though, as my heart overflows through my tears when talking to the soldiers who have been helped. Thank you, Luke's Wings (and Fletcher & Lindsay), for the opportunity to serve!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have witnessed, first-hand, just how much Fletcher, Lindsay, and the rest of the Luke's Wings team, care about their mission. The flights they provide have already positively changed thousands of lives, and yet they always have their mind focused on how they can help the next family. They are trustworthy and thoughtful, and they deserve your support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son in law was severely injured in Afghanistan this past April, he lost all of his limbs which has been terribly tragic for him, his wife and baby girl. Shortly after we arrived at Walter Reed, we were approached by the nicest, sweetest, most generous representatives from Luke's Wings. They have flown several members of our family to and from Walter Reed a number of times, so that we could help during this most difficult, life-altering time in our children's lives. With out the help of Luke's Wings, there is no way we could have been there to help out. The people that work for this loving organization have brought baked goods to the soldiers, they come and talk to the families and quickly become friends to those of us who are like fish out of water. It's very hard dealing with a tragedy when it hits, and it's harder when you're in an unfamiliar city with unfamiliar faces and the constant worry about your loved one. Lukes Wings was a God send for our family and they continue to help us five months later, it's been vital in our soldier's recovery. Thank you to ALL that work for Luke's Wings and to the generous donors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

You don't have to ask me if this charity is worthwhile - attend any fundraiser and ask any soldier. Better yet, ask a soldier's parent who was flown in thanks to Luke's Wings. Our soldiers are so strong and brave, and they might not always ask to have their parents by their sides. Enter Luke's Wings. With a simple phone call or email, mom has herself a ticket to Walter Reed to be there. This charity is "technically" a military-based charity, but that's incomplete. This charity serves families, and keeps them together at some of the most difficult times they can face. I'm beyond impressed!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Reviewers on GuideStar have the opportunity to rate the impact of a charity, with the highest being "Life Changing." No organization meets that mark the way Luke's Wings does. They work tirelessly to provide soldiers with the best support system and unconditional love - that of their families. They are successful because they truly believe in their cause and work steadfastly to fulfill their mission statement. This is not a hobby or a pet project - this is their passion. Thank you Luke's Wings, for taking the initiative on something we all should be doing without question - supporting our troops and their families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm so saddened to see bullying on the review page of one of the best organizations that I have ever encountered. What Luke's Wings does for our veterans and their families is so noble, so giving. I had the honor of talking to wounded veterans from Iraq and Afghanistan at a recent fundraiser and they were so appreciative - one even said it made all the difference in his recovery. Luke's Wings is a small non--profit with a small team, and they pour their hearts and souls into helping out veterans and families so that no soldier has to recover alone. The impact that these individuals has made already - and continues to make - is humbling. They are an inspiration to more than those they serve, they set an example for everyone around them. Bravo, Luke's Wings!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is an incredible organization that I have had the joy of volunteering with this past year. I became aware of the organization by chance, as one of my friends had attended one of their events and told me of their effort in helping wounded warriors and their families. Being from Annapolis, I have a tremendous amount of respect for not only the Navy, but all branches of the military. I am an event planner, and when I heard that Luke's Wings was in need of assistance in planning their fundraising events, I immediately offered my services, free of charge. DC is a city where there are events benefitting charities practically every night, and the competition to raise funds for worthy organizations is fierce. The only way to make your charity known is through publicity, and those involved with Luke's Wings work tirelessly to create awareness and raise funds to maintain their core values and fulfill their mission of providing free airline tickets and hotel stays for the families of our wounded soldiers. Luke's Wings is completely transparent in everything they do, and were recently recognized by the White House for their hard work and dedication to members of our military. They have flown countless service members and their families, and if you need any confirmation of the difference Luke's Wings has made in their lives, there are plenty of stories you can read about on the Luke's Wings website. I absolutely admire this organization and the people involved in making a difference, and look forward to volunteering with them for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The work that Luke's Wings is doing is priceless!! Not only do the donations help families visit recovering troops, but they're also helping these same wounded warriors get home for Christmas. The core team of staff and volunteers are so compassionate, professional and sympathetic to what these families are going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings reminds us that we must not forget those who serve, and particularly those who have been injured in that service. Luke's Wings brings family and service members together when often the individuals themselves can not afford it and this makes a tremendous impact on them, their families and their communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers