Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It has been an honor and a priviledge to serve our wounded warriors. While I am satisfied about raising over $1,000,000.00 and delivering flights to almost 1,000 wounded warrior families....it's only half way there. We are committed to continuing this mission. Our wounded warriors deserve and need their families by their bedsides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband was severly wounded in Iraq in 2008. We lived in the Maryland area for 4 years while my husband spent countless hours going back and worth to Walter Reed Army Medical Center. At the end of 2011 we decided we wanted to go back to my husbands home state of Arkansas to visit with his entire family for Christmas. We were trying to plan our trip when I remembered Luke's Wings helps get soldiers home for the hoildays. I called and after some careful planning we were not only able to fly our entire family of 6 to Arkansas but they also helped us with a rental car. I'm not sure Luke's Wings even does rental cars all the time but with 4 little boys we needed a car to get around to visit family members. We spent 2 weeks reconnecting with my husbands family and enjoyed ever last minute we could with them. It was truly a blessing to have had the oppunity to not worry about ligistics and driving and hotels!! Anyone with kids knows how hard it is to plan long trips!! Thank you Luke's Wings you were a large part in our awesome family time;)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son was critically wounded in Afghanistan last year. We live in Southern California and Justin is in Bethesda Maryland. Being that far from home it is extremely difficult. Thank Goodness for Luke's Wings helping to fly Justin and I home to be with our family for our 30 days of leave this year! We could not have done it without you! Thank you so much again..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Though I am not a member of the military nor a family member of a wounded warrior, I do spend considerable time with both. I have witnessed on countless occasions the evidence of the joy and gratitude of those wounded and their friends and families as they share time together that otherwise would not be possible. Luke's Wings makes that possible. Where some organizations only transport immediate family, Luke's Wings brings friends together as well. Friends are a crucial part of the healing process. God bless this organization for their work in connecting these families and friends. The personal service and dedication of each of their employees is clearly a passion with each of them. Whenever anyone asks who they should donate their hard earned dollars to I always recommend Luke's Wings!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Wonderful origination! The work you do to help wounded warriors be with family at this most important time in their recovery is wonderful for the family and the soldier. Keep up the fabulous work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Last September my husband lost both his legs in Afghanistan. I learned about Luke's Wings from Jennifer who we met at the Fisher House. She was so kind to our family and we now consider her a dear friend. She is always wearing a smile and has a heart of gold. Luke's Wings flew out our son and our nephew from California and our niece from Texas, during the Christmas holiday last year. That ment so much to Travis and the kids. Working with them is simple. I filled out a form and that day I was comtacted and had flights for the kids. They have helped our family two other times and we are truely THANKFUL. Our Family Loves Luke's Wings! Thank You so Much for what you do for us! We will always be THANKFUL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son was wounded in Afghanistan on May 8th. We received word of his injuries shortly thereafter. At first we were in shock that our son had lost both legs, the right leg just below the knee and his left leg at the knee. He had sustained other injuries, but the report led us to believe that Colton was in critical but stable condition in a medical facility in Afghanistan. He was transported to three different facilities in Afghanistan and finally flown to Landstuhl, Germany. After the initial shock, my wife and I spent a few days crying. Our hearts were broken until we heard our sons voice from a hospital bed in Germany. He assured us that everything would be alright. He even said that when he returned home he was going to be "patient, kind, and nice." We were amazed at his perspective and attitude. After talking to him we became a little more hopeful. Colton arrived at Walter Reed National Medical Military Center on May 13th. We flew out on the 15th and were so glad to see our son. He was still alive. HIs injuries could have been way worse. He had both his hands and his mental faculties. It was during this five day visit that we learned of the Semper Fi Fund, Luke's Wings, and other non-profit organizations that help families of wounded warriors. Through SSgt. Lippold we were introduced to Jennifer Magerer, who works with Luke's Wings. As I stated before we were greatly encouraged and given hope when we heard my sons voice from Germany. He was alive. The same is true with Luke's Wings. When we heard what they were able to do for us in providing travel expenses and making reservations for our travel to and from the Bethesda area we were given hope and in turn Colton would be given hope and greatly encouraged by family members and friends who would be able to visit with him. To date, thousands of dollars of airfare have been provided to my family. Both sets of grandparents from Colorado have been out to see Colton. Colton's girl friend has flown from Florida to see Colton numerous times. A friend from the Marine Corp from California was supplied funds for travel. Colton's immediate family has been provided airfare for many, many airplane rides across the country from Colorado. Colton has even had the joy of tossing his little niece in the air on two different occasions. I just got back from Walter Reed this past weekend (9/14-9/17). My son and I were participants in the Navy 5-miler. Colton and I completed the race. We didn't set any records, but all were amazed that just four months after being severely wounded Colton was able to walk five miles with his prosthesis. Incidently, my daughter and grand daughter accompanied me on this trip provided by none other than Luke's Wings. Thank God for his healing touch in Colton's life. Thank God for a great supportive and praying family. Thank God for our kind, generous and praying friends. Thank God for Luke's Wings and all their kind, caring, and hardworking staff. Jennifer Magerer has been our contact. Thank you Jennifer for all you do. You all have made a tremendous difference, giving us hope and many wonderful times together with the family and with Colton. This time spent with him has sped up the healing process (mentally, physically, emotionally). Because of all of this Colton will be coming home soon. Thank you Luke's Wings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

First let say that I am a big military supporter. I wanted to be involved in ways other than money. It is hard to do this when you yourself are not in the military. I was not sure how to get involved until I met Lindsay Kin. She is one of the nicest, most well spoken people I know. When she talked to me about "Luke's Wings" I knew it was an organization that made such a difference that I wanted to be involved. Then I met Fletcher Gill, Jennifer Megerer and Tammi Armstrong and I knew I had to be apart of this group of incredibly hard working people dedicated to their cause. I have now worked with "Luke's Wings" for the last two years and am proud of what they do and want as many people to know what a special organization this truly is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is such an incredible organization and I have never had a more fulfilling volunteer position. Fletcher Gill and Lindsay Kin are tremendous leaders who share their passion for wounded warriors by working tirelessly to make sure they receive the care and support they need by having their family and loved ones close by. Lindsay has done an amazing job getting the word out and getting the community involved and supporting the Luke's Wings cause especially through the use of social media and warming our hearts daily with pictures of a wounded warrior surrounded by their support system. We receive dozens of emails a month letting us know of upcoming volunteer activities, sharing good news and upcoming fundraising events so we can always find ways to stay involved . I wear my shirt proudly around town and have been stopped a few times with veterans sharing their experience with Luke's Wings with me and how it changed the course of their recovery and is part of the reason they are here today. All of us volunteers have been treated with nothing but kindness and we always feel as though we are a part of the D.C philanthropic community and doing our part to those soldiers who have done so much for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Luke's Wings is a wonderful organization that is 100% committed to reuniting military families. When the men and women of our country bravely volunteer for our country abroad, we must remember that their families are also serving their country by supporting our servicemen. Luke's Wings helps to support those families by reuniting them following an injury, in times of need, during the holidays, etc. Luke's Wings is also a very efficient organization - it is well-managed and works to ensure that every donated dollar is well-spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers