Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.815385
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I first came across Lucky Dog when I was looking to adopt a second dog. I fell in love with a dog they had listed online so I began the application process. I was quite surprised at how thorough the approval process was, but I realized that these steps were necessary to ensure the dogs were going to a great home. I was impressed that a volunteer run organization was able to go to such lengths and it was heartwarming that they were so committed to the animal's welfare.

The adoption coordinator and foster for the dog I wanted to adopt were very helpful and I was so appreciative that they moved quickly to get me approve to adopt. I went to meet my dog at an event and was able to take her home that day since I was approved earlier that week. The volunteers that I spoke to were extremely helpful and informative. They gave me advice on introducing my Lucky Dog to my dog at home and advice for common problems. They said I could feel free to reach out to them if I had any questions or concerns. Their advice helped my Lucky Dog transition smoothly into her new home.

My experience adopting a Lucky Dog made such an impact on me that I knew I wanted to volunteer for them to help save more dogs. I was approved to be a foster and I recently fostered my first dog. As a foster, Lucky Dog provided me with access to a lot of useful training materials and even training sessions that I can and have attended. I have been continually impressed with the guidance and resources provided by the organization to ensure the well-being of the dogs and that they are placed into suitable homes. I look forward to continuing to volunteer for Lucky Dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing about Lucky Dog. Unless I could provide them with an unlimited budget/resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

Lucky Dog helped us find our baby! They were very thorough with their interview process to ensure that Kingsford had found a suitable home which would serve him well and make him not only a lucky dog, but a happy dog. They hold lots of events and contact us to let us know about them to keep us and our pup in the loop. I recommend them to everyone who asks me about animal rescue organizations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I found Lucky Dog a little over a year ago when I was looking to adopt a dog. I fell in love with Lucky Dog and the services that they provide. From the time that i inquired about the specific dog i wanted to having the home visit, it took a day and a half and I was driving to pick up my pup! It was organized and so affordable. I have had my dog, Cricket, for a little over a year now and it was the best decision I've ever made. Thank you Lucky Dog for helping me find my furry little daughter!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted two of our three puppies from Lucky Dog over the past year. The organization is extremely thorough in adoptions, compared with our other puppy's adoption experience. We felt very cared for, that the puppies were cared for and that the organization members care about the values of the organization from top to bottom. We love Gracie (formally Peaches) and Henri (formally Jim) very much! They are surely a wonderful part of our family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...they're amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted our dog from LDAR and it has been a wonderful experience. They found the perfect dog for us and I continue to watch each week as many more dogs find loving homes. They must be doing a phenomenal job since so many lives are changed each week. I wish I lived closer to D.C. so that I could become a part of their volunteer community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

We adopted our second dog from LDAR--and from the first interaction we had with the organization to the very last step of the adoption process, we had a fantastic experience. We were amazed by the speed of follow-up and the abundance of information from LDAR volunteers, not to mention their professionalism and kindness--and all of these people were unpaid volunteers, who were helping to connect homeless animals and families out of the goodness of their hearts. Well done, Lucky Dog. I am yet to find a for-profit businesses that operates with such professionalism and customer service as you operate your nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog helped me find my little pup. I picked him up off the transport. It is amazing how many great dogs they have and how helpful/friendly their volunteers are. I still keep in touch with everyone who helped me find my dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people aware of this great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I first encounter LDAR when I started my search for another dog in September 2011. I sent my application and after tlkaing to coordinators, a home vist and a ver check, I was approved and got to bring home our new dog. Three months later when my mom realized she would like a dog we started searching LDAR for someone to add to our family. Once again another amazing experience adopting! After having had two wonderful dogs join our house I decided to become a volunteer for Lucky Dog and now work at adoption events and doing home visits to ensure that Lucky Dog's get placed in great permanent houses!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I lost one of my beloved dogs in 2009 to a reaction to a medical immunization. After a few months of grieving, I made the decision that it was time to get another sibling for my female shepherd/husky mix and went in search of a rescue dog. Though I had applied to several rescues and went to quite a few rescue events, I ended up adopting from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue. I found the volunteers to be very responsive to my questions and helpful in my search for a new furry child. My experience was so positive, that I adopted another dog from them in the months that followed. Lucky Dog keeps those that have been involved with them informed of upcoming events and ways to help dogs/cats in need. Following their newsletters and webpage inspired me to want to increase my involvement, and I soon became a volunteer for the organization. This gave me a first-hand glimpse of the many tasks involved in keeping such an organization going and of the many dedicated volunteers who give hundreds of hours of their time and money from their own finances to help save wonderful dogs and cats that other people have elected to cast off. The reality involved in rescuing animals can be stressful and sometimes heartbreaking, but those that run Lucky Dog endure those stresses in order to save the lives of animals in need. Each day when I watch my pups play or snuggle with me on the couch, I realize what a wonderful gift they are to me. Without an organization such as Lucky Dog, my boys would not be alive. Thank you, Lucky Dog Animal Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I have both adopted from and volunteered for this group (from its inception). I am continually amazed at the lengths to which this group will go to not only rescue but care for their pups. Most groups wouldn't consider heartworm positive dogs or dogs that need expensive surgeries as good candidates for rescue however Lucky Dog does not shy away from those challenges. Rescue can be a very emotional undertaking and it is not about the numbers with Lucky Dog. It is about a good match for both the dog and the adopter. I would not hesitate to adopt from Lucky Dog. They put the animals first.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer