Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.815385
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

I volunteered for Lucky Dog at one of their adoption events. I was visiting the city and sent a quick email to them and got a response back (very quickly) that we were welcome to help with full details and clear directions. At the adoption event we found them organized and friendly from start to finish. From the volunteer orientation (very helpful) to giving the dogs back to their caretakers (like clockwork but with warm words for each dog), everyone was friendly, professional and welcoming. I worked with a great puppy at the adoption event and so many volunteers came up to greet him by name and talk to him about how proud they were of him and how much he had blossomed from the time he became a Lucky Dog. Even if he did not understand English, he understood love, safety and respect. It was two hours well-spent with them and I would do it again happily. I also had the opportunity to meet a couple of their fosters - warm and wonderful people. Kudos to Lucky Dog for all that they have accomplished. As a volunteer in our own organization in NC, what Lucky Dog has accomplished we know - comes from hard, well thought out and dedicated work. Thank you for making a difference, Lucky Dog!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

Lucky Dog Animal Rescue is such an incredible organization, it is hard to know how to begin to describe it. First of all it is filling a huge need in educating the public on the disastrous state of affairs in the animal shelters in many parts of this country and beyond that it is saving hundreds of wonderful adoptable dogs that wouldn't make it out of the shelter, or off the streets, alive, without their help. I have volunteered with a number of organizations and I have to say that I have never witnessed the devotion, dedication and passion that the Lucky Dog leaders and volunteers demonstrate week in and week out. I have fostered litters of puppies for Lucky Dog, done home visits, finalized adoptions, transported dogs and been a handler at adoption events. All have been a gratifying experience and I hope to become an adoption counselor. The thing that is also remarkable is how LD never gives up on a dog- they believe deeply that with kindness and time every dog they bring to the area will eventually find the right home- and they do! I highly recommend adopting from or volunteering with Lucky Dog!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

This is a great organization. I started out as a handler with them and went on to become an Adoption Coordinator and this past weekend I was a foster for the first time! It was really hard not to become that "failed foster" because Lucky Dogs needs as many fosters as possible so we can find forever homes for that many more lucky pups! Lucky Dog is committed to finding these dogs forever homes. There may be alot of processes in place, but it is for a very good reason...to find the best possible home for each pup that in turns adds happiness to whatever family they end up with. The committment of all the volunteers involved shows how much these pups are loved and it does not matter who they are, they are all loved to the ends of the earth and back!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more volunteers and more adopters!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

We've been partnering with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue since 2012 and the impact they have in our community has been amazing. Through their transport program they've been able to find good homes for more than 200 dogs rescued from the streets. The rescue partners in PR, including rescuers, shelter and animal welfare organizations, ALL love LDAR! They follow thorough protocols to ensure each animal's safety, health and well being. The adoption process is meticulous but warm and is in place to ensure a good match between dogs and their new guardians. The volunteers are committed, professional and most of all caring. LDAR makes every rescue dog a special pet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I am a volunteer for Lucky Dog in South Carolina. I have volunteered for only a short time but am amazed at the lives saved by this group. I first began to foster , however work prevents me from fostering as often as I would like. When I couldn't foster I was given the opportunity to drive the transport and it blew me away. The first transport I felt like a rock star. All these people waiting and so excited when I arrived. I realized later I was just the limo driver for the real rockstars, the dogs I was transporting. These dogs were castaways and rejects, some suffers neglect, some abuse, but they step out of that van and steal the hearts of everyone present. They put all the trauma of the past behind them instantly as if they know the search is over the journey has ended and they are now HOME WITH THEIR FOREVER FAMILY. I am honored and proud to be the limo driver for these stars. I am proud to be a small part of what Lucky Dog does. I am also thankful to the volunteers , fosters and adopters in DC. They not only do anamazing job, but iI always am made to feel appreciated and welcome when I travel. Thank you to the entire Lucky Dog team in DC and SC for this opportunity to change my community and the lives of dogs. Remember unconditional love is sometimes hard to find in humans, but it's easy to find in our canine friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

Our family has fostered in SC since August 2011; more than 50 dogs have spent time with us before transporting from FLO to DC and their forever homes. Our fosters have been with us for as short as 3 days and as long as 3 months. I personally have had the privilege 2x to travel to DC w/ transport and see the crowd waiting outside Dogma Bakery in Shirlington Village, waiting in extreme cold & snow, to meet our van. Everyone in the crowd was there for a reason; some to take an overnight foster, some to meet 'their' dog adopted sign unseen, some to help with paperwork, or to collapse crates, or to load up donations for the return trip. To the uninitiated, it seems like controlled chaos, but the volunteers in DC are so well trained in what needs to be done to welcome our dogs and pass the leash to the right family; to anyone given the chance to go w/ transport, I'd suggest standing out of the way and just watching as new families are created or completed, and savor what you've helped create. I think what speaks for itself is that number: 6000+ dogs, unwanted in SC, living the good life in DC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog has been such a wonderful and rewarding volunteer opportunity. LDAR helps hundreds of dogs a year not only find forever homes but also have the chance to receive costly medical care and trai... more

June 2, 2014

I have been volunteering and fostering with Lucky Dog for just over a year now and it has been an amazing experience! This organization is made up of such dedicated, caring people that truly want to make a difference for animals in this world. Each puppy I foster, each dog I handle at an adoption event has touched my heart and I am honored to have been a small part of their journey to finding a wonderful and loving forever home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing! LDAR does great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog has been such a wonderful and rewarding volunteer opportunity. LDAR helps hundreds of dogs a year not only find forever homes but also have the chance to receive costly medical care and training that shelters dog so badly need. Lucky dog treats each member, human and canine, as family and provides live and stability for dogs that have often known neither. The dedication of the people that run this organization is endless and is truly an inspiration. Having the chance to foster pups this past year has shown me that these lucky dogs give me way more than I can ever give them. Thanks Lucky Dog Animal Rescue for all you do!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing....they work tirelessly!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2012

I adopted my pup, Candy, from LDAR. She lights up my every day with her affection and silly antics. I am also a volunteer as a foster for LDAR. The support offered by LDAR has enabled me to see ma... more

May 30, 2014

When I retired from Montgomery County, MD Health & Human Services I felt the need to continue to help the community. After 30 years of helping people, I was ready for a change. Lucky Dog Animal Rescue (LDAR) gave me exactly what I needed. I started volunteering in 2010 providing a foster home for small dogs. LDAR interviewed me at my home, checked my house and yard to make sure it was safe, checked my vet records, and even met my dogs. I was so glad that I passed the interview and became a foster. I have also made home visits to potential adopters. I have loved being a part of LDAR. They are very professional, but still loving. They work so hard to find a good match between dog and adopter. And that pays off well because good matches last. The dogs have been through so much, it is important that their new home will be forever. The leaders of LDAR work so incredibly hard to keep this large organization running smoothly. Without their dedication and support, the organization would crumble.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2012

I adopted my pup, Candy, from LDAR. She lights up my every day with her affection and silly antics. I am also a volunteer as a foster for LDAR. The support offered by LDAR has enabled me to see many of my foster dogs placed in loving, safe homes. That includes two extremely shy little dogs who needed very special care to help bring them out of their shells. LDAR also emails educational opportunities to me and I have learned a lot about dogs from the classes I took and from talking with other LDAR volunteers. Kudos to Lucky Dog and the many dedicated volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fostering 8 dogs (so far) who were all placed in loving, safe homes. I was able to meet all the families and share my insight into the dogs they wanted to adopt. None of my fosters have been returned - even though a couple of them have been a little hard to place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes required

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

can't think of any

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned so much about dogs by talking with other LDAR volunteers and by taking classes. I appreciate that LDAR informs its volunteers of opportunities to become better fosters.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I worked for 32 years in social work. I loved helping people, but I adore helping dogs. With dogs, I can see progress in such a short period of time, even with severly shy dogs. I feel so lucky to have found a retirement career that gives me so much satisfaction!

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I've been a volunteer with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue since April 2011. I originally began volunteering to just conduct home visits in my area, but really enjoyed interacting with folks to find their furever pets, and quickly became more involved. The volunteers are all fabulous and dedicated to helping pups find their best and perfect furever homes and in October 2012 I adopted my own Lucky Dog. Knowing that we have helped thousands of dogs find their furever homes is a really great feeling. We truly do our legwork to ensure these pups are getting their second chance at life and I highly encourage folks to consider our organization when adopting or looking for a rescue to become involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

I adopted my (amazing!!!) dog through Lucky Dog and had a great experience. His foster mom responded to my interest email very quickly and answered all the questions I had. When I got to the adoptio... more

May 28, 2014

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog and immediately fell in love with the organization! They were so thorough with the adoption process and really wanted to make sure that the dog I wanted was a good fit for my home. They were very prompt with the home visit, helped me find the supplies I needed for my dog before I even left the event at Petsmart, and were willing to answer all of my questions even after the adoption was official. After my positive experience adopting, I have volunteered as a handler at adoption events and as a foster. I have come to know the love and dedication the leaders of Lucky Dog have for each and every dog they are rescuing. They work unbelievably hard (and unbelievably long hours!) to make sure each dog is able to have a chance at a better life. They never fail to recognize the team of people who help find their pups homes. I am so grateful to Lucky Dog for bringing my dog and me together and for all they do to complete families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2011

I adopted my (amazing!!!) dog through Lucky Dog and had a great experience. His foster mom responded to my interest email very quickly and answered all the questions I had. When I got to the adoption event they allowed me plenty of time to get to know my dog and I never felt rushed or pressured into adopting. They asked me questions to make sure we were a good fit for each other and did a home visit that afternoon. They even helped me shop for him by providing me a detailed list of things I would need and advice. Everyone working the event got so excited when they saw he was going home. A few weeks after I adopted him, I emailed the organization to ask a question and they answered it right away. Now I volunteer with the organization to help other pups find their forever homes. They have amazing dogs and a fabulous caring staff. I have had a very positive experience with Lucky Dog and would definitely consider adopting another dog from them in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how much the staff cares about every dog in their care. They make sure the dogs are going to be a good fit with an adopter before they send them home. Now that I'm volunteering I have seen many dogs meet their potential adopters and it has been a great experience. They also do a great job sending volunteer email updates and utilize their social networking sites well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lucky Dog Animal Rescue is still a young organization, but they are doing a great job. I would say keep on keepin' on and continue to get their name out there. From the results at adoption events and the number of fans they have on their facebook page I think they are doing a wonderful job for a brand new organization, especially when they are competing with so many other animal rescues.

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer