Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.815385
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I first encounter LDAR when I started my search for another dog in September 2011. I sent my application and after tlkaing to coordinators, a home vist and a ver check, I was approved and got to bring home our new dog. Three months later when my mom realized she would like a dog we started searching LDAR for someone to add to our family. Once again another amazing experience adopting! After having had two wonderful dogs join our house I decided to become a volunteer for Lucky Dog and now work at adoption events and doing home visits to ensure that Lucky Dog's get placed in great permanent houses!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

You always remember your first. For Jason and me, that was a 60-pound boxer mix named Brody in April of 2010. We thought we would just be overnight fosters, but in a matter of days we were full-time fosters. We helped Brody find a home. It was tough to see him go, but we saw him with his new owner just a few months later and knew we helped build a kindred relationship. I also knew I wanted to do more. We kept fostering and failed on our seventh, making Chi Chi a part of our family. Chi Chi loves being a big sister and helping the foster dogs. I joined the foster screening team and had a chance to "meet" and bring new fosters into the Lucky Dog family. After some time, I became the lead for the screening team. I grateful for all the work our volunteer fosters perform, all the lives Lucky Dog has saved, and simply the opportunity to be 'Foster Parent.' ~ Carla Cleveland

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

We first encountered Lucky Dog at my hair appointment- we had lost our pup recently and were starting to look for a new family member. One of the hairstylist had adopted from Lucky Dog and raved ab... more

October 16, 2012

We adopted our failed foster from Lucky Dog, and because he is the love of my life, I decided to start volunteering with LDAR- it is a great organization that truly loves the dogs that they help. Many of our adopters stay in contact for years- telling us about all the adventures our alumni go on to have. I makes you smile to think that the dogs once on death row are now in loving homes that think these dogs are the bees knees- sometimes my dog looks at me with a look of - is this for real? Do I live here all the time? Am I this lucky?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2011

We first encountered Lucky Dog at my hair appointment- we had lost our pup recently and were starting to look for a new family member. One of the hairstylist had adopted from Lucky Dog and raved about them. We went online to learn more about them and discovered they had a bunch of great pups. We were not ready to adopt but wanted to help out- so we offered to foster dogs. We had a total of 3 fosters before finally adopting but all of the dogs were really great. Having never adopted a rescue dog before we were really nervous- my husband was convienced it out be hard to re-home but our dog (who has seperation anxiety) was great and Lucky Dog was very helpful in offering solutions on who to go to for training, how to work on seperation anxiety and several other issues. Our dog could not be a better behaved dog now- he is well trained and a loved member of our family.
Becuase of how great Lucky Dog, I became more involved as an Adoption Coordinator and now help new families meet their new pup. The support I get is great, everyone is happy to answer questions and to help in any way. The way they put the pups best interest first is really amazing- one of the dogs I am working with needed sugery on an old leg injury and it wasn't a question of should we but when can we have it done. She is now recovering and will have a life time to run around on her now healthy leg!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a foster, adopter and as a volunteer. They help me learn about how to re-home a dog and the special love you get from having a rescue in your home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They do a really good job using social media and marketing Lucky Dog.

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

I have recently started volunteering with LDAR and find it to be a fabulous adoption agency. The staff is truly committed to helping families find the perfect dog. Even being on the list serve, I can sense the passion that the volunteers have for the cause. The home visits are also a great part of the adoption process-- as a volunteer, the staff made me feel very confident about conducting my first home visit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

Lucky Dog is a phenomenal organization truly committed to saving the lives of homeless and neglected dogs, as well as educating adopters and the community. I first was introduced to Lucky Dog when I adopted from them about a year and a half ago. The experience was truly amazing and I am so incredibly blessed for the pup that came into my life. I am now a volunteer, foster and adoption coordinator so I can help others experience the joy and blessings that I found in adopting. When I meet people that have also adopted from Lucky Dog, the first thing they usually say is how organized the organization is and how that allowed for a smooth, educational and calming adoption process. Adopters feel at ease because Lucky Dog has truly committed volunteers and leadership who want to ensure the best for the dog and the family that is adopting. My experience with Lucky Dog from adopting to volunteering has been nothing short of wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I am a recent volunteer and have enjoyed my time transporting and helping out at adoption events. We also recently adopted a rescue and he has been a wonderful addition to our house. All the folks I have met have been wonderful and helpful with questions that I or potential adopters have had. Also if anyone ever has a question about this or another non-profit you can always check out GuideStar (free registration required) where you can see past IRS forms. http://www2.guidestar.org/organizations/30-0559037/lucky-dog-animal-rescue.aspx

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I am a professional dog trainer, and work with over 9 different rescues and shelters. LDAR is the most dedicated rescue I have worked with. They try to find the right home for the right dog. If a dog needs anything, be it medical or behavioral, they are there, through all the stages, including after the adoption. No dog or family is left behind, and they are committed to humane treatment. I often use LDAR as my model when I speak of successful organizations. This is why Lucky Dog has been able to save thousands of animals. Thanks Lucky Dog, for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I have volunteered for Lucky Dog Animal Rescue and adopted my family member from this group. Every time I attend a transport or adoption event for the group I am amazed at how dedicated all the volunteers and staff are to finding the right homes for the animals. Lucky Dog is particularly dedicated to providing for the health needs of pups providing needed medical attention at great cost to the group. being a manager at another nonprofit I have reviewed the organizations most recent 990 and I am amazed at how carefully the organization uses its funding for the benefit of the dogs. Look at the 990 and you will find that noone working for this organization collects a salary. All of the funds raised by the organization goes to caring for the animals. I am truly impressed that so many dedicated volunteers get together week after week tirelessly to save the lives of these dogs who otherwise would have been euthanized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I have volunteered with Lucky Dog for nearly two years and was lucky enough to adopt an amazing dog from the organization. Lucky Dog is very welcoming and encourages volunteers to take on additional responsibilities based on their interest. I look forward to continuing to work with Lucky Dog for years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

I have been with Lucky Dog for almost year and I am very impressed with how dedicated and devoted the volunteers are in finding "forever" homes and families for the many dogs that come into the rescue. I am appreciative of being given the opportunity and guidance to learn the skills needed to become an independent Adoption Coordinator. It has made me more proficient in processing applications, becoming more knowledgeable on the many different dog breeds and how to be professional at all times. I am very proud to be a volunteer of such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer