Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted two of our three puppies from Lucky Dog over the past year. The organization is extremely thorough in adoptions, compared with our other puppy's adoption experience. We felt very cared for, that the puppies were cared for and that the organization members care about the values of the organization from top to bottom. We love Gracie (formally Peaches) and Henri (formally Jim) very much! They are surely a wonderful part of our family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...they're amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I began volunteering with Lucky Dog in July 2012, and I have had an amazing experience. This is an organization that truly cares about each individual dog. They are willing to take on the dogs that other rescues would not, including dogs with major injuries and serious illnesses. I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog 1 year ago today, and I am forever grateful to them for saving her from what was surely a certain death, caring for her, and working tirelessly to find her a home. The people that I have met through Lucky Dog are some of the most dedicated people I know, and their work is inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined LDAR in July 2009 shortly after it started. I adopted my first dog with them through pictures, and at the transport ( where the staff, fosters, and adopters greet the dogs coming from different shelters), I just loved the positive atmosphere that I decided to start volunteering. 4 years later, I still strongly believe that LDAR is an amazing organization and witnessed it growing year after year. I have fostered probably between 20 to 35 dogs, and I adopted 2 more dogs from Luck Dog Animal Rescue ( last one just last week!). I would like to mention that if you are doing it for getting a pat on the back, you did not understand the concept of volunteering for a dog rescue: it is all about the dogs ( and cats!) and you should leave any pride at home! I get a Thank you e-mail every single weekend, so we are very appreciative of your contribution! The events are well organized, communication is fluid, and it is a great opportunity to meet some many awesome doggies ( and volunteers!) and thousands of dogs have been saved through LDAR. I know for sure that my life has been better since I had my dogs, and I am forever thankful to LDAR for it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more money in order to save more dogs :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

LDAR is a group of very dedicated animal lovers with a passion for matching human homes with animals such that both are better off afterward. I'm proud to be working with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted our dog from LDAR and it has been a wonderful experience. They found the perfect dog for us and I continue to watch each week as many more dogs find loving homes. They must be doing a phenomenal job since so many lives are changed each week. I wish I lived closer to D.C. so that I could become a part of their volunteer community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a working professional who has volunteered my time with a select few organizations. I have even run volunteer programs myself, so I understand the fundamentals. Lucky Dog has never shown an ounce of gratitude for the hours of my time I have given to the organization. I remember the very first adoption event I showed up to work I was just shoved aside until they needed me, no 'thank yous' no 'nice to meet you', nothing. At the end of the event I needed to leave to make it to another appointment but was told I needed to continue holding onto the dog until someone could take him from me, which was 20 minutes later. Again, no Thank Yous, no appreciation, no consideration for my time and the fact that I was now late. When an issue arose at another adoption event I was inappropriately, incredibly rudely and unprofessionally approached about it, when the issue was resolved I was never given an apology for being blamed for someone else's mistake. I have just never encountered such incredible rudeness and lack of gratitude from an organization who would literally not exist if it were not for its volunteers. I am speaking of those ultimately running the organization, not of other volunteers within the organization who are wonderful. There are too many wonderful, appreciative, accommodating organizations who value and appreciate their volunteer's time, why waste it on one that doesn't. I can not recommend this organization as a volunteer opportunity, nor would I encourage anyone to adopt from them. Honestly I'm shocked to see so many high reviews - I can only guess these people have not had the pleasure of working with those higher up in the organization, an unpleasant experience I would not wish on anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have some sense of gratitude and appreciation for those enabling your organization to function.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Lucky Dog helped me save a life, which in turn has made my life better in more ways I can count.
If you are thinking about donating, look no further, you can't go wrong. If you are thinking about adopting, I am smiling for you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

We adopted our second dog from LDAR--and from the first interaction we had with the organization to the very last step of the adoption process, we had a fantastic experience. We were amazed by the speed of follow-up and the abundance of information from LDAR volunteers, not to mention their professionalism and kindness--and all of these people were unpaid volunteers, who were helping to connect homeless animals and families out of the goodness of their hearts. Well done, Lucky Dog. I am yet to find a for-profit businesses that operates with such professionalism and customer service as you operate your nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog has given me quite the opportunity in the DC area to make an impact on animals' lives. The organization of the rescue has allowed me to learn first hand what it takes to have a truly successful nonprofit.
I am also very grateful to Lucky Dog because it brought me my 65lb baby pit
mix, Ziggy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I love volunteering with LDAR - they are a positive group of people who are supportive and work extremely hard for the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer