Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
June 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog has been such a wonderful and rewarding volunteer opportunity. LDAR helps hundreds of dogs a year not only find forever homes but also have the chance to receive costly medical care and trai... more

June 2, 2014

I have been volunteering and fostering with Lucky Dog for just over a year now and it has been an amazing experience! This organization is made up of such dedicated, caring people that truly want to make a difference for animals in this world. Each puppy I foster, each dog I handle at an adoption event has touched my heart and I am honored to have been a small part of their journey to finding a wonderful and loving forever home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing! LDAR does great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013

Lucky Dog has been such a wonderful and rewarding volunteer opportunity. LDAR helps hundreds of dogs a year not only find forever homes but also have the chance to receive costly medical care and training that shelters dog so badly need. Lucky dog treats each member, human and canine, as family and provides live and stability for dogs that have often known neither. The dedication of the people that run this organization is endless and is truly an inspiration. Having the chance to foster pups this past year has shown me that these lucky dogs give me way more than I can ever give them. Thanks Lucky Dog Animal Rescue for all you do!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing....they work tirelessly!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2012

I adopted my pup, Candy, from LDAR. She lights up my every day with her affection and silly antics. I am also a volunteer as a foster for LDAR. The support offered by LDAR has enabled me to see ma... more

May 30, 2014

When I retired from Montgomery County, MD Health & Human Services I felt the need to continue to help the community. After 30 years of helping people, I was ready for a change. Lucky Dog Animal Rescue (LDAR) gave me exactly what I needed. I started volunteering in 2010 providing a foster home for small dogs. LDAR interviewed me at my home, checked my house and yard to make sure it was safe, checked my vet records, and even met my dogs. I was so glad that I passed the interview and became a foster. I have also made home visits to potential adopters. I have loved being a part of LDAR. They are very professional, but still loving. They work so hard to find a good match between dog and adopter. And that pays off well because good matches last. The dogs have been through so much, it is important that their new home will be forever. The leaders of LDAR work so incredibly hard to keep this large organization running smoothly. Without their dedication and support, the organization would crumble.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2012

I adopted my pup, Candy, from LDAR. She lights up my every day with her affection and silly antics. I am also a volunteer as a foster for LDAR. The support offered by LDAR has enabled me to see many of my foster dogs placed in loving, safe homes. That includes two extremely shy little dogs who needed very special care to help bring them out of their shells. LDAR also emails educational opportunities to me and I have learned a lot about dogs from the classes I took and from talking with other LDAR volunteers. Kudos to Lucky Dog and the many dedicated volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fostering 8 dogs (so far) who were all placed in loving, safe homes. I was able to meet all the families and share my insight into the dogs they wanted to adopt. None of my fosters have been returned - even though a couple of them have been a little hard to place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes required

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

can't think of any

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned so much about dogs by talking with other LDAR volunteers and by taking classes. I appreciate that LDAR informs its volunteers of opportunities to become better fosters.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I worked for 32 years in social work. I loved helping people, but I adore helping dogs. With dogs, I can see progress in such a short period of time, even with severly shy dogs. I feel so lucky to have found a retirement career that gives me so much satisfaction!

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I've been a volunteer with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue since April 2011. I originally began volunteering to just conduct home visits in my area, but really enjoyed interacting with folks to find their furever pets, and quickly became more involved. The volunteers are all fabulous and dedicated to helping pups find their best and perfect furever homes and in October 2012 I adopted my own Lucky Dog. Knowing that we have helped thousands of dogs find their furever homes is a really great feeling. We truly do our legwork to ensure these pups are getting their second chance at life and I highly encourage folks to consider our organization when adopting or looking for a rescue to become involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

I adopted my (amazing!!!) dog through Lucky Dog and had a great experience. His foster mom responded to my interest email very quickly and answered all the questions I had. When I got to the adoptio... more

May 28, 2014

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog and immediately fell in love with the organization! They were so thorough with the adoption process and really wanted to make sure that the dog I wanted was a good fit for my home. They were very prompt with the home visit, helped me find the supplies I needed for my dog before I even left the event at Petsmart, and were willing to answer all of my questions even after the adoption was official. After my positive experience adopting, I have volunteered as a handler at adoption events and as a foster. I have come to know the love and dedication the leaders of Lucky Dog have for each and every dog they are rescuing. They work unbelievably hard (and unbelievably long hours!) to make sure each dog is able to have a chance at a better life. They never fail to recognize the team of people who help find their pups homes. I am so grateful to Lucky Dog for bringing my dog and me together and for all they do to complete families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2011

I adopted my (amazing!!!) dog through Lucky Dog and had a great experience. His foster mom responded to my interest email very quickly and answered all the questions I had. When I got to the adoption event they allowed me plenty of time to get to know my dog and I never felt rushed or pressured into adopting. They asked me questions to make sure we were a good fit for each other and did a home visit that afternoon. They even helped me shop for him by providing me a detailed list of things I would need and advice. Everyone working the event got so excited when they saw he was going home. A few weeks after I adopted him, I emailed the organization to ask a question and they answered it right away. Now I volunteer with the organization to help other pups find their forever homes. They have amazing dogs and a fabulous caring staff. I have had a very positive experience with Lucky Dog and would definitely consider adopting another dog from them in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how much the staff cares about every dog in their care. They make sure the dogs are going to be a good fit with an adopter before they send them home. Now that I'm volunteering I have seen many dogs meet their potential adopters and it has been a great experience. They also do a great job sending volunteer email updates and utilize their social networking sites well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lucky Dog Animal Rescue is still a young organization, but they are doing a great job. I would say keep on keepin' on and continue to get their name out there. From the results at adoption events and the number of fans they have on their facebook page I think they are doing a wonderful job for a brand new organization, especially when they are competing with so many other animal rescues.

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I found Lucky Dog a little over a year ago when I was looking to adopt a dog. I fell in love with Lucky Dog and the services that they provide. From the time that i inquired about the specific dog i wanted to having the home visit, it took a day and a half and I was driving to pick up my pup! It was organized and so affordable. I have had my dog, Cricket, for a little over a year now and it was the best decision I've ever made. Thank you Lucky Dog for helping me find my furry little daughter!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I started with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in the fall of 2013 as a volunteer. I was impressed by this all-volunteer organization because of the dedication, love, how well the adoptions are done.

I quickly moved from volunteer handler, to doing home visits, transporting dogs to events,
fostering, adopting my own Lucky Dog (failed foster), and finally becoming an adoption coordinator. I'm very proud of the work we do and believe in the mission and values of our organization.

Nothing makes me happier than to see our dogs go to their forever homes, however long it takes them to find it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I started off my journey as an Adoptions Coordinator and have since become an event coordinator, foster, and now a proud Lucky Dog owner! This organization has amazing volunteers that have become more like family to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue this past January, a 1-yr old Jack Russell Terrier who was in a high kill, South Carolina Shelter. Lucky Dog put my fiance and me through a thorough (thou... more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's been a few years since I last reviewed LDAR, so I figured it was time for a refresher. I started off as an adopter of a Lucky Dog in 2011, and have since remained involved in just about every capacity possible for achieving its mission to continue rescuing dogs and giving them the best quality of life possible. I've had a unique opportunity to see ups and downs that come with putting your heart into rescuing, and the idea of "it takes a village" sticks with me often when I consider the amazing volunteer family I've come to be a part of. Volunteers who drive from South Carolina to DC to place Lucky Dogs in foster and forever homes just about every other week. Volunteers who organize every detail of a weekly adoption event, which help manage to sometimes get 20 dogs adopted in the span of 2 hours. Volunteers who find ways to screen applications for adopters and fosters outside of their normal jobs and lives.

Lucky Dog has since grown in its rescue efforts to the point where they are able to fund some staff (but even still there are only two full time staff). This growth is testament to the lives saved and changed, and when I posted a review two years ago LDAR had a tally of 3,100 dogs rescued. Today, that number has nearly doubled with over 5,800 lives saved.

My experience in fostering and coordinating adoptions has taught me more about love, patience, animal learning, and learning about myself than I thought possible. Animal rescue can be exhausting and emotional sometimes, but my faith in human spirit is restored with each interaction I have with my fellow volunteers and happy adopters sharing pictures of once shy dogs thriving and confident in their happy ever afters. I've since adopted a second Lucky Dog (formerly my foster dog) and I have a hard time imagining life without them. I'm a better person from becoming a Lucky Dog volunteer, and my heart has been touched by some of the best people (and dogs, but that's a given!) I have come to know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue this past January, a 1-yr old Jack Russell Terrier who was in a high kill, South Carolina Shelter. Lucky Dog put my fiance and me through a thorough (though really painless) adoption screening process that included a vet check, landlord check, and home visit, to ensure this pup being pulled from the shelter was in fact going to a great home. We felt like the lucky ones when we realized immediately what an awesome dog he was and feel so grateful that the work of Lucky Dog saved his life and so greatly improved ours! After realizing the organization is 100% volunteer without a single paid staff, I wanted to get more involved and have since supported adoption events and been a foster parent to three dogs until they found their forever homes. Foster parents are the backbone of Lucky Dog's volunteer network, and they provide the pups with a foster home and help them adjust to home live while volunteer adoption coordinators, another integral component to Lucky Dog's adoption process, screen potential adopters and place dogs into their perfect homes. They also have strong community outreach through local pet supply stores where they do adoption events, trainers and boarding partners who work with their dogs, and local veterinary facilities who provide medical care to the dogs in Lucky Dog's care. Though a very young organization, Lucky Dog has saved over 3,100 dogs in just over two years. They also provide great educational resources to the community about adopting and caring for pets, and work diligently to raise funds to support medical procedures, medicine, and supplies for the lucky dogs. They are a truly fantastic organization with a vast network of volunteers who all play an integral part in saving animals' lives, and I am proud to be a part of this fantastic organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being an adopter and supporting the adoption process through my volunteer work. They consistently notify the volunteer base when a dog is adopted and always provide unique, consistent opportunities to volunteer and showcase the dogs up for adoption. More importantly though is how they put the dogs' well-being in the forefront, and ensure they are putting them in the RIGHT homes through their adopter screening process and getting to know the dogs and their needs when they come to the DC area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want to create more awareness, but Lucky Dog does a great job utilizing social media and community involvement. One small change I'd like to see is some more adoption events in the southern part of the DC Metro area. We have adopted pretty far south and have a volunteer base in Prince William county (which is where I live), but no events there yet. We go as far north as Towson, so I'd just like to continue extending our reach south. But for being such a young organization, their reach is incredibly broad!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Previous high level volunteer position lead to discovery of poor atitudes and comments about each and every volunteer. Even the volunteers that save the dogs from the main shelter they.use are put down anand talked about by the director. Spending and funds only truly known by director who uses volunteers for personal
Gain. Of course light volunteers and adopters are drawn emotionally.Its the nature of the rescue world.
Only when you put more time and energy.in do you see how ugly some of the individuals are... Guided by the director.

Just not a good organization. A lot of money in the bank that few know about and one person deciding on its use.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in 2012 after a friend of mine adopted a dog from them. I have fostered 12 dogs and am a foster failure to two of them (Kyler and Cher). I read a few reviews and would like to second Rudy in regards to people who expect a pat on the back for volunteering... If you are not doing this for the animals, you clearly did not understand the TRUE meaning of this organization. I am a proud member and will continue to be so for many many many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer