Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.765
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue this past January, a 1-yr old Jack Russell Terrier who was in a high kill, South Carolina Shelter. Lucky Dog put my fiance and me through a thorough (thou... more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's been a few years since I last reviewed LDAR, so I figured it was time for a refresher. I started off as an adopter of a Lucky Dog in 2011, and have since remained involved in just about every capacity possible for achieving its mission to continue rescuing dogs and giving them the best quality of life possible. I've had a unique opportunity to see ups and downs that come with putting your heart into rescuing, and the idea of "it takes a village" sticks with me often when I consider the amazing volunteer family I've come to be a part of. Volunteers who drive from South Carolina to DC to place Lucky Dogs in foster and forever homes just about every other week. Volunteers who organize every detail of a weekly adoption event, which help manage to sometimes get 20 dogs adopted in the span of 2 hours. Volunteers who find ways to screen applications for adopters and fosters outside of their normal jobs and lives.

Lucky Dog has since grown in its rescue efforts to the point where they are able to fund some staff (but even still there are only two full time staff). This growth is testament to the lives saved and changed, and when I posted a review two years ago LDAR had a tally of 3,100 dogs rescued. Today, that number has nearly doubled with over 5,800 lives saved.

My experience in fostering and coordinating adoptions has taught me more about love, patience, animal learning, and learning about myself than I thought possible. Animal rescue can be exhausting and emotional sometimes, but my faith in human spirit is restored with each interaction I have with my fellow volunteers and happy adopters sharing pictures of once shy dogs thriving and confident in their happy ever afters. I've since adopted a second Lucky Dog (formerly my foster dog) and I have a hard time imagining life without them. I'm a better person from becoming a Lucky Dog volunteer, and my heart has been touched by some of the best people (and dogs, but that's a given!) I have come to know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue this past January, a 1-yr old Jack Russell Terrier who was in a high kill, South Carolina Shelter. Lucky Dog put my fiance and me through a thorough (though really painless) adoption screening process that included a vet check, landlord check, and home visit, to ensure this pup being pulled from the shelter was in fact going to a great home. We felt like the lucky ones when we realized immediately what an awesome dog he was and feel so grateful that the work of Lucky Dog saved his life and so greatly improved ours! After realizing the organization is 100% volunteer without a single paid staff, I wanted to get more involved and have since supported adoption events and been a foster parent to three dogs until they found their forever homes. Foster parents are the backbone of Lucky Dog's volunteer network, and they provide the pups with a foster home and help them adjust to home live while volunteer adoption coordinators, another integral component to Lucky Dog's adoption process, screen potential adopters and place dogs into their perfect homes. They also have strong community outreach through local pet supply stores where they do adoption events, trainers and boarding partners who work with their dogs, and local veterinary facilities who provide medical care to the dogs in Lucky Dog's care. Though a very young organization, Lucky Dog has saved over 3,100 dogs in just over two years. They also provide great educational resources to the community about adopting and caring for pets, and work diligently to raise funds to support medical procedures, medicine, and supplies for the lucky dogs. They are a truly fantastic organization with a vast network of volunteers who all play an integral part in saving animals' lives, and I am proud to be a part of this fantastic organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being an adopter and supporting the adoption process through my volunteer work. They consistently notify the volunteer base when a dog is adopted and always provide unique, consistent opportunities to volunteer and showcase the dogs up for adoption. More importantly though is how they put the dogs' well-being in the forefront, and ensure they are putting them in the RIGHT homes through their adopter screening process and getting to know the dogs and their needs when they come to the DC area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want to create more awareness, but Lucky Dog does a great job utilizing social media and community involvement. One small change I'd like to see is some more adoption events in the southern part of the DC Metro area. We have adopted pretty far south and have a volunteer base in Prince William county (which is where I live), but no events there yet. We go as far north as Towson, so I'd just like to continue extending our reach south. But for being such a young organization, their reach is incredibly broad!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Previous high level volunteer position lead to discovery of poor atitudes and comments about each and every volunteer. Even the volunteers that save the dogs from the main shelter they.use are put down anand talked about by the director. Spending and funds only truly known by director who uses volunteers for personal
Gain. Of course light volunteers and adopters are drawn emotionally.Its the nature of the rescue world.
Only when you put more time and energy.in do you see how ugly some of the individuals are... Guided by the director.

Just not a good organization. A lot of money in the bank that few know about and one person deciding on its use.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering with Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in 2012 after a friend of mine adopted a dog from them. I have fostered 12 dogs and am a foster failure to two of them (Kyler and Cher). I read a few reviews and would like to second Rudy in regards to people who expect a pat on the back for volunteering... If you are not doing this for the animals, you clearly did not understand the TRUE meaning of this organization. I am a proud member and will continue to be so for many many many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

The fair treatment of animals has always been a cause close to my heart. Recently I decided to volunteer with the Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in DC and I have been truly impressed with their organization ... more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted a little dog from Lucky Dog Animal Rescue a few years ago. I was so impressed with Lucky Dog and my wonderful coordinator, Suzie, that I began to volunteer with them. I love the way you can do as much or as little as you like and still be making a difference in the lives of these sweet dogs. (who in most cases, would otherwise have been killed.) It is extremely gratifying (and fun) to volunteer for this Rescue!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

perhaps add silly awards and acknowledgments for the volunteers to make it like a game when they do particularly outstanding job etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2011

The fair treatment of animals has always been a cause close to my heart. Recently I decided to volunteer with the Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in DC and I have been truly impressed with their organization and amazing teamwork! This dedicated group of people go above and beyond 7 days a week in order to save as many dogs lives as possible. The fact that they have saved over 3,000 dogs in only 2 years proves my point alone! But the love and care and "leave no dog behind" attitude is an additional bonus and heartwarming to witness. I am enjoying fostering my oh so Luck dog and looking forward to helping save many more sweet little lives. I picked the perfect team to join with Lucky dog.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

yes by finding a wonderful new homer for my foster dog

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none so far

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted two of our three puppies from Lucky Dog over the past year. The organization is extremely thorough in adoptions, compared with our other puppy's adoption experience. We felt very cared for, that the puppies were cared for and that the organization members care about the values of the organization from top to bottom. We love Gracie (formally Peaches) and Henri (formally Jim) very much! They are surely a wonderful part of our family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...they're amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I began volunteering with Lucky Dog in July 2012, and I have had an amazing experience. This is an organization that truly cares about each individual dog. They are willing to take on the dogs that other rescues would not, including dogs with major injuries and serious illnesses. I adopted my dog from Lucky Dog 1 year ago today, and I am forever grateful to them for saving her from what was surely a certain death, caring for her, and working tirelessly to find her a home. The people that I have met through Lucky Dog are some of the most dedicated people I know, and their work is inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined LDAR in July 2009 shortly after it started. I adopted my first dog with them through pictures, and at the transport ( where the staff, fosters, and adopters greet the dogs coming from different shelters), I just loved the positive atmosphere that I decided to start volunteering. 4 years later, I still strongly believe that LDAR is an amazing organization and witnessed it growing year after year. I have fostered probably between 20 to 35 dogs, and I adopted 2 more dogs from Luck Dog Animal Rescue ( last one just last week!). I would like to mention that if you are doing it for getting a pat on the back, you did not understand the concept of volunteering for a dog rescue: it is all about the dogs ( and cats!) and you should leave any pride at home! I get a Thank you e-mail every single weekend, so we are very appreciative of your contribution! The events are well organized, communication is fluid, and it is a great opportunity to meet some many awesome doggies ( and volunteers!) and thousands of dogs have been saved through LDAR. I know for sure that my life has been better since I had my dogs, and I am forever thankful to LDAR for it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more money in order to save more dogs :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

LDAR is a group of very dedicated animal lovers with a passion for matching human homes with animals such that both are better off afterward. I'm proud to be working with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

We adopted our dog from LDAR and it has been a wonderful experience. They found the perfect dog for us and I continue to watch each week as many more dogs find loving homes. They must be doing a phenomenal job since so many lives are changed each week. I wish I lived closer to D.C. so that I could become a part of their volunteer community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a working professional who has volunteered my time with a select few organizations. I have even run volunteer programs myself, so I understand the fundamentals. Lucky Dog has never shown an ounce of gratitude for the hours of my time I have given to the organization. I remember the very first adoption event I showed up to work I was just shoved aside until they needed me, no 'thank yous' no 'nice to meet you', nothing. At the end of the event I needed to leave to make it to another appointment but was told I needed to continue holding onto the dog until someone could take him from me, which was 20 minutes later. Again, no Thank Yous, no appreciation, no consideration for my time and the fact that I was now late. When an issue arose at another adoption event I was inappropriately, incredibly rudely and unprofessionally approached about it, when the issue was resolved I was never given an apology for being blamed for someone else's mistake. I have just never encountered such incredible rudeness and lack of gratitude from an organization who would literally not exist if it were not for its volunteers. I am speaking of those ultimately running the organization, not of other volunteers within the organization who are wonderful. There are too many wonderful, appreciative, accommodating organizations who value and appreciate their volunteer's time, why waste it on one that doesn't. I can not recommend this organization as a volunteer opportunity, nor would I encourage anyone to adopt from them. Honestly I'm shocked to see so many high reviews - I can only guess these people have not had the pleasure of working with those higher up in the organization, an unpleasant experience I would not wish on anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have some sense of gratitude and appreciation for those enabling your organization to function.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

-- Handle a dog at an adoption event.
-- Assemble adoption folders for 100 dogs.
-- Drive a dog to the vet and back.
-- Screen an adopter as an adoption coordinator. Volunteer